White Day: A Labyrinth Named School (화이트데이: 학교라는 이름의 미궁). The story of a young man's trip into school at the dead of night to deliver some candy in preparation for the Eastern Holiday of the same name, White Day (the South Korean/Japanese equivalent of Valentine's Day) to 'So-yeong', a girl at school he likes, and to return the diary she left behind. Finding himself locked up soon after entering, escaping the school now becomes a nightmare...

Review RSS Feed NightSshadeGaming says
10 NightSshadeGaming

Jul 30th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Scarier than Amnesia... Right now making a let's play of it, and I have to say this game is terrifying! It's long, has alot of complicated puzzles but the atmosphere is... oh god... If you are looking for a game in which you crap yourself, this is your game.

Nexes666 says
3 Nexes666

Mar 11th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Theft alarm game bug really destroyed the game

DarkPassenger. says
10 DarkPassenger.

Feb 7th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

loved this Game,
I wish that more games like this were made now...
sad that the enterprise closed, they were geniuses,
thanks for the updates!!!!!!!

LuckyClover says
9 LuckyClover

Jul 9th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

A relatively unknown game outside of Korea but White Day: A Labyrinth Named School -- is just as peculiar and perhaps mysterious to the average person as the title sounds.

I did own the original 2001 game but unfortunately it doesn't run on any non-Korean PC, is spoken and written fully in Korean and is now hard to grab hold of. The title later became "abandonware" thanks to next-to-nothing advertising and being only sold in Korea. The developers then closed but still offer a link to an unofficial website where you can download the game for free. There was to be an initial port planned for worldwide release but that went nowhere :(

However this fan-project (a mod of the original game), simply named "White Day", is that cancelled port we wanted: everyone can now freely experience it on a modern OS, everything's been translated to near-perfect English, and all of the infamous bugs that plagued the original release have been fixed (including the "ceiling monster bug", as of version 16).

Calling this "the most horrifying video game" is a bold statement to make but the fact the Korean developers had to cut out difficulties because of scared play testers and that the game randomizes all the scares as well... immediately places it above some of the overhyped horror games of all time (Slender, Outlast, etc.). What about Amnesia: The Dark Descent, Silent Hill 2, Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem, Fatal Frame II or even System Shock 2? White Day is still the king according to: horror enthusiasts, select circles and my opinion of course!!

It's been a long time since I've come back to this game but barely anything's changed; which is a good thing. ALL the difficulties are back in the game (that affect how many/how bad the scares are), there are plenty of unlockables and the game plays much the same (first person puzzle-like gameplay with cutscenes). There's no reason you won't give this unknown title a try, although the graphics have slightly aged, hence the 9/10 rating.

leonho97 says
10 leonho97

Jun 8th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

An absolutely frightening experience. Best played first hand on medium difficulty or higher to get the best out of the game and it's scares. It not only leaves your heart pumping after each scare which are brilliantly crafted but it will also leave it's mark on your sanity long after you turn the lights back on.

A definite must have for thrill seeking gamers who want to experience horror gaming in it's finest and most raw.

Labryn says
10 Labryn

Mar 16th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

An amazing game that just proves, once again, that it's not always about perfectly accurate and/or amazing graphics, but storyline and atmosphere are what's most important! If you're reading this, stop now and download the game. Don't be too afraid!

Darkshard says
9 Darkshard

Dec 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

The game is terrifying indeed, when I begun it was slow at first, but then as the build up became more and more evident, the scares got to me good. I will admit, I've died plenty of times, even rage quitted over a jumpscare, sure there may some bugs but I can live with them, only one actual annoying bug can kill the game (the classroom ceiling ghosts, tossing you out of the classroom and preventing you from moving on basically), at least from my experience, but I have yet to try Hard and Real modes, they are next to be tried out, let the scares begin >:D

atalaarsyaf says
10 atalaarsyaf

Dec 8th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

even though it's released in 2001, I still think this deserve to get 10/10.

Mahdi96 says
10 Mahdi96

Nov 27th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

absolutely horrifying

russian4 says
7 russian4

Nov 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

i give a 10 because it is super scary and i would highly recommend this game for people who are very brave at playing very scary games i say you should try this one it is super scary and ect.

Community Rating



32 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.