You are sent to war-torn Africa to assassinate The Jackal, a mysterious arms dealer who has rekindled conflict between local warlords, jeopardizing thousands of lives. In order to fulfil your mission you will have to play the warring factions against each other, identify and exploit their weaknesses, and neutralize their superior numbers with surprise, subversion, cunning and, of course, brute force.

Review RSS Feed Nawwx says
7 Nawwx

Aug 22nd, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

"Realism" in this game is pretty good but gameplay is not.

iuwin says
10 iuwin

Dec 14th, 2010 2 people agree 0 people don't

i love this game and i gust got it today and its the ****!!

LegionIscariot says
8 LegionIscariot

Apr 29th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I dont get it, everything that i thought i would hate about this game i love.

I have malaria and have to occasionally pop some pills: i love it.
Enemies keep re-spawning at outposts: i love it.
Weapons degrade: i love it.
Repetitive: i still love it.
Have to drive for long distances: i still love it.
Its amazing.

I really like the realism in Farcry2.

DarkShift says
5 DarkShift

Oct 25th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

10/10 for ambiance, story, and the overall message the dev's want to display.

0/10 for that annoying ****** gameplay.

So 5/10.

flippedoutkyrii says
6 flippedoutkyrii

Nov 23rd, 2011 3 people agree 2 people don't

...Eh... disappointed to say the least.

The "Realism" in this mod, while humorous, is laughable. The guns seem to be made of tinfoil and super glue considering how easily they break or jam and the story just isn't engaging. It is also notably more frustrating then Far Cry, even if it isn't nearly as difficult, I just find driving all over the place and clearing the same checkpoint over and over again, nerfing my weapons just fending them off and searching for a vehicle after my last one blew up for the 15000th time just... not very fun.

There's no mention of the previous game and any of it's gameplay elements.
In short, this shouldn't have been called Far Cry. But for what it is, it's opened ended and quite long with some interesting action scenes, I suppose many out there will like it.

Drag0 says
8 Drag0

Mar 24th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Pretty nice game. Intense action. But... there are few backdraws. Like for instance a man who is majorly involved into everything that goes around, main character is mute. In whole game story keeps rolling but main character of it hasnt even said one word. Seems kind of... strange. Other thing is balance. Its a lack of it. Like players who would prefer stealthier kind of approaches to an enemy would find themselves in a very hard time doing it. And on hardcore difficulty its practically impossible because ''special forces'' afrikan militants will smell you, hear you kilometers away and spot you trough walls. And it seems a big loss for me, because in such games environment there could be a very good place for stealth. Game would be 3 times better if those little things would be corrected.

leathery says
9 leathery

Mar 18th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

had lots of cool little things it it like a hang glider. liked the user created maps. the healing system where you pull whatever out is pretty cool. liked the driving and sitting in passenger seat perspectives. did not like the pills they were annoying as well as most guns picked off the dead shot about 2 rounds and shot working. also wished more people played online.

j0lt says
9 j0lt

Jan 15th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Beautiful landscapes, fairly intense combats, and lots and lots of fire! The downside is that they didn't pair the non-linear world with a linear story...

sanf says
7 sanf

Dec 10th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A good game but sometimes you just don't like it (I don't know why)
Ein schönes Spiel, aber manchmal mag ich es einfach nicht (keine Ahnung warum)

strelokgunslinger says
10 strelokgunslinger

Jul 9th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Far Cry 2 is simply an acquired taste, it excels in so many areas yet it can annoy alot of people.

Graphics:

Graphically the Dunia Engine is top notch, it is optimized for PC and it borrows code from CryEngine 2 personally my last favourite thing Crytek made.

Story:

There is a story but it was kept simple, and I find that to be a good thing because even though it is quite a unbelievable and simplistic story the game excels in immersing you into the world of Africa, and even you there is alot of backtracking you completely lose track of time. Far Cry 3 felt like a chore by comparison.

Gameplay:

Gameplay I will admit is awkward, but since 2008 there have been patches and a few mods that can easily remedy the gameplay and also the difficulty of the game to be less unfair and more challenging.
People complain about the malaria and weapon jamming, but these are only in the game to add more to your plate while in the heat of the core game. No one is invincible and these "annoyances" serve as speedhumps to game / mission completion.

Community Rating

Average

7.8

319 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.