Dead Space; an adventure through space hell. A alien parasitic life form has transformed the majority of crew members of the USG Ishimura into violent, monstrous mutations. Where the only hope of survival is one of the crew members, an engineer, Isaac Clarke. Conserve ammo and med-kits and attempt to repair crucial parts of the ship to find a way off it. Melee ability is limited, a weak human can only hope to knock these creatures back long enough to reload or run. They are highly resistant to normal organ damage, there weakness is dismemberment. Severing just their head isn't enough.

Review RSS Feed Captain_Hell_Knight says
10 Captain_Hell_Knight

Dec 26th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

Quite possibly one of my favorite games.

alcador says
10 alcador

May 17th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing game overall. One of my favorite sci-fi games, played over several times.

FI2_Dev_Tak says
10 FI2_Dev_Tak

Oct 31st, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

would be epic if they allow people to mod the game

poshgaloo says
10 poshgaloo

Jul 3rd, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

This and amnesia are the scariest games iv'e ever played!

DemiangelX says
10 DemiangelX

Sep 4th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

My favorite game series in the horror genre, hands down.

TheUnbeholden says
8 TheUnbeholden

Apr 30th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Momentarily scaring someone isn't the same as "psychological dread", in order to scare someone psychologically it has to have a lasting impact. This is the issue the pervades Dead Space. For what it gains in building strong atmosphere, immersive 3rd Person by keeping the camera very close to Isaac and having no actual hud elements, instead what little hud you get is in the form a 3d dimensional hologram display on your gun & inventory menu and vertical health bar on his spinal column. All this is almost completetly lost after an hour or so of gameplay. The atmosphere and mystery around the story keep you in suspense, which adds to the impact of the jumpscares at first.

However because you kill so many enemies they start to become extremely predictable, and theres no build up to the scares (except for a few instances, mostly early on in the game) and the game even telegraphs the scares on a semi-often basis by flickering the lights, doors shutting or when it becomes very quiet all of a sudden.
Its this lack of subtletly that turns it into a Americanised B-Movie schlock gorefest that we see taking up all the space in video stores... except in a sci-fi setting.

Thats a shame! Because it has loads of potential, its got inspiration from The Thing in the enemy design for sure. The story once it starts to talk more about the bigger picture is really just the standard stuff we've heard all before.

+Atmosphere
+Visuals
+Sounds are nice quality
-story
-silent protagonist
-horror isn't upto par unless you think of it as gore horror.

Kalga says
10 Kalga

Apr 15th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Really scared the crap out of me, and made a fool out of me in front of my friends, job well done!

on1ondevelopment says
10 on1ondevelopment

Apr 5th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

The graphics are stunning for a game of 2008 and also does not take lots of resources, the story is good and original and finally, the jumpscares simply keep you alert and willing to keep playing, rather than those who scare the hell out of you.

drakonboy1 says
9 drakonboy1

Mar 17th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Bad PC port is the only thing bringing this down

DarkSajuuk says
10 DarkSajuuk

Nov 6th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Dead Space... is no doubt one of my all time favorite games. The horror in this game is perfect as well as the play style. If I want a good scare I will whip out this game and have a blast. :)

Community Rating

Average

9.2

37 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.