Renegade X is a tactical First and Third Person Shooter with Real Time Strategy elements, set in the Command & Conquer universe. It is a high quality award-winning free indie game being created on the Unreal Development Kit

Review RSS Feed cirex says
10 cirex

Sep 23rd, 2012 7 people agree 0 people don't

Free and graphics are impossible, or at-least that is what these companies are telling us these days. Renegade-X will change this...

Aircraftkiller says
3 Aircraftkiller

Jan 29th, 2012 15 people agree 9 people don't

I played through half of the campaign and suffered through two system lockups which required shutting down my computer via the power button. The graphics were pretty decent... Comparable to games from 2008-2009, but the overall (lack of) brightness makes it difficult to discern any details in their work. It seems pointless to me to put so much effort into environments and then make them so dark that you can't see what you're doing without jacking up the gamma in your video card control panel.

AI was pretty terrible. It was difficult to see who and what was attacking you and where it was coming from. Infantry combat didn't feel quite right.

On a technical aspect, the foliage looked good - the foliage that I could see, when it wasn't too dark around to see what I was looking at. The voice acting was pretty sub-par - didn't sound anywhere close to the level of professionalism that was in the Renegade voice clips. You can easily hear the difference when they're played side to side. It wasn't terrible, but definitely needed some work. Nowhere near as clear and crisp as the original audio from Renegade.

Here's hoping the MP release will be better. It was a good try, but really needs a lot of improvement - specifically in the stability area. Would love to continue playing past the sixth mission if I wasn't worried about system lockups being a continual problem.

raen79 says
10 raen79

Aug 12th, 2012 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

Although the ennemies are stupid :p I did enjoy the game, and that is what matters

Xari says
8 Xari

Feb 1st, 2012 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

The campaign was quite generic with obviously amateur voice-acting, but I went into it with the mindset of considering it a tech demo for what is to come and which matters most: the multiplayer. The game was surprisingly polished and felt very responsive and fluid to play, something where a lot of games, definitely including commercial ones, fail. Handling of weapons work great, at first I was concerned about the generic 2 weapon limit but then considered that you never used more on one class in Renegade anyway. There are clear imbalances though which I'm sure will be addressed.

Overall - I'm psyched. I remember the days of having to circumvent the default login server to be able to play Renegade, but damn was it a special game. C&C was my first game ever and this all adds to the fact that this project has a special place in my heart!

Seal1908 says
10 Seal1908

Nov 3rd, 2012 6 people agree 2 people don't

No one else could do a better job. People complain, but your mod is much more than renegade already is. The ignorance of people who are spoiled by EA made games and others cant ignore the kind of entertainment this game will bring when multiplayer is released.

ComradeWinston says
9 ComradeWinston

Feb 26th, 2014 2 people agree 0 people don't

Good ****.

mythdragn says
10 mythdragn

May 11th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

This is the most bloody awesome remake ever.
Plenty of random oneliners to keep you entertained, stunning graphics with the same old <improved> gameplay and weapons!
A.I. can be a bit retarded at times, but furthermore it was excellent and a perfect way to spend a few hours playing the best remake of my old time favorite game <3

Hopefully multiplayer will be equally as good :D

wdebonne says
10 wdebonne

Dec 9th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Perfect !!

TheShadowHawk says
10 TheShadowHawk

Aug 13th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

AWESOME

Megumi says
6 Megumi

Jan 29th, 2012 7 people agree 5 people don't

Nice, but there are too many bugs :(

Community Rating

Average

8.7

438 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.