id Software's Rage combines first-person shooting, vehicular action, and "open but directed" exploration in a post-apocalyptic world, to tell the story of Earth's wretched civilization after a cataclysmic meteor strike. Militaristic authority figures, freedom-fighting rebels, criminal raiders, and twisted mutants battle each other for control of the barren wasteland Earth has become. This is the first game to feature the new id Tech 5 engine.

Review RSS Feed AdamDenton1 says
8 AdamDenton1

Jun 6th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Underrated...

Serygala says
4 Serygala

Aug 3rd, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Visually impressive but repetitive, soulless, bland, boring and simply no fun.

hemebond says
5 hemebond

Apr 7th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

+ Beautiful aesthetics with great models, textures and animations.
- Unfortunately the world feels static and lifeless. Characters don't really do anything. The world can't be interacted with in any way.

+ Getting quests is very easy, as is dialogue with characters.
- Story and quests are a forced and awkward, with the player having little reason to care what's going on. You only do what you're asked because there's no other way to progress. Even mandatory quests are given the illusion of being optional.

+ AI behaviours are interesting and fun.
- Simple and, at times boring, gameplay. A rail-shooter with invisible walls everywhere and no opportunities for emergent gameplay or interesting tactics.

- It gives the illusion of a sandbox but doesn't want you to do anything other than walk forward and shoot things that move. Gameplay is basically Doom and Quake with some extras tacked on to add minor choices.

SourHyperion1 says
10 SourHyperion1

Mar 8th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

ID Software rejoins those of us living in the 21st century with their latest experiment and let me tell you, this is amazing.

Gameplay: The Singleplayer campaign follows a survivor of what is called the ARK project in a post-apocalyptic world. In the game, you will find many exciting things to do. There is racing which is reminiscent of Mario Kart and Grand Turismo/Need for Speed. There is also combat which combines ID's traditional style with a plethora of weapons which produce beefy noises to top of the satisfying crunch and splat when they hit their targets. The addition of a Defibrillator makes the game seem easier, but the need to charge balances that. All in all, the story is incredible and gripping, while it may seem familiar, it is an interesting and fantastic take on a Post-Apocalyptic Resistance conflict.
Graphics: The ID Tech 5 engine is simply amazing. The engine allows for awe inspiring landscapes and incredibly realistic characters. This engine allows for a fantastic level of atmosphere, realism, and beauty. This engine is far more beautiful than any other engine I've ever seen. I've only ever encountered a few glitches, but they are few and far between.

Summary: Rage is an absolutely brilliant game. It quite literally has something for everyone. The noises in the game help the incredibly gorgeous ID Tech 5 engine create an amazing atmosphere, but also are quite satisfying for those using bassy headphones or even listening through regular old speakers. The story is gripping and a very unique take on a common idea. I highly recommend purchasing this game to anyone searching for a great game experience. You will not be let down by this game.

mrdoom4you says
10 mrdoom4you

Jan 27th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

under rated game
way too low res textures for the game size
i really enjoyed the shooting bits
i had to connect a controller to win races :3
and needed to use commands to get make the dark areas less green
but if you get chance give this game a go with an open mind

poshgaloo says
9 poshgaloo

Jul 3rd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

ID software has returned! They have brought a breathtaking game that is rumored to have an upcoming sequel.

harvey_soft says
8 harvey_soft

Jun 12th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Very enjoyable, only two issues, the game was rushed so textures have this "pop" to its resolution and a very short gameplay, and that the world was just so small, i was expecting this huge workl to explore but it was very condenced and semi-lenear. but other than that nearly perfect gameplay, increadible characters, andgood gunplay.

MahtXL says
9 MahtXL

May 30th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Im no graphics ***. I think my review of DNF has settled that. I enjoy this for what it provides. A setting i enjoy (a cross between futuristic, steam punk, and western) The crazy guns, the awesome looking ATV's. And the quest/shooter setup it has makes it easy and fun to do multiple things and once, and really get through the game at a quick pace. Bought it 2 days ago, it finished downloading yesterday, so i fired it up. Instant 2 hours played. The music in the opening intro was haunting, and the first time you step out of the ARK was aiken to Fallout 3's coming out of the vault. Breathtaking world, it really is. I often find myself just staring at how good something looks. Sometimes the cell shading and texturing is so well done i cant tell if its fake or real. Sure theres a bit of texture pop in, that sort of comes with the cell shaded territory now doesnt it? Anyone remember the fuss made about Borderlands and the pop in when you spawn on a map, taking a few seconds to load before it un blurs? Anyways enough texture talk, Did we really buy this to go GFX crazy? Or did we buy it because of who made it, and what they promised. My outdated PC runs this on MAX, no lag, and a decent FPS. That is godly, and makes me mad, because why cant other PC games be as well optimized as this. It would make PC gaming a heck of a lot cheaper.

Solus3843 says
9 Solus3843

Jan 18th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

The game left some to be desired by the time it was released, but its still id's signature.
The last participation of Carmack's on id Tech, left us wondering what id's going to be after his departure in terms of tech development.
This isn't bad, quite the contrary! It's a new beginning for the revolutionary developer of 90s.
The game proves that id is still id, no matter what is going on at it's core.
Fast paced action, kill, kill and more killing. Funny and entertaining, the game is suitable for those who just want to shoot, shoot and shoot!
The scenarios of desolated areas makes me wonder what DooM 4 can be. Hell isn't far and possibly a new outstanding piece of art is coming and is going to hit harder than ever.
Whatever you think about id Software, this is the exclamation of the game developer, telling us "we're still here!!"

DutchMike says
10 DutchMike

Dec 16th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Wow so epic, wow so epic, wow so epic, wow so epic, wow so epic, wow so epic, wow so epic, wow so epic, wow so epic, wow so epic, wow so epic, wow so epic, wow so epic, wow so epic, wow so epic, wow so epic, wow so epic, wow so epic,

Community Rating

Average

8.1

53 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.