Rico is an old school jump'n'run game! Run across the levels, jump over obstacles, climb mountains, explore caves, swim through water Collect crystals throughout each level Avoid mines, acid pits and various deadly enemies along the way Find upgrades to get abilities like double jump Reach magic stones to activate checkpoints Find and use weapons to combat enemies Fly with a jetpack Face off against enemies in epic boss battles 4 difficulty levels to keep you challenged 4 different worlds 32 levels full of retro awesomeness If you like platformers, you'll love Rico!

Review RSS Feed repakyky says
10 repakyky

Oct 11th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Классная игра, то что надо. Жаль, короткая.

Dt3r says
9 Dt3r

Sep 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

A good solid platformer with charming pixel graphics. Rico has 4 difficulty levels to accommodate all levels of skill, and built in key-mapping for controllers. A variety of upgrades to use keeps the levels fresh. Rico isn't very long, but I consider it worth picking up.

naczelny1 says
10 naczelny1

Jul 6th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Just the platformer I needed. Well balanced, fine tuned, classic feel. Great graphics and "physics". Definitely going to purchase the game and play trough it more than once. Thank you, dev.

MissLove says
10 MissLove

Mar 14th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

WoW! That's a great game!

OTM_SAN says
9 OTM_SAN

Feb 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great Oldschool Platformer! I would buy a 2nd Rico Game!

graspee says
8 graspee

Jan 8th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good clean fun.

kaboro says
10 kaboro

Dec 11th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Excellent platformer, it has the best level design i have seen in ages, and generally everything about it is very well done from the visuals and the story to the controls and the challenge.
Very polished game.

A higher resolution would have been nice, other than that its just a perfect platformer.

Toyotame says
9 Toyotame

Dec 9th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Omg, its hard for real! that bosses will not be beaten from first try!
Overall, great experience, interesting plot, and challenge.
Lacking variety of music, through.

liviux76 says
10 liviux76

Nov 29th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very nice game indeed!
I am having lot of fun!
Thanks, Liviux76

ssokolow says
9 ssokolow

Nov 17th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

While I haven't yet had time to beat it, what I have seen so far is a delightful little retro platformer.

The graphics feel polished and satisfying despite their simplistic style, the animations are well chosen and satisfying, the sound effects feel good, the controls are smooth and responsive, new mechanics keep getting introduced as you play along (and, unlike in Braid, you're actually given time to savor them), and the music is catchy.

The pause between reaching the end of the level and diamond-wiping to the next one could be reduced a bit and the music can get a bit repetitive, given that there are only two tracks, but those are both excusable, given that it's still in alpha. (Heck, aside from the lack of content, this feels more mature than a lot of beta releases I've played.)

I'll give it a 9.0 out of 10 for now and adjust my rating (if necessary) as I play through further. (I'm saving a 0.5 for more music and another 0.5 because so many really nice little retro games could be so much more with a level editor. For example, Alter Ego.)

Community Rating

Average

8.8

37 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.