You are sent to war-torn Africa to assassinate The Jackal, a mysterious arms dealer who has rekindled conflict between local warlords, jeopardizing thousands of lives. In order to fulfil your mission you will have to play the warring factions against each other, identify and exploit their weaknesses, and neutralize their superior numbers with surprise, subversion, cunning and, of course, brute force.

Review RSS Feed TheObscure says
10 TheObscure

Nov 22nd, 2014 3 people agree 0 people don't

Brilliant game from a very good game developer company. If you love open world games, especially FPS games, then this would be something that you will love. This game throws you into a hostile environment and basically anything can kill you; from malaria to hang-glider crashes. You will have to survive by relying on the only few weapons you have that can be by times, not really reliable after all, and as well as your buddies that can bust you out of a firefight when needed. This game is in my opinion far better that Far Cry 3 due to the fact that this game is very much stripped to only the basics you will have when in a similar real-life setting: You, your environment, your half-rusted weapon, and the few diamonds you have. No crafting or any resource gathering can be done here, which is cool because it keeps the game simplistic and your mind on the mission, which is to kill the Jackal.

Pro's:

-Large playable zone

-Many side missions

-Variety of sub-zones (forests, deserts, savannahs etc.)

-Good graphics

-Vast spectrum of different firearms

-Many ways to do your missions through your own approach

-Realistic landscapes and environments

-Interesting missions

-Long campaign and can be replayed without feeling repetitive

-Afrikaans speaking mercs, and overall a lot of South African reference

Con's

-Somewhat weird AI

-Stealth system could be made better eg. stealth meter, stealth melee kills

-Lack of more hidden weapons like the golden AK

-Lack of hostile animals

-Handheld guns could be made more realistic; reloads are unrealistic and the AK-47's receiver is on the wrong side like on Counter-Strike.

-Should have more desert playable areas like between the two zones

-No mod support; this one makes me cry the most

10/10

Nawwx says
7 Nawwx

Aug 22nd, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

"Realism" in this game is pretty good but gameplay is not.

iuwin says
10 iuwin

Dec 14th, 2010 2 people agree 0 people don't

i love this game and i gust got it today and its the ****!!

Drag0 says
8 Drag0

Mar 24th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Pretty nice game. Intense action. But... there are few backdraws. Like for instance a man who is majorly involved into everything that goes around, main character is mute. In whole game story keeps rolling but main character of it hasnt even said one word. Seems kind of... strange. Other thing is balance. Its a lack of it. Like players who would prefer stealthier kind of approaches to an enemy would find themselves in a very hard time doing it. And on hardcore difficulty its practically impossible because ''special forces'' afrikan militants will smell you, hear you kilometers away and spot you trough walls. And it seems a big loss for me, because in such games environment there could be a very good place for stealth. Game would be 3 times better if those little things would be corrected.

LegionIscariot says
8 LegionIscariot

Apr 29th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I dont get it, everything that i thought i would hate about this game i love.

I have malaria and have to occasionally pop some pills: i love it.
Enemies keep re-spawning at outposts: i love it.
Weapons degrade: i love it.
Repetitive: i still love it.
Have to drive for long distances: i still love it.
Its amazing.

I really like the realism in Farcry2.

DarkShift says
5 DarkShift

Oct 25th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

10/10 for ambiance, story, and the overall message the dev's want to display.

0/10 for that annoying ****** gameplay.

So 5/10.

leathery says
9 leathery

Mar 18th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

had lots of cool little things it it like a hang glider. liked the user created maps. the healing system where you pull whatever out is pretty cool. liked the driving and sitting in passenger seat perspectives. did not like the pills they were annoying as well as most guns picked off the dead shot about 2 rounds and shot working. also wished more people played online.

j0lt says
9 j0lt

Jan 15th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Beautiful landscapes, fairly intense combats, and lots and lots of fire! The downside is that they didn't pair the non-linear world with a linear story...

sanf says
7 sanf

Dec 10th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A good game but sometimes you just don't like it (I don't know why)
Ein schönes Spiel, aber manchmal mag ich es einfach nicht (keine Ahnung warum)

Timvorixos says
9 Timvorixos

Nov 6th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Why this game is so underated?

Community Rating

Average

7.8

321 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.