id Software's Rage combines first-person shooting, vehicular action, and "open but directed" exploration in a post-apocalyptic world, to tell the story of Earth's wretched civilization after a cataclysmic meteor strike. Militaristic authority figures, freedom-fighting rebels, criminal raiders, and twisted mutants battle each other for control of the barren wasteland Earth has become. This is the first game to feature the new id Tech 5 engine.

Review RSS Feed Serygala says
4 Serygala

Aug 3rd, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Visually impressive but repetitive, soulless, bland, boring and simply no fun.

SourHyperion1 says
10 SourHyperion1

Mar 8th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

ID Software rejoins those of us living in the 21st century with their latest experiment and let me tell you, this is amazing.

Gameplay: The Singleplayer campaign follows a survivor of what is called the ARK project in a post-apocalyptic world. In the game, you will find many exciting things to do. There is racing which is reminiscent of Mario Kart and Grand Turismo/Need for Speed. There is also combat which combines ID's traditional style with a plethora of weapons which produce beefy noises to top of the satisfying crunch and splat when they hit their targets. The addition of a Defibrillator makes the game seem easier, but the need to charge balances that. All in all, the story is incredible and gripping, while it may seem familiar, it is an interesting and fantastic take on a Post-Apocalyptic Resistance conflict.
Graphics: The ID Tech 5 engine is simply amazing. The engine allows for awe inspiring landscapes and incredibly realistic characters. This engine allows for a fantastic level of atmosphere, realism, and beauty. This engine is far more beautiful than any other engine I've ever seen. I've only ever encountered a few glitches, but they are few and far between.

Summary: Rage is an absolutely brilliant game. It quite literally has something for everyone. The noises in the game help the incredibly gorgeous ID Tech 5 engine create an amazing atmosphere, but also are quite satisfying for those using bassy headphones or even listening through regular old speakers. The story is gripping and a very unique take on a common idea. I highly recommend purchasing this game to anyone searching for a great game experience. You will not be let down by this game.

mrdoom4you says
10 mrdoom4you

Jan 27th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

under rated game
way too low res textures for the game size
i really enjoyed the shooting bits
i had to connect a controller to win races :3
and needed to use commands to get make the dark areas less green
but if you get chance give this game a go with an open mind

poshgaloo says
9 poshgaloo

Jul 3rd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

ID software has returned! They have brought a breathtaking game that is rumored to have an upcoming sequel.

harvey_soft says
8 harvey_soft

Jun 12th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Very enjoyable, only two issues, the game was rushed so textures have this "pop" to its resolution and a very short gameplay, and that the world was just so small, i was expecting this huge workl to explore but it was very condenced and semi-lenear. but other than that nearly perfect gameplay, increadible characters, andgood gunplay.

Nwodatek says
8 Nwodatek

Jun 6th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Underrated...

MahtXL says
9 MahtXL

May 30th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Im no graphics ***. I think my review of DNF has settled that. I enjoy this for what it provides. A setting i enjoy (a cross between futuristic, steam punk, and western) The crazy guns, the awesome looking ATV's. And the quest/shooter setup it has makes it easy and fun to do multiple things and once, and really get through the game at a quick pace. Bought it 2 days ago, it finished downloading yesterday, so i fired it up. Instant 2 hours played. The music in the opening intro was haunting, and the first time you step out of the ARK was aiken to Fallout 3's coming out of the vault. Breathtaking world, it really is. I often find myself just staring at how good something looks. Sometimes the cell shading and texturing is so well done i cant tell if its fake or real. Sure theres a bit of texture pop in, that sort of comes with the cell shaded territory now doesnt it? Anyone remember the fuss made about Borderlands and the pop in when you spawn on a map, taking a few seconds to load before it un blurs? Anyways enough texture talk, Did we really buy this to go GFX crazy? Or did we buy it because of who made it, and what they promised. My outdated PC runs this on MAX, no lag, and a decent FPS. That is godly, and makes me mad, because why cant other PC games be as well optimized as this. It would make PC gaming a heck of a lot cheaper.

sbseed says
9 sbseed

Aug 26th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

good game, great story, good mechanics...

needs to have more content added, better tutorials and documentation for id tech5 engine/mod tools

community needs to create more cities (gun barrel) and areas to explore (more sewers)...
plus a ton of other stuff :P

the giant mutant was a tad too easy to kill... balance is pretty good considering.
would have liked to see a few missions involving getting rid of authority drones/soldiers/etc. in the towns, maybe some missions of mercy and negotiations for peace/trade/joining towns expansions etc.

overall its an excellent game that begs for additional gameplay and longer/added story.

gabriel3210 says
10 gabriel3210

Aug 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is the best video game of all time, because it has the best story, the best gameplay, the best animations, the best setting (the beautiful desert), the best audio, the best voice acting, the best video game design and the best graphics of all time, using the best video game engine of all time, the Id tech 5 engine, made by the best video game developers of all time, Id Software.

Kaal979 says
7 Kaal979

Jul 17th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Reminds abit in Resident Evil and Fallout -
makes definitively lust for more of the same.

Community Rating

Average

8

52 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.