BioShock Infinite is a first-person shooter made by Irrational Games, the studio behind the original BioShock (which sold over 4 million units worldwide). Set in 1912, BioShock Infinite introduces an entirely new narrative and gameplay experience that lifts players out of the familiar confines of Rapture and rockets them to Columbia, an immense city in the sky. Former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt has been sent to rescue Elizabeth, a young woman imprisoned in Columbia since childhood. Booker develops a relationship with Elizabeth, augmenting his abilities with hers so the pair may escape from a city that is literally falling from the sky. DeWitt must learn to fight foes in high-speed Sky-Line battles, engage in combat both indoors and amongst the clouds, and harness the power of dozens of new weapons and abilities.

Review RSS Feed TheMrBenpulido says
10 TheMrBenpulido

Mar 29th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

This is the best game ;)

KIR_AKA_NIK says
10 KIR_AKA_NIK

Mar 29th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best game

TheUnbeholden says
8 TheUnbeholden

Apr 11th, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

This game is very beautiful and richly detailed, a environment unique that I really haven't seen before. Problem is your character although voiced this time around, he doesn't really interact with characters. Alot of the places while spectacularly beautiful don't contain nearly enough interesting stories.

Also the whole alternate timeline cracks that you can peak through don't show characters so you don't know who's talking to whom. Thats not a improvement over audiotapes, its the same thing!

The gameplay improvements we where shown in videos are not here, Elizabeth's power to alter reality like make yourself a door or pull in a train to squash all the enemies is mysteriously gone in the released version. They Scaled back what she can do, completely making this otherwise unique and interesting concept pretty dull on execution. In fact in the alternate realities all there seems to be is the same turrets and sky hooks, which is pretty unimaginative.

Bioshock infinite has made the gameplay a tad weaker with less depth to the abilities (ie just lots of ways to kill and no real utility stuff) they try to make up for it with a more challenging, 1999 difficulty setting. Shooting guns is what these games are about.
The game also carries over a issue we've seen before, the lack of choice. We don't really make any meaningful choices in fact we are barred from doing so when they would logically make sense.


+Visual Design
+Voice acting
+Hard bosses
+Quite long at 10-11 hours
+-Story that does touch on a philosophical underlining, that leaves us thinking.. if a bit to heavyhanded.
+Gameplay seems to feel more concrete, difficult & rewarding.

-You feel more like a observer than a participant (no real choices to make)
-Merging realities concept has wasted potential
-Bad guy is so generically evil, everything feels like caricature than any attempt at a real representation.
-Vigors are unexplained and why no one else becomes a Handyman, except old people..

Silent_Siren says
10 Silent_Siren

Apr 19th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Really Cool game.

ZeroFantasyGuy says
10 ZeroFantasyGuy

Apr 16th, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Amazing optimization. Amazing gameplay. Amazing story. Amazing "land"scape. Do I need to say more?

Blearwargh says
10 Blearwargh

Apr 11th, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Well, Bioshock infinite.... It FINALLY was released. to be honest though, i wasn't really planning on buying it but i got it for free with my HD 7970 along with crysis 3 (which in my opinion is horrible) but back to topic. i love bioshock infinite, the characters are very well fleshed out and relatable and the companion system is great, as it helps keep you in the game. there may not be any big daddy's or little sisters in this game, but there are less annoying equivalents! like the firefighter who hurls flaming explosives at you or patriots which are big steampunk-style robot thingies with a "crank gun" (Gatling gun). all in all i loved my playthrough of bioshock infinite, the ai was good, the gameplay was well balanced and the story was amazing. and a brilliant ending too! but won't go into any spoilers! don't want to ruin the expirience for people. i would highly suggest obtaining this game and having a playthrough. Hope you all enjoyed this reveiw and that you will get this amazing game and play through it!

-blearwargh

nijbu says
6 nijbu

Apr 3rd, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Looks very good, plays good, story is ok, characters are ok, acting is ok. Can feel a little sluggish and pretty repetitive. Good game, but after a while it becomes a chore. Ai gets stuck far to frequently. The difficulty is a little easy, The harder difficulty seems like it should be the normal difficulty.

SomeGuyNamedTom says
10 SomeGuyNamedTom

Mar 26th, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

A strong story line plus amazing graphical qualities makes this game a potential for GOTY 2013.

JustACoolGuy says
10 JustACoolGuy

Dec 1st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

amazing environment. great gameplay creative enemies kickass story best bioshock game ever.

10/10:STORY
9/10:GAMEPLAY
10/10:CHARACTER DESIGN
10/10:ENVIRONMENT
10/10:MUSIC

It Deserves more then 10/10 super creative super fun exactly what all games should be like.

DJFingas says
10 DJFingas

Oct 7th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This game is soul touching. just as its predecessors,
i had much fun with this one!

Best video game of 2013 so far...

Community Rating

Average

9.3

35 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.