Eleusis is a 3d first-person adventure game for Windows developed by Nocturnal Works. It takes place in a seemingly abandoned village in Greece where the player character, while trying to seek refuge, finds himself in the center of a whirlwind of mysterious events. As the plot unfolds he finds clues that indicate that the village is a nest of a cult which plans to revive a dark force through an ancient ritual and harness its power. The player character faces the challenge of unlocking the forgotten knowledge of the ancient mysteries in order to stop the cult from accomplishing their goal. It is an exploration based adventure game where the player is called to solve the mystery by finding clues and reading various texts based on actual history, mythology and technology of ancient Greece.

Review RSS Feed AJ_Quick says
8 AJ_Quick

Feb 23rd, 2013 6 people agree 0 people don't

Cool atmosphere, I like the use of lighting in this game especially. The puzzles aren't bad either.

-1 point for performance though. The village area is especially hitchy.

tqwert1 says
2 tqwert1

Jun 2nd, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

FOV is insane, completely unplayable like this.

DiabolicalWaffle says
10 DiabolicalWaffle

Oct 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

The game atmosphere just feels fantastic!

bahoo says
5 bahoo

Aug 19th, 2013 0 people agree 2 people don't

Terrible performance!

Ch0plol says
1 Ch0plol

Jul 5th, 2013 2 people agree 2 people don't

Looks interesting enough, but the FPS drop bug in the town makes it unplayable. I hope this bug gets fixed, as I'm actually intrigued by this game, but as of now it's unplayable and gets a 1/10.

Nekropanzer says
7 Nekropanzer

Jun 3rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Great adventure game. Bleak as hell, very interesting story. I highly recommand it to point'n'click/adventure/survival horro adepts. Yes, it sometimes turns to survival horror, i almost died of a heart attack when a hooded cultist first chased me.

Unfortunately, the player have to sometime roam the map endlessly, and it becomes a bit boring. Despite the graphics being really good-looking, the game is poorly optimized in Direct X11, so if you have middle-end hardware like me, you'd better try Direct x9 mode and turn the antialiasing on 2x/4x.

pabbajita says
4 pabbajita

Jun 1st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Trop de déplacements, un système de sauvegardes inadapté et des "ghosts" dans ce jeu.

SonofX51 says
7 SonofX51

May 30th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Well i finished it, and fixed the stretched screen problem. It was a very interesting experience, and i enjoyed greatly, except for how the wolves and torch guy are put in, they don't seem smart and just have robotically know where you are. And the wolf encounters specifically aren't very fun, and lose the scariness the second time, it's basically just run around it while it for some reason just trots toward you.

It was a bit short, which is okay, because you nailed the narrative, but it would've been nice to be able to explore a couple other buildings(Coffee House for example) for extra lore or perhaps item placed in them to make a 3rd ending with the spiral at the dead end or something.

Quite the experience, great presentation, pure spooky, but very rough gameplay and poor NPC implementation, poor optimization resulting in framerate issues if vsync is on (It's not my rig i promise, unreal 3 on dx9 should not be hard to run for me at all, something to look into) also should be a bit longer, though i'm not worried because I know it's still being improved..

7/10 from me. Fix the performance and AI issues and add a bit more to explore and it's a solid 8.5.

TheUnbeholden says
6 TheUnbeholden

May 25th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

+Some nice sequences even if its in cutscenes
+Visuals are really quite nice.
-Boring, the puzzles are not logical, theres way to much running around, Half the game is running around. It's really a traditional adventure game in every sense of the way... bad ways.
-Story didn't intrigue me in the way I was expecting
-NPC's are only a crutch really, the game has to much wandering so when you meet one you just have to run away. Throwing rocks momentarily slows them but at the speed you run away its like jogging. Theres no urgency or real threat.
-Map you find way to late in the game
-+Medium in length

donmanios says
9 donmanios

Apr 29th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great Graphics and atmosphere. The interaction and puzzles are rather good.In version 1.2 the enemies are very annoying. it would better to kill them after some rock shots intead of just slow them down.
Also it could be longer.Keep up the good work

Community Rating

Average

8.3

134 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.