In Resident Evil 4 you'll know a new type of horror, as the classic survival-horror action returns with all-new characters, controls and storylines. We last saw Leon S. Kennedy in Resident Evil 2 - a rookie cop in Raccoon City, fighting to stay alive. That was six years ago. Since then, government forces have managed to control the zombie threat and Leon has become a Federal agent. When the President's daughter is kidnapped, Leon tracks her to a remote, hidden fortress in Europe - where he'll relive the horror he faced six years before. Players will face never-before-seen enemies that make Nemesis seem like a kitten. You'll be wishing for the usual Resident Evil zombies!

Review RSS Feed Mavis130 says
10 Mavis130

Jul 6th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This is something truly special.

Not many games made me as scared as when I heard the chainsaw first rev up.

Resident Evil 4 started what could have been a great new chapter for Resident Evil. The controls are great, and the new enemy fits them perfectly. Las Plagas gives not only a good challenge, but is also quite creepy when it comes up to replace a dispatched Ganado's head.

The inventory system and merchant are great in that the player can be stretched thin (unless you're the kind of badass who can wipe out a bunch of guys with only one bullet, which is possible), keeping the survival-horror feeling, while also giving them a sense of progress and improvement.

There are some very interesting mechanics, like killing an exposed plaga instantly with a flash-bang grenade or headshots causing an opponent to be stunned which opens up a chance to kick (and then knock back whole groups of enemies). Stronger enemies are stunned less by weapons (they won't even react to shots unless they're from a weapon which delivers enough force, meaning that the shotgun is quintessential to dropping a chainsaw wielding ****).

The combination of features makes this one of my favorite games. Sadly it was followed up by the subpar, but playable 5, and then 6 which isn't even worth the text here mentioning it.

MR.yokerclown says
7 MR.yokerclown

Dec 1st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Having a lot, what first ones of the series, didn't just like that have!..

Draken147 says
7 Draken147

Sep 1st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Resident Evil 4 does not feel like a resident evil game at all and if you ask me, it's where the series started going down the slope.

The father of all the godawful "press X to not die" the QTE feature is overused and maybe makes sense for a PS game but I played the godawful PC port and boy did that suck.

No mouse support, why it had no mouse support? Do we have analogs on keyboards? No. Would that make the game too easy? I don't think so. No options menu, was there a reason to not have one? The default keymapping is just terrifyingly bad and when you have to edit config files to change something, that's where something is wrong.

BUT I've recently played through it with a PS3 controller and managed to finally appreciate the game a little more, it doesn't feel like survival horror anymore but as an action game it's good enough.

To sum it all up the game is decent by itself, not so much when compared to where it came from.

Also, the rating for the PC port is 2/10 because it is functional but it's the worst PC port I have seen in my life, it feels like you're running the game on a PS2 Emulator, there is nothing PC about it.

AI_COLONEL says
10 AI_COLONEL

Jul 17th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Easily my favourite RE of them all (alongside the classic RE1 of course).

DEAD_FiSH says
8 DEAD_FiSH

Jan 25th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

While it's a excellent game. The PC port didn't left a nice taste in my mouth. First thing's the options menu. You lack any option to map keys, set graphic detail and all those nice sliders!
To edit controls you have to edit the config file, which isn't hard at all but still a menu would have been nice...
Then there are quick time events, which I never really liked. Even when I played the game on Playstation 2!
But the game's good, if you look for the options and start to cry then you are a complete idiot. There's a config file.

poshgaloo says
8 poshgaloo

Jul 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 2 people don't

Good, memorable game that i played quite a while ago.

hj12321 says
9 hj12321

Mar 13th, 2012 2 people agree 2 people don't

An exciting game after you get used to the game control.

Stalf says
1 Stalf

Jun 24th, 2011 0 people agree 2 people don't

A good game, but... damned, it IS NOT a Resident Evil AT ALL !!!

xlucidx says
4 xlucidx

Aug 9th, 2012 1 person agrees 2 people don't

A truly god awful port of a decent game.

Phantron says
9 Phantron

Apr 3rd, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.6

108 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.