Hard Reset is an action-packed, single-player shooter. Set in a beautifully realized cyberpunk city, it emphasizes over-the-top destruction and gives you a large variety of weapons to dispatch hordes of enemies. Featuring a cyberpunk plot that drawis inspiration from William Gibson, Neal Stephenson, and Philip K. Dick, especially Blade Runner and Screamers. The world as we know it ceased to exist. Humanity is at the verge of extinction, living in the last closed city of Bezoar. Mankind wages war against the machines controlling vast areas of what became the 'Barrens'. Machines want to control and assimilate 'The Sanctuary' a network that holds billions of digitalized human minds. Our hero, Maj. Fletcher, is a soldier of CLN - a corporation combat unit, established to protect the city. Machines are constantly assaulting the walls of Bezoar. Fletcher moves in when Bezoar's protective barrier is breached.

Review RSS Feed irogue says
8 irogue

Mar 18th, 2012 3 people agree 2 people don't

The gothic futuristic type scenery is well thought out, the enemies you face are terrifyingly fast at times and can be a real edge of the seat nail biting moment or two when trying think of the best way to combat them which makes it alot better than most linear shooters.

The cutscene cartoon style while not my cup of tea fits in well with the theme of this game, i think its good the devs didnt spend thousands of hours rendering cutscene movies and instead put the quality into the monsters and other objects etc in the game for an indy company on a much smaller budget than a AAA dev or ublisher they have exceeded my expectations.

Game play wise it is a linear fast paced shooter with a few puzzles along the way and you decide also what items / armor or weapons you will upgrade. The only thing i wish was in this was a Co Op mode perhaps, but given the price and the fun i have ahd in single player i am not complaining ratehr i just enjoyed it so much i would loved to have had an option for co op.

Worth the price, and i give it 8/10

jassy says
7 jassy

Mar 17th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

awesome graphics, although there lacks a good story.
It's just completing levels and playing through the game, instead of getting in to the storyline.
Maybe this is because the graphics from the game is awesome an realistic, but the cutscenes are cartoonish.
feels like bioshock 2, but not as well executed

BagaturKhan says
10 BagaturKhan

Feb 27th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great game

Royal.Arch says
9 Royal.Arch

Apr 14th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

foadiron says
8 foadiron

Apr 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Lovely graphics and lots of explosions detract from the awful save system. Small areas though and not much scope for exploration. That won't stop you from coming back to it though because it's satisfyingly difficult.

GordonBFreeman says
10 GordonBFreeman

Jan 9th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

3 words.
Best
Gameplay
Ever!

TheUnbeholden says
7 TheUnbeholden

Dec 25th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

I think this is the direction games should go into. Fast paced with a variety of weapon combos to reduce enemies into pieces.
Not to mention the graphics are breath taking in some instances, but we all know thats not what this baby is about.
But to be honest its not nearly as good as Painkiller, there just to finicky stuff here. While it takes the horrid shared ammunition of Deus Ex IW, your always finding ammo so it never becomes a problem really. You get to upgrade yourself and your weapons but mostly its used to unlock the rest of the weapons. Theres nothing special here upgrades wise so it kind of feels a bit generic.
The main issue for me is the lack of enemies, the game just becomes boring quickly fighting the same enemies. Also there are 10 weapons but they are all represented by the 2 guns that shape shift slightly into the next gun... which seems very cookie cutter IMO.
Guns and Enemies is supposed to be the advantage of this kind of game, beside providing tons of action. So I can't really give it any higher than 8 for the lack of content.
There is a addon released that adds 6 new enemies, but you have to wade through the main game first before you get to fight them. So I'm not sure whether its worth or not.
The Story just provides you the moral right to kick ***.

UrielX21 says
9 UrielX21

Aug 28th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good oldschool game.

xuxin629 says
1 xuxin629

Jun 2nd, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

not interesting.

maybe i have not found the fun of it .

chihwahli says
8 chihwahli

May 23rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Pro:
- play style depends on the weapons upgrades you choose.
- nice graphics
- very Huge bosses! Excellent!
- cartoon, voiced cut scenes. Awesome.
- destructable structures / items

Con:
- not many enemy types

Community Rating

Average

8.5

100 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.