Gentrieve 2 is a "Metroid"-style 3D action game featuring completely random & customizable worlds. The year is 3080. Mass Generators are creating everything, everywhere. However, thieves often steal Mass Generators in hopes of creating robot armies & fortresses. Thieves are terrible programmers, though, and their creations become uncontrollably hostile & fortresses wildly convoluted. It is your job to clear out these fortresses & return the faulty Mass Generators. Be warned, when the Mass Generator is taken offline, the fortress will soon implode!

Review RSS Feed burtz87 says
10 burtz87

Aug 30th, 2012 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

Gentrieve 2 is a fascinating experiment in procedural generation. Gameplay is 3D Metroid-style -- a room-based FPS platformer -- but genre is less important here than the ideas the game presents and the mood it effectively sets.

In the style of roguelikes and dungeon crawlers, each play-through provides a unique experience through random generation, right down to the texture of the walls. The aesthetic is refined (dark, retro-futuristic) and I'm constantly propelled by my curiosity and eagerness to get a glimpse of the next area.

Phr00t is chasing an ambitious idea and emphasizing all the right elements.

mahdi478 says
10 mahdi478

Jan 6th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Very fun!

predcon says
8 predcon

Dec 4th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I've lost more time to this game (and other phr00t games) than anyone has ever spent on any (Theme name here)-Ville game on FaceSpace. I attribute this addiction to the level of environment originality that procedurally generated worlds can provide. The game is as polished as a one-man team developed game can be. It really shows that the author is more of a coder and conceptualist than any sort of professional graphic artist, but it helps to give the game a sort of 'abstract' quality. The sound effects aren't spectacularly unique, but they're form-fitted, and work well with the great soundtrack.

It's games like these that define the 'independently developed' genre.

johnbeckjr says
7 johnbeckjr

Oct 26th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

It's an ok game, that felt kind of empty... :|

megaflux says
10 megaflux

Sep 3rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

another hit from the master!

nijbu says
6 nijbu

Mar 26th, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

From what I've played on the demo it is a decent game, But a few major short comings are present. Random generation is always messy, the game isn't very difficult(Bosses and even enemies are easily 'broken' by hiding in cover and shooting them while they cant shoot you) and it is incredibly short (Although this may just be the demo). While I do appreciate the game as a nice little experiment I don't see it worthy of the price being asked. I would however like to commend phr00t on his efforts and I would love to see what improvements could be done on the next instalment if there is one.

t1gerdog says
8 t1gerdog

Oct 19th, 2012 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Phr00t provides again, with another procedural game! I just hope it keeps getting worked on a bit... It could use some additional eyecandy.


*Press "M" for map, I didn't realize there was one at first. You'll need it.

sergiogsJp says
9 sergiogsJp

Apr 18th, 2014

No review provided

Winijaw82 says
9 Winijaw82

Dec 3rd, 2013

No review provided

Logorouge says
10 Logorouge

Oct 31st, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.4

39 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.