Lumber Island - Indie/Horror/Adventure/Quest. You awake to find yourself in a life-boat ashore an island, and the last thing you can recollect is having fun at a great yacht party. A bit of history: Back in 1970s, this island was known as the "Lumber Island". It abounded in rare wood species of the highest quality, which were sought for by the craftsmen from all over the world — many of them took trips to the island in person, to pick the best material. The island thrived on private manufactures and tourism... ...until deposits of oil were found under it. This finding doomed the island: its inhabitants were made to leave their home land, the wood was chopped down to the ground. And after the oil had been pumped out to the last drop, the island was left abandoned and totally exhausted. This is the official story. The real truth lying behind it is for you to discover... Technical Requirements (for MAX Quality) Intel or AMD 3500Mhz 4Gb RAM GeForce GTX 650 or AMD Radeon 7750

Review RSS Feed NightSshadeGaming says
8 NightSshadeGaming

Apr 24th, 2013 11 people agree 0 people don't

1) The game had a really well made up atmosphere at first. Ambience was really scary and well made. Surrounding area was really well made as well, topping off the horror feeling while playing the game.
2) While at first the atmosphere was perfect, it faded out later on. That lumberjack was on your feet non stop, and you could always know where he is. I'll tell you why Slender is scary (just an example, you can change the Slender name to almost any good horror game). It's scary, because you don't know where the enemy is, but you know it is somewhere. It can pop up any second and scare you alot. In this game you knew that he is after you, that was a downhill. If you made him stop following you after like 15-30 seconds of chasing (also make him slightly faster, since you can easily outrun him right now), it would be much creepier in my opinion.
3) Lack of objective - that was probably the worst thing in this game. I spent one hour and a half walking around doing absolutely NOTHING... I gave him the boots, and then nothing. You have no idea what to do, you have no idea where to go, you have no idea why are you there in the first place. There is no story, no objective and... that's just ultra frustrating.

WAndFriend says
3 WAndFriend

Apr 27th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

To make it more interesting to be able to add the run

bradye21 says
10 bradye21

May 1st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

A game has never stuck with me quite like Lumber Island. The first night after I played it, I had a dream about the axe man coming at me. Now, after many months I finally got the privilege of playing episode 2... The bear. He teleports around, following along with my journey. But still I do not know his real motives. I can't wait to find out what happens in episode 3.

TurretCube says
7 TurretCube

Nov 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

A mysterious game that i hope to see more from. The beggining is a bit confusing making me look more like a fool on my video. But all up a great game, everything about it from the lighting to the sound is something i havnt seen in a triple A game for a while. Keep it up!

poupée says
10 poupée

Jul 10th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

good game in the sond is too good

Wulfston says
5 Wulfston

Jun 10th, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Lumber Island is a game that makes you WANT to like it. At first glance, it's atmospheric, stripped down and downright eerie. Unfortunately, it can't keep up with itself.

It's main(?) antagonist has an almost comically bad model, spoiling much of the atmosphere very nearly immediately. The early puzzles, whilst simple, have no logical basis. The result is rather than timidly creeping where you need to go, you kick around the island and rapidly grow accustomed to it's "charms". The poor grammar and clearly type-text of the "handwritten" clues do a surprising ammount to shatter immersion. And the bugs, whilst not game breaking, make it hard to be afraid; flying away from a horror, and skipping through the sky make for whimsical play.

Lumber Island, ultimately, fails at it's goal. Every time I felt dread trying to take hold of me, some choppy animation or breakdown of the world would shatter my disbelief. That said? It has potential, but currently plays like a pre-alpha. Hopefully, the team either gets their game together, or adds people who have the skills in areas they so obviously don't. Like writing.

legithoodlum says
8 legithoodlum

May 16th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good awesome game, but a little vaige on what to do at times...

Hard0wnage says
10 Hard0wnage

May 7th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

super creepy

GustavoLembra says
9 GustavoLembra

May 4th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Mto Bom

Guitarded1995 says
3 Guitarded1995

May 4th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Graphics are about on par with that Slender redub... nothing special. Extremely blurry on any settings. The update appears to have done absolutely nothing gameplay wise. There is no supsense to this game. You know exactly what causes the monster to come, and even from what direction, every... single... time. At least Slenderman keeps you guessing and leaves you the hell alone at some point.

Community Rating

Average

7.7

144 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.