What happens when DLC practices go too far? An indie developer makes a game that mocks the industry and its foibles, that's what! Defeat the bad guy, save the world and get the girl! But first you'll need to find coins to buy DLC to enable animation, sound and even pausing. Thankfully this is just satire and all the DLC is purchased with in-game coins. But consider it a cautionary tale for the future... Key Features: - Two full length campaigns: the original award-winning "DLC Quest", and the brand new "Live Freemium or Die" - Platforming action! Coins to collect, a princess to save, a bad guy (or two) to defeat. You like that stuff, right? - Over 30 different DLC packs, each providing quiet introspection on the state of the gaming industry - Over 20 awardments to earn and make you feel reasonably satisfied with yourself Winner of Official Xbox Magazine's Xbox LIVE Indie Game of the Year 2011!

Review RSS Feed Charetard says
9 Charetard

Feb 18th, 2012 9 people agree 4 people don't

Short, but very enjoyable and worth what you're paying for.

gemezz says
9 gemezz

May 19th, 2012 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

A game you must buy, cheap, fun and the game looks great!
The only downside: you want more!

Siveran says
3 Siveran

Mar 19th, 2012 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

Underneath its somewhat funny satire, it's just a very short and very basic platformer, even with all DLC. One might say that's part of the joke, but "it's bad on purpose" doesn't really make it worth playing.

KiwiiCorporation says
10 KiwiiCorporation

Apr 2nd, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Exellent !

Lampião says
9 Lampião

Jul 21st, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This game have a purpose and do it. It's fun, have a good critics to the DLC Culture and have nice design.

rubiARR says
8 rubiARR

Apr 6th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

It's a very fun game, with a funny sense of humour and very satirical with all the DLC thing on current games.

The only bad thing about it is that is very short, you will complete in 1 hour or so, which given the price, is not as bad.

SirNamTaey says
8 SirNamTaey

Mar 26th, 2012 4 people agree 3 people don't

-Foreword, Gameplay and Feel-
DLC Quest has the standard side-scrolling-jumpy-puzzel gameplay we have learned to love and nourish and it feels very light and fast. But DLC Quest's focus is not on the gameplay.

-Story and Depth-
What DLC Quest is focusing on humor and wit. The storyline is the boring "save the pretty princess and beat the bad guy." But when you start the game, you can't even more left! This is where the DLC aspect comes in. You have to buy fake DLC with in game coins to further you adventure which in turn will grant you more coins which in turn will get you more DLC. Some DLC is useful but other DLC is just plain funny. A quick example off the top of my head would be the pixelated bikinis for NPCs. There are also lots of hilarious references such as the notorious troll and useless NPCs. I won't spoil the game too much though.

-Graphics and Music-
The pixelated graphics and 8-bit music accompany DLC Quest perfectly and I wouldn't have it any other way. I found myself humming to the music and admiring those pixelated bikinis... I mean art.

-Playtime and Re-playability-
This is the only section where DLC Quest starts to slip. I literally bought the game, downloaded the game, played the game, beat the game. All within around three hours. I can see battle-scarred gamers passing this game up due to lack of playtime. I did go back to try and get all the achieves which was filling but I can only say I want MOAR! Feed us Going Loud! But for such a low pricetag, it is hard to complain.

-Final Word-
So yeah, if you have some spare change lying around, you should pick up DLC Quest and while your at it, cancel your WoW subscription. In all seriousness though, thumbs up to the guys at Going Loud!

More Reviews:
Desura.com

CookieEpic says
7 CookieEpic

Mar 26th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great game, but it was waaaay too short. I think it makes it's point.

Leg0g0 says
1 Leg0g0

Mar 16th, 2012 4 people agree 3 people don't

At that price I though it would be longer than what we can find for free on the internet ... Very linear and the jokes are easy.

Check online for "achievement complete" & "upgrade complete"
More interesting than that imho.

Byacca says
10 Byacca

Dec 8th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very funny, very true and somewhat cute. It was 30 minutes of pure joy and fun. Thank you guys for this game. I think i'm going for another walkthrough

Community Rating

Average

8.1

413 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.