Pitman is a turn-based rogue-like with boardgame style. Everything you desire is inside the randomized dungeons: Dwarfs, trolls, golems, treasures, potions, magic, hammer, bow, much more weapons, ... and don't forget the monster moles and pretzels!

Review RSS Feed Dhakczak says
7 Dhakczak

Feb 6th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

Nice little game, and there's more to it than you might have expected from the screens or the demo. Tilesets, enemies, items and spells vary quite a lot and the trickier later levels and more advanced spells (no spoilers) allow some interesting tactical twists.

A little more polish wouldn't hurt, however.
While the tiles, lighting, most sounds and especially the music are all fine, the characters and mobs could do with a little more detail.
The lack of any character animation and the minimalistic to non-existant visual effects are a little disappointing.

I understand that it's meant to be "board game style" and probably all the characters and critters are supposed to be figurines, a bit more visual "oomph" and eye-candy would still make it much more enjoyable.

Some sort of scoreboard or online-highscores would also make it more motivating.

Nevertheless, I liked it a lot and it's an interesting spin on the roguelike-theme. Absolutely worth the low price.

drelbs says
10 drelbs

Feb 10th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Great little Roguelike.

Then again I might be biased, I wrote one of the songs. ;)

charrety says
8 charrety

Aug 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very good game, but can't resiz window :(

Brian_Farnet says
6 Brian_Farnet

Jul 21st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Limited inventory, annoying movement, and the dullest combat ever found in a roguelike add up to make this a poor example of the genre.

I couldn't recommend this to anyone while good graphical roguelikes like DoD, TOME, Vulture, DoomRL and SOTS: The Pit are available.

oldrocker99 says
8 oldrocker99

Jul 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Nifty looking roguelike with new "cards" dropped down a la Bastion. Pretty challenging, great music, worth $5.

russberryman101 says
8 russberryman101

Jun 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

A fun little rpg that I really enjoyed

lostmidwesterner says
6 lostmidwesterner

May 24th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Simple rogue game that doesn't seem to aspire to be more than it is. Even through I am not a huge fan of this type of game, I enjoyed its simplicity.

Gn0meSlice says
8 Gn0meSlice

Feb 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This game is addicting, and better than the sum of its parts.

The selection of music may seem odd at first, but each of the tracks suit the game pretty well, and the seemingly simple graphics are supplemented well by nice lighting effects. The turn-based combat is nothing more than 'attack or run', forcing you to plan your engagements so that you have the environmental advantage over large groups of enemies.

Exploring the dungeons is easily the most rewarding part of the game for me, and I find that I'm addicted to revealing tiles and dungeon layouts just to see what's in the next space.

There's loads of items to pick up, but the Pitman's inventory is debilitatingly limited unless you put your first few upgrade points into strength.

The only real problem I see with this game is the difficulty. For the most part, you'll find that you can discover enough weapons and healing wells to make your way through the first few dungeons fairly easily, but due to the random nature of the game, you'll sometimes get wiped out after your first or second reveal of a new dungeon floor, which can be frustrating. There's not much you can do if you happen to reveal a tile with one or two extremely powerful enemies in it. This chance does add to the gameplay because it teaches you to prepare for the worst, but sometimes there's only so much you can do, and you're doomed.

Anyway, this is a great little casual dungeon crawler, and very addicting. Good price too. Recommended.

pysiu says
7 pysiu

Jan 18th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Not bad, delivers fun for everyone however gets boring quite fast if you are not into dungeon games genre.
Some more figthing tactical options/abilities would make this game much more appealing to me.
However, if you are a big fan of roguelike dungeon (crawler?) games you can add a point or 2 to my rating, you like this game for sure.

38thdoe says
5 38thdoe

Dec 24th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Decent!

Community Rating

Average

7.5

77 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.