Rogue's Tale is a single player turn-based dungeon crawling game. The game takes place in a place called Frostmourn Keep and its underlying dungeons located in the World's End Mountains. The goal is to overthrow the current king of the Frostmourn Keep and become the new king. A demo version and game guide can be found on the homepage. Key features: - Classless character building where you can choose to be the kind of rogue you want. - Seemingly unfair, untimely and unforgiving deaths which are also permanent. - Ways to counter these deaths by learning the game mechanics. - Random dungeons and encounters. - 24 talents to build your character with. - 30 spells to build your character even further. - 30 heritages that make your next character stronger. - 30 challenges to complete once you get the hang of the game.

Review RSS Feed Richtschwert says
9 Richtschwert

Mar 9th, 2013 5 people agree 0 people don't

Unfair, Unforgiving, Cruel, A Eight Euro Torture Device

I think you get the Idea.

Strangely i'm coming back to it to BEAT the living **** out
of it; to show the merciless Developer I CAN BEAT YOU!!!!!

*Doh*

Dead again :-(

:-) NEW Game New *ehm* No Luck.

Vanaleth says
8 Vanaleth

May 2nd, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Rogue's Tale is a good starting point. The graphics are correct, the gameplay is just like any other rogue-like, and it has everything needed to be a 10/10 game.
But the problem is that some game mechanics are messing with your game experience. The fact that you can't sell your loot unless you pay 20 Gold. The fact that you can actually start right next to one of the strongest foes in the game. The fact that no matter what you do, you will lose, for some strange reason, even though you have every competence, the best equipment ever, one huge-*** battleaxe that kills everything in its path. Sometimes you will just die, stupidly. Because you don't have any health potions.

Anyway, these are just a few examples. This game is really good, though, because even if i'm raging against some elements of the gameplay, i probably played it more than a hundred times, and i will continue to play this game. So, buy this game, and if the developpers decide to improve those game mechanics, this will be one of the best rogue-like ever.

Laag9 says
10 Laag9

Jan 14th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best roguelikes I played

swolek says
9 swolek

Sep 18th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

This is what a roguelike should be! I had a game where I was spawned right next to a tough enemy that killed me in one shot. I laughed and loaded it back up :). Every run is different and I've found a huge variety of items (and died in a huge variety of ways!).

Is the game unfair at times? Sure, that's how roguelikes are. But you'll keep coming back for more :p.

tacticalboss says
10 tacticalboss

Jun 29th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

This game is the best Rogue like Ever, because is hard and it is what i want in a rogue like, the interface is very good and we can choose our talents. I like this game.

voicemse says
10 voicemse

May 24th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Extreme!

HooterBabby says
8 HooterBabby

May 17th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is a great game and the ingame chat feature makes it a lot of fun to play online.

Anyone who enjoys turn based RPG, strategy or Roguelikes should give this game a shot. It should also be noted that the game is still under development and continuously being expanded. It has a high degree of polish compared to most indie games available at the alpha or beta stage.

Verdict: Spike Lee says 'BOOM! Just stick it in yo Genesis!' Youtu.be

sockout18 says
9 sockout18

May 6th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

While vexing to the extreme, persistence and patience pay off for this one. Easy to pick up and play and keeps me coming back.

One note though, as the reviews and comments have mentioned, this is definitely more of an exercise in learning how to operate under the conditions provided (and the frustration involved in the process). This is NOT for those looking for an hour or two of mindless hacking and slashing.

FalconGrey says
10 FalconGrey

May 5th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

A game that finally takes the cake of insanely addictive! You must understand that playing this game takes a little bit of being a masochist because you will die. And not just once.... hundreds of times. But you will keep telling yourself, just one more try!

You begin to measure your success not by winning but by how far you got compared to the last. Did you get better items this time... or die coming down the steps!

Awesome game and must have Rogue Clone! Possibly the best I've ever played too.

maVado99 says
10 maVado99

Apr 30th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great Roguelike. You will die a lot, but every new try brings you one step further and once you unlock some of the heritages you have one of the best rogue-like game at your hands. I would recommend this to anyone seriously looking into some unforgiving and yet rewarding gameplay!

Community Rating

Average

8.2

49 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.