An epic bug hunt featuring a unique blend of co-op play and squad-level tactics. With your friends, form a squad of four distinct IAF Marine classes. Plan your attack using an unlockable arsenal of weapons with countless loadout configurations against a wide variety of aliens. Blaze your way through an overrun, off-world colony, eradicating the alien infestation in environments ranging from the icy planet's surface, to a subterranean lava-flooded mining facility.

Review RSS Feed geotavros says
10 geotavros

May 6th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

Free. Sci-fi. Multiplayer coop. Source Engine. This mix makes the game very fun to play and provides breathtaking experience. Beautiful graphics. However it lacks new levels and campaigns, inspite of community have provided about 53 playable campaigns.

Rodman49 says
9 Rodman49

Aug 29th, 2011 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

The fact that this game is free continues to amaze me. Alien Swarm is a top down shooter that feels like futuristic Diablo II to a large degree. You fight off hordes of aliens with your friends in order to complete missions that require teamwork skill, and sometimes a little luck.

The game has RPG elements – you level up and get access to new gear, there are four character classes, and multiple characters within those classes to select. This game should be a popular addition to any LAN party or group of four people. I certainly think you should download this and play it regardless of which game genres you enjoy.

goodone says
10 goodone

Jun 6th, 2011 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

for a free game, this is one incredibly fun sci-fi creation, building on steam's co-op capabilities, which gives it immersive replay value, making it an awesome return-back platform for general cooperative-skills practice with new gamers and relaxing eye-hand coordination training gamers usually seek. given its free access to the game's sdk, enriches the experience even further, adding various creative production of new game content based on valve's source engine.

what would u need more from a top-down squad-based shoot 'em up action game? valve did a great job piercing to gamers globally with this free content.

george92_stefan says
10 george92_stefan

Apr 28th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

steam free download like! awesome super game!

ShouldBeNew says
9 ShouldBeNew

Jul 11th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This game is god damn great. It has cool weapons and levels and most importantly it's F2P! And there is no buying which is cool. You also get a hat for TF2 if you complete 2 coop missions online! Graphics are alright but only thing i disliked was that it's too short. Still one of the best F2P games and the best 4-player coop game. Go check it out!

9.0 / 10 - Excellent

Elitesse says
3 Elitesse

Jul 10th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Since my computer can't handle this stuff, I watched a few gameplay videos on YouTube and I didn't like it. First of all, it's too dark and too metallic! It's also so shiny, oh my God it's too shiny, what the hell, it almost hurts my eyes. That's not real life. I don't see shiny stuff everywhere. It almost looks like everything is made with crystals, because it's very shiny. Old games are more realistic, at least they don't make everything shiny, even Half-Life 2 is not that shiny. Shiny! It's very shiny! Also I don't like aliens. They are so boring and ugly, uuh. And they are shiny, too. Why is everything so damn shiny? Why?

TriNecatoR says
9 TriNecatoR

Feb 1st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Another good coop shooter from Valve. Few campaigns, not various enemies, but it's fixible for large community that have developing tools. And this game is completely free.

zwyx says
10 zwyx

Aug 1st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing game! Shame that Valve abandoned it... :/

kain1511 says
10 kain1511

Jul 9th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

awesome just like this gameplay... i lav it! =3333333333 just like that view of the game!

Milanium says
8 Milanium

Jul 7th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Sadly the campaign is short, gameplay slightly spammy and the leveling not very rewarding, but still this is an awesome co-op horror shooter. Level design, lightning and the 3rd person perspective work very well together.

Community Rating

Average

9.3

354 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.