The Ancient Mark is a free indie adventure game for PC. The world is changing. Humanity will never be the same again but William...he was always minding his own business, without the need to care for anything that didn't quite fit his precious little cage. After the death of his parents, he inherited their house which is located in a small seaside town. He was there only for a few days and was already convinced tha nothing interesting was really going to happen. Until the morning he met Kate. Come and take part in a quest full of questions and mystery, in the first episode of the series: The Ancient Mark.

Review RSS Feed Anate says
8 Anate

Oct 22nd, 2012 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

I liked the art style and strong atmosphere.

LeTTno says
10 LeTTno

Nov 19th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Good game nice atmosphere

Captenmarco says
8 Captenmarco

Nov 17th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

i think its a very great game but it was hard on the stone table

TakisTsan says
10 TakisTsan

Nov 28th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

liked the plot and the art style a lot as mentioned before !!

kar.ka says
9 kar.ka

Nov 28th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

cool game! great artistic sense and cool storyline. also the sound design works well! took me by surprise a couple of times! waitin for the next episode!

RunemaBlisk says
8 RunemaBlisk

May 3rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

this was a great game with great puzzles and a very interesting story behind it.this only thing i can say this on some of the tougher puzzles give some more hint in the letters or something. For instance after you set the machine and you put the paper puzzle togather you dont have any direction from there really maybe a hint to go out side on the paper with the flute notes. but all in all great game i am very happy with it. :)

ccyh18 says
5 ccyh18

Apr 17th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

kinda good :-))

stjohnj says
8 stjohnj

Mar 31st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I regress from my previous review. The game seems tedious but actually is very entertaining and nerve racking at times.

elobello says
9 elobello

Feb 16th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Terrific art, sound was very very good. Story was pretty creepy although the writing was a bit overly dramatic.

I think the main improvement I would seek is a few more hints ingame for the puzzles. For example, having to find such exact locations for the wires in the machine puzzle was a little tedius without some kind of hint.

All in all a really good game. I look forward to next episode.

Thanks!

jimothyjim says
6 jimothyjim

Dec 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Pros:
- Good atmosphere
- Free
- Interesting Art style
- Nice background sound

Cons:
- Inventory is clunky. For instance to select something you have to click the actual item rather than the inventory slot it's inside.
- Old school in that it's hard to tell where you can go and what you're meant to do. Could use a little more direction.
- Writing is slightly lacking
- General interaction is clunky and unpolished, mostly due to finicky hit boxes.

It's free so really there's not much to lose, but there's certainly better alternatives out there. I'm not sure if this is still being actively maintained, but if it is then it's a solid foundation from which to improve.

Community Rating

Average

7.7

62 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.