White Day: A Labyrinth Named School (화이트데이: 학교라는 이름의 미궁). The story of a young man's trip into school at the dead of night to deliver some candy in preparation for the Eastern Holiday of the same name, White Day (the South Korean/Japanese equivalent of Valentine's Day) to 'So-yeong', a girl at school he likes, and to return the diary she left behind. Finding himself locked up soon after entering, escaping the school now becomes a nightmare...

Review RSS Feed NightSshadeGaming says
10 NightSshadeGaming

Jul 30th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Scarier than Amnesia... Right now making a let's play of it, and I have to say this game is terrifying! It's long, has alot of complicated puzzles but the atmosphere is... oh god... If you are looking for a game in which you crap yourself, this is your game.

LuckyClover says
9 LuckyClover

Jul 9th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

A relatively unknown game outside of Korea but White Day: A Labyrinth Named School -- is just as peculiar and perhaps mysterious to the average person as the title sounds.

I did own the original 2001 game but unfortunately it doesn't run on any non-Korean PC, is spoken and written fully in Korean and is now hard to grab hold of. The title later became "abandonware" thanks to next-to-nothing advertising and being only sold in Korea. The developers then closed but still offer a link to an unofficial website where you can download the game for free. There was to be an initial port planned for worldwide release but that went nowhere :(

However this fan-project (a mod of the original game), simply named "White Day", is that cancelled port we wanted: everyone can now freely experience it on a modern OS, everything's been translated to near-perfect English, and all of the infamous bugs that plagued the original release have been fixed (including the "ceiling monster bug", as of version 16).

Calling this "the most horrifying video game" is a bold statement to make but the fact the Korean developers had to cut out difficulties because of scared play testers and that the game randomizes all the scares as well... immediately places it above some of the overhyped horror games of all time (Slender, Outlast, etc.). What about Amnesia: The Dark Descent, Silent Hill 2, Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem, Fatal Frame II or even System Shock 2? White Day is still the king according to: horror enthusiasts, select circles and my opinion of course!!

It's been a long time since I've come back to this game but barely anything's changed; which is a good thing. ALL the difficulties are back in the game (that affect how many/how bad the scares are), there are plenty of unlockables and the game plays much the same (first person puzzle-like gameplay with cutscenes). There's no reason you won't give this unknown title a try, although the graphics have slightly aged, hence the 9/10 rating.

leonho97 says
10 leonho97

Jun 8th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

An absolutely frightening experience. Best played first hand on medium difficulty or higher to get the best out of the game and it's scares. It not only leaves your heart pumping after each scare which are brilliantly crafted but it will also leave it's mark on your sanity long after you turn the lights back on.

A definite must have for thrill seeking gamers who want to experience horror gaming in it's finest and most raw.

Labryn says
10 Labryn

Mar 16th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

An amazing game that just proves, once again, that it's not always about perfectly accurate and/or amazing graphics, but storyline and atmosphere are what's most important! If you're reading this, stop now and download the game. Don't be too afraid!

Darkshard says
9 Darkshard

Dec 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

The game is terrifying indeed, when I begun it was slow at first, but then as the build up became more and more evident, the scares got to me good. I will admit, I've died plenty of times, even rage quitted over a jumpscare, sure there may some bugs but I can live with them, only one actual annoying bug can kill the game (the classroom ceiling ghosts, tossing you out of the classroom and preventing you from moving on basically), at least from my experience, but I have yet to try Hard and Real modes, they are next to be tried out, let the scares begin >:D

atalaarsyaf says
10 atalaarsyaf

Dec 8th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

even though it's released in 2001, I still think this deserve to get 10/10.

Mahdi96 says
10 Mahdi96

Nov 27th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

absolutely horrifying

russian4 says
7 russian4

Nov 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

i give a 10 because it is super scary and i would highly recommend this game for people who are very brave at playing very scary games i say you should try this one it is super scary and ect.

jackkrauser1140 says
9 jackkrauser1140

Nov 1st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

A good horror game, especially for its time.

The game is difficult. There's no combat, and you're going to do a lot of running. I'm not going to spoil much of the plot, or any, but it's got the same kind of premise/story as the common Asian horror movie today. It is played from a first person perspective, and the graphics are pretty good. The story is solid, dialogue (although translation is...so-so...) is good, and there are a lot of choices that affect the outcome of the game. Enemies are terrifying at times, sometimes frustrating. The one thing I do not like about this game, and to touch up on *frustrating*, are the "janitors".

Basically, possessed baseball bat wielding janitors that run around trying to kill you throughout. It truly ruins the horror/suspense aspect of the game, and while, through the opening, running down a hall being chased by a homicidal maniac can be fun, when you're trying to solve puzzles, mysteries, or generally advance in the game, it gets frustrating when there's a guy right on top of you who simply won't go away.

Some of the ghosts are a bit cliché or kinda stupid to some extent, like there's a very slow stalker like enemy that appears out of the corner of your eye, and it is pretty much a spliced "ghost photo" that you can actually find on the internet. Being able to exploit that fact about the corner of your eye makes it boring and ruins the fun as well. That being said, there is some well-done horror in this game with some truly terrifying enemies, some edgy suspense, and some terrifying jump scares.

It's a game worth playing that, if you feel hardcore, going back to play for all the endings, but otherwise, you won't really go back to.

The game is very scary, fun, and solid, and I recommend it to fans of Amnesia, Silent Hill, those Asian horror flicks.

nightrunner227 says
10 nightrunner227

Oct 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Definitely worthy of all the hype. There's really only 2 jumpscares in the entire game, but it is very often terrifying anyway. If only Sonnori still existed...

Community Rating

Average

9.4

27 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.