Tropical Heat is a Jet Ski racing competition in the tropics. Race in both Single and Multiplayer or just relax and enjoy riding on the beautiful ocean around lush tropical islands in Free Ride. Customize your character and jet ski. Build up power to boost your speed to get big air jumps to perform a variety of tricks and combo tricks. Earn high scores and achievements and win all 15 races to unlock Extreme. DRM PROTECTION ALLOWS 3 ACTIVATIONS PER PURCHASE.

Review RSS Feed rocketsurgeon says
1 rocketsurgeon

Aug 23rd, 2013 7 people agree 0 people don't

Not only have the developers of this game erased my review, they seem to also have erased my rating of their game. So it seems that they are not satisfied to delete any comments that raise issues, but now even ratings and reviews are not safe from their attempts to control the discussion of their game, and the very restrictive DRM that will leave you with nothing to show for your money, should the company fold, or just decide they no longer want to run the servers.

The game itself is a fairly mediocre jetski racing game, with lots of issues both in control and rendering. On top of that, the "feel" of it is totally off - possibly due to the physics simulation, and the wonky controls do not help.

All in all, I say save your money. Even without the DRM issues, this game is a stinker, but combined with the frankly appalling attitudes and actions of the developers, you'd be a fool to buy their game. Don't be!

zukakog says
3 zukakog

Jul 8th, 2013 5 people agree 0 people don't

It's very pretty, but the physics are awful. Your ski is always perfectly flat. You don't bob with the swells, you don't lean on the turns. I'd really like a PC game that is in the same league as Splashdown for the ps2, or at least as good as Wave Racer 64.

ddlima says
5 ddlima

Jul 12th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

The CD-Key DRM has been proven uneffective time and time again in the history of computer games, only being cumbersome to real customers and not to pirates. Not only that, the game was also falsely advertised on the bundle website. Instead of appologizing the developer says he sees no problems with the DRM and blames the website for the incorrect information. Frustrating experience. The game design itself isn't the best one either. All in all a bellow average.

_Motoki_ says
1 _Motoki_

Aug 25th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Unreasonable draconian DRM with limited activations that is not mentioned on the store page.

jthurman9673 says
1 jthurman9673

Aug 23rd, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

3 machine DRM with no deactivation

dhrverbruggen says
1 dhrverbruggen

Aug 23rd, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

I gave this game the lowest rating there was because i was and still am disappointed by this game's DRM. I am not against DRM but i think developers need to fully inform you on the drm the game has. When the developer is not informing his customer’s properly then it is misleading (on purpose or not).

After a lot of complaining by the community who actually bought the game it was finally mentioned on the store page on desura. Still if you go the official website of this game (http://www.tropicalheatgame.com) where you can also buy this game it still DOESN'T mentioning any DRM!

It’s good that desura resetted the rating but i only wished the developer learned something from it and stopt misleading his customers.

graspee says
1 graspee

Oct 8th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

It's very, very bad. Just no fun at all. I don't recommend it.

StevenBradley says
1 StevenBradley

Sep 12th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

DRM

jtgibson says
5 jtgibson

Jan 21st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I was really hoping this was going to be a modernised revamp of, say, Wave Race 64. Unfortunately, the game has some very strange physics and really seems so much effort went into making pretty islands with reflective water that the rest of the game was more or less forgotten. What gives particular emphasis to the strange physics is both the fact that the jetski turns without weight (try a bootlegger turn by pulling back with the down arrow key and pressing the turn key -- now try the same manoeuvre in real life), and that you cannot fall off of your jetski even if you are in mid-air in the middle of a stunt when you land. Oh, and you can phase through the palm trees like they're not even there.

I wanted to like this game, I really did... sadly, there just isn't enough game here to like.

(I won't bother with the DRM issues -- they're acknowledged, it's a dead horse, stop beating it. My review is based solely on the game itself.)

doesntbodewell says
6 doesntbodewell

Jul 11th, 2013 0 people agree 4 people don't

This game could be great with a little more track variety and polish. The gamepad support is good, but the controls are kind of awkward. Gamepad standard should be to use right trigger or A to accelerate, not push left stuck forward.

Community Rating

Average

4

24 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.