Featuring a unique interactive narrative style and imaginative hand-painted environments, Bastion challenges you to build a new world from the broken remnants of the past.

Review RSS Feed Metalspy says
9 Metalspy

Dec 15th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

I don't know what makes this game so great, because the gameplay itself actually isn't very innovative or original. The artstyle, music, sounds and voice acting create a great atmosphere though, one of the greatest I have experienced so far. Definitely one of my favorites of 2011.

CFrac says
9 CFrac

Nov 26th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great art, music, story, game mechanics, and controls. However, It started off too slow and it was hard getting the ball rolling. Starting off with 1 weapon and a shield was a downer.

triadtimes says
10 triadtimes

Jun 4th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Yes.

seagaia says
9 seagaia

May 20th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

My quick thoughts after finishing Bastion:

Bastion's a game that blends all of its aesthetics very well. The gameplay is relatively straightforward and vanilla - a angled-top-down action/beat-em-up game, with multiple weapons (all of which have different play styles). You're allowed to carry two weapons and a special ability into every stage, which gives a bunch of play styles. The game flow is a level, the hub world for upgrades/more story, and occasionally these challenge areas where you can test your skill with weapons to unlock new abilities.

Even though the game on its own is relatively easy, there is also an "idol" system, which gives you money and experience bonuses for making the game more difficult. So if it's not challenging enough, well, you can make it harder! There are even arena-based (i.e., "waves") challenges you can partake in.

Of course, layered on top of the gameplay is a narrator, a deep-voiced man who tells the story of how this world came to be, all the way until the end. The narration can be humorous at times, talking of what the player chooses to bring to battle with, or it can discuss information about the world the player is in. However, it never seems too intrusive, and the voice acting is quite nice.

This is also layered with an appealing visual style, and an incredible soundtrack by Darren Korb, using a variety of ethnic instruments...somewhat of a middle-eastern vibe, but also country and western and well, give it a listen if you haven't already.

But, it's a beautiful experience, even if you play through just the normal mode (there are others after you finish the game once). I definitely recommend Bastion!

nijbu says
10 nijbu

Jan 2nd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

First game to make me cry in a long time...

Rorshach says
10 Rorshach

Dec 8th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Might be my GOTY. Very few times have I been emotional because of a game, and the end of Bastion was one of them.

raigeki says
10 raigeki

Dec 2nd, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

4 different end, Amazing HD graphic, Remarkable Story, Excellent sounds. This game is AWESOME...

Lee_Stricklin says
10 Lee_Stricklin

Dec 2nd, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Fun, engaging, original, artistic, and flawless. One of the very few games I can legitimately award a perfect score to in my 20+ years as a hardcore gamer.

DarkMajor21 says
10 DarkMajor21

Nov 19th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is the best game ever! It has a great story line and amazing music!

Otter. says
10 Otter.

Aug 26th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Fantastic game. Fun I hadn't had a long time in a singleplayer-only game.

Community Rating

Average

9.3

34 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.