Plot: The characters thought they had escaped the terrors of Banoi and survived the apocalypse on a corrupted paradise. Their fate took a turn for the worse. The Dead Island heroes escaped in a helicopter to the safety of a military ship, but when a furious storm hits and the virus suddenly spreads throughout the crew, the nightmare starts all over again, leaving hope drowning in the rising tides.

Review RSS Feed LegionIscariot says
8 LegionIscariot

Aug 25th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

PROS:
A new playable character is added, eventhough I don’t use him.
The other survivors are visible now and don’t only appear in cutscenes.
The survivors help you fight in these horde modes where wave after wave of zombies attack. Very fun.
You are able to perform drop down kills on enemies.
You can find a chainsaw.
You can do mission for your friends making them stronger.
New special zombie types (remind me of the Charger and Witch from Left for Dead).

CONS:
Some aspects of combat are worsened: I cant stand on a car and properly hit zombies like I used to and they can more easily hit me than before.
Eventhough the other survivors help in combat during the waves, they don’t do anything else. Instead of maybe helping you carry multiple heavy objects or helping you fight a boss, they’d just stand there and watch.
Too many fetch quests. Too much backtracking. Too often a mission would lead to a dead end and you have to find alternate paths. Too often a mission would lead to a locked door and you have to find a key.
Because 3/4 of the game you are in a flooded area you cannot drown enemies. But I drowned once, I fell in some kind of sinkhole near the beach and couldn’t get out.
More often than once an enemy one-hit-killed me by throwing a melee weapon at me, a cheap way to die.
When I use my kick it automatically throws the flares im holding, wasting them.
SamB’s ram ability doesn’t work well.
It copied the first too closely. Right down to the audio tapes you find, the missions, betrayals, the last boss battle being some kind of supermutated human, and a certain girl dying at the end.
Kevin (aka Charon the terrorist from the first game) and Yerema are removed at the beginning of the game and are never seen again.

THE ENDING:
Confusing. It looks like we rescued some people but abandoned others, again, just like the first game.

Explov3r says
7 Explov3r

Feb 16th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great game... for multiplayer...

Adeno says
8 Adeno

May 8th, 2013 0 people agree 2 people don't

As someone who has played the first Dead Island, I can say that I also enjoyed Riptide just as much. Nothing much really seems to have changed and that's just fine with me. The graphics are still beautiful like before, but this time it's more focused on jungles instead of indoor locations and cities.

The jungle itself is quite a nice place to explore. Tropical trees and plants give sway to the wind, giving life to the environment. The weather changes from time to time as well, so it's pretty common to have it raining for a while before slowly going back to the bright and sunny atmosphere of the place.

Don't let the beautiful scenery fool you, it's not as safe as it seems! Zombies and monsters litter the island and will rip you apart the moment you idle around too long. The usual cast of zombies have returned, along with a few new variations to keep things interesting. There's now a "drowner", which can be found in areas with waist level water. These guys would wake up and go after you, especially if you're riding a noisy boat. The "screamer" will just scream, while "grenaiders" will throw what seems to be exploding meat at you.

For the story, it continues from where it left off. The heroes just escaped the prison on a helicopter and lands on a ship. Unfortunately, they are held against their will because of the people who want to use their immunity to infection as part of a cure. Most of the story's exposition are done via quests that you can do, and there are twists and turns that make things a little more interesting.

Combat is still the same. You can use melee weapons or firearms to battle the undead. You can still find blueprints to give special effects to your weapons and upgrade them some.

For an improved Riptide experience, go download the latest George Romero Survival Horror Edition mod for the PC version. It offers a totally new and configurable experience that users will find enjoyable.

Korsakov829 says
10 Korsakov829

May 8th, 2013 0 people agree 2 people don't

I spent 500 Dirhams (about 140 USD) to get a hold of this. Having put 15 hours in so far, its an amazing game and money well spent. I played the original for an entire year and expect to play this one for just as long.

TheUnbeholden says
5 TheUnbeholden

Apr 24th, 2013 2 people agree 3 people don't

Its Dead Island with small improvements to combat, coop and lootings but its even buggier and glitchy than the previous game. Although it is alot harder... which I would have liked if it wasn't so unfairly hard. It uses the whole waves of enemies while you defend a area (and in some instances infinite respawning enemies, these areas that you have to run passed which you might realize and fight till you die). The original game had maybe 1 instance of them both, here we get 3-4 in a shorter game.

+Improvements to combat like new mods and weapons
+Mini quests (fetch quests) are more interesting this time around rather than the blandness of what was before.
+Everything the worked before is maintained like modding weapons and visceral combat...

-One bad new gameplay mechanic, a one-hit kill move where you drop down on a zombie from up high, or at least weaken them down enough for a single extra hit to do the trick. But I’d reserve how often I did this, because it would always leave me staring at my feet for a few seconds while getting attacked by the other zombies, helpless and paralyzed...
-You end up getting pulled underwater when you explore with the boat, I mean seriously? Insta kills just because we want to explore. If you want to make the game linear like the previous dead island, don't block off areas with insta kills, Because we can't see it coming. Just block the areas off with debris, bouy's, nets, rocks...
-Difficulty scales widely against you when you play on your own, dead island was criticized for throwing in characters into cutscenes when you play on your own... now theres another reason to hate coop designed game. Not playtesting solo games?
-The game is roughly 15 hours rather than the 22 hours of the original.
-glitching weapons and enemies through walls and ground, crashes and disappearing items, teleporting even into far away areas when your coop partner dies.. ect
-Story is even more disjointed and slow than it was before..

AI_COLONEL says
9 AI_COLONEL

Aug 14th, 2014

No review provided

Hana says
9 Hana

Mar 14th, 2014

No review provided

xLunaticAge says
7 xLunaticAge

Oct 12th, 2013

No review provided

F.E.A.R.PointMan says
7 F.E.A.R.PointMan

Aug 1st, 2013

No review provided

SohighCraziesMod says
8 SohighCraziesMod

Jun 4th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

7.4

22 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.