In Risk of Rain, time = difficulty. The longer you play the harder it gets, do you tear through the levels as fast as you can or do you spend time collecting some of the many ability granting artifacts? With randomly generated levels, giant bosses and just one life. How far will you go?

Review RSS Feed thelastnoah says
10 thelastnoah

Dec 5th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A wonderful game, it has a wonderful soundtrack,it has multiplayer, also the enemies vary a lot and it has a lot of replay value

Regulith says
10 Regulith

Dec 2nd, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Quite possibly my favorite game of the year. After following Risk of Rain throughout its Alpha and Beta periods, it's amazing how this fun little roguelike-like action platformer has blossomed into an expansive game that has held my attention for hours on end, and promises to continue doing so for many hours to come.

Choders says
10 Choders

Nov 24th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The graphical style and music illustrate a fantastic setting, the soundtrack captures very well the feeling of loneliness the player adopts, the monster and item logs are very interesting, there are many characters with diverse abilities and strengths, the gameplay is very smooth and exciting, the difficulty is very present but not unfair, and the game is long enough but also short enough that it's easy to play over and over again.

jeromantaring says
8 jeromantaring

Apr 26th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Gameplay is quick-paced and very fun. Enemies seem to keep spawning everywhere and you're moving as fast as you can to find the teleporter. The lack of good background music is a bit of a shame, since I can imagine it to be more exciting with bg music. The art style is awesome!

I'm excited to see what other classes you'll include in the final version!

SolarLune says
9 SolarLune

Mar 12th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is actually quite a good game. There's no music, but I really like the way the gameplay feels - nice and solid. I like the idea of a platforming combat oriented rogue-like, and it's looking like it's turning out really well so far!

Rayleigh8 says
10 Rayleigh8

Dec 11th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I like this game! it's very goooood and addictive and мой запас английских слов кончился, игра очень годная)) Очень много здесь нужно написать слов, не понимаю зачем

isaac7196 says
10 isaac7196

Nov 20th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

it's a good game. lots of fun. I have enjoyed it for all of the time that i've played it. It's an extremely enjoyable game. :) Idk why the reviews have to be so long though. It's kind of ridiculous. If it didn't have to be so long, it's be a lot easier to review stuff. I kinda wish I hadn't wasted the time to type this, but whatever.

Scadden says
9 Scadden

Oct 27th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I have spent many hours trying to complete this game, it has become addictive to the point that all I can hear is the awesome sound track. I have had to deal with bugs and one save corruption. But it is totally worth it, the action is intense and never ending. This game is best played with a controller using the Steam Big Picture. I bought an Xbox 360 controller because of this game and I'll never look back. If you like to collect indie games this is definitely one for your collection.

WhenBellsToll says
10 WhenBellsToll

Apr 17th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Risk of Rain is a game that is absolutely phenomenal.
From the intro you can tell you will be playing a carefully crafted well made game. The game is all about killing all the things, but it has many deeper mechanics. As you are about killing your things, there is a meter that incrementally rises, when it reaches a certain point the difficulty rises. This game play mechanic right here helps make the game keep its players on their toes and adds a whole new level of urgency to the game. While after a while that might sound boring, the game keeps itself from growing stale with its wide variety of characters and play styles. The game makes it so that newcomers are welcomed, while veterans are still very entertained, which is something that is very hard to achieve. Overall Risk of Rain is a truly great gem in the treasure chest of independent game creation. That is my justification for giving this game such a high rating, and I see it as truly special. 10/10
Thank You so much for Reading,
Kent "WhenBellsTroll" Reese

FightDr says
10 FightDr

Dec 16th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Risk of Rain is a beautiful game suitable for any fan of the roguelike genre. With numerous unlockables and ingame achievements and rewards, there is enough to keep you going again and again. Plenty of classes provide for different playstyles, and all the different items make each run unique and different from the last. Although small, a story of the planet and its characters is present through monster/item logs, as well as each character's unique phrase upon successful completion of a run. It is a very rewarding experience. It is best played in multiplayer with friends or online, but plays just as well in singleplayer. I myself have played alone a majority of the time. There are some minor bugs (such as the Enforcer's grenade not always applying damage), but the developers are on top of things with updates since its release date. Beginners may find the game a bit difficult, but with a bit of practice and experience, the flow of the game becomes easily understandable. However, even with plenty of experience, the game retains its difficulty and edge with the help of its unique difficulty system, which increases the difficulty as time goes on. No amount of practice can save you from four spawned Parents immediately after using a Health Shrine. The game's hardest difficulty, Monsoon, provides even the most veteran of roguelike gamers a proper challenge. One thing that stands out most to me is how beautifully designed the game is. Each pixel springs with excitement, and the effects of each item, skill, and creature is absolutely excellent. I find myself constantly engaged by the beauty of each pixel. Here is a break down of the game:
Pros:
-Beautiful pixel design
-Ten unlockable classes.
-Interesting, although small, story
-Numerous unlockables
-Fun in both multiplayer/singleplayer
-Updates
-Challenging, with different difficulty options
Cons:
-Minor bugs
-Not beginner friendly
-Substantial reliance on luck or chance
-Some may not enjoy the pixel design
-Little story

Community Rating

Average

9.1

87 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.