Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker is a free open source 3D Game Maker, world creator and 3D Game Design program currently being used in many schools throughout the world that allows kids and adults to create their own video games, worlds, levels, adventures and quests, even cooperatively! The goal is to make it accessible to kids but also powerful enough for full game projects. With a simple click and roll of a mouse wheel users can modify the world however they want. In the words of a nine year old Sandbox whiz I babysit for, “Press Edit and go fulfill your dreams!”. Now features new game modes such as sidescroller, machinima, kartmode, RPG, and more!

Review RSS Feed Arcones says
10 Arcones

Feb 9th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

A fabulous, easy to use, robust engine that couldn't be better! Oh, wait, it is better... IT'S FREE! Extremely easy to use, plus easy scripting language enables quick dialogues and various other scripts!

Chaze007 says
10 Chaze007

Dec 25th, 2009 3 people agree 0 people don't

Platinum Arts: Sandbox is a free and easy 3D game designer for children and adults alike, this program was where I started in everything.

vanclive says
10 vanclive

Feb 2nd, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

it's not bad and it's good
it great but i need help with it!!!!!!!!!!

sonicx2218 says
10 sonicx2218

Feb 26th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This software is extremely easy to use and the amount of models, textures and other resources provided makes it that much better. With the ability to coop edit over the internet, you can finish full maps in no time!

RazgrizTheLombax says
8 RazgrizTheLombax

Oct 12th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Soo cool


Aug 4th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great Engine

FiredFox3 says
10 FiredFox3

Oct 17th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Very Nice Work!

Leo_V117 says
10 Leo_V117

Jul 21st, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This engine is 100% free, 100% flexible and 100% simple. Providing you have the programming know-how, you can do ANYTHING! This engine is updated frequently and I myself have content included in the engine (Karbon Collection, NewUI, RPG HUD) ready for the 2.7 release. The developers (including myself) are almost always around in the IRC channel to help you out. (#sandbox,

Fredashay says
8 Fredashay

Sep 26th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

I've tried a bunch of game making software over the past week, and so far Sandbox is the only one that I've gotten as far into as being able to actually start creating a level. Some AAA commercial products crash upon starting or just won't start at all, or claim to have a free trial period but won't start at all unless you purchase a registration key.

With Sandbox, I was able to launch it and start altering the terrain and changing textures on it almost immediately. It's really fast and smooth, too. I was getting between 50 and 60 fps on my mid-range PC running around the first level I made in game mode.

But every silver lining has its cloud. Its user interface is downright user hostile. It's not intuitive from the splash screen how to load a map you created and saved the previous day (to save a map just click on SAVE AS, but to load a map you have to go into the console and type a took watching several YT tutorial videos to be told about this). Also, the game I want to make is more of a simulator. But when you create a new map, you have to choose between FPS or a RPG, so your character runs around pointing a gun at everyone or has a big ugly HP and MP power bar at the bottom of the screen. I know there's a way to turn the HUD off altogether, but it's far from intuitive how, and I haven't come across the particular tutorial video on YT on how to do it yet. I know and expect that software as complex as this will have a steep learning curve, but these simple details like the UI not being able to load a saved map, and lacking a simple menu to select the HUD for the type of game you're making is a pretty obvious design oversight.

So I'm giving it an 8 simply because it works, is reliable, is fast, and is free, but docking it 2 for the user-hostile UI.

Pony_With_A_Hat says
9 Pony_With_A_Hat

Jun 18th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This sandbox game really isn't a game, but is in fact a key that unlocks your inner cunning and imagination. You could literally do almost anything within this game as long as you have patience. The engine runs smoothly, the scripting is phenomenal, and overall its free! Though I had some pet peeves that were disturbed while in game with this, The amount of great content overpowered the measly two things I found weird about this.

NOTE: I will not reveal these two problems due to the fact that it is more opinion based problems rather than stand problems that this game lacks

Community Rating



182 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.