The Raycasting Game Maker is a free easy to use game editor that creates simple raycasting games in the style of Wolf3D. The finished game needs only two files to run, an executable and a pak file with the game data. The game runs in Windowed- or Fullscreen Mode and supports 16 and 32 bit color.

Review RSS Feed Raven_Destroyer says
10 Raven_Destroyer

Dec 6th, 2010 3 people agree 0 people don't

ok it ain't perfect but still wonderfull to start with

Chosenlama says
10 Chosenlama

Jan 7th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

its easy and cool :P

Slyeon says
8 Slyeon

Dec 13th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I've used this engine for a long time now, so I think it's right I review it.

Raycasting Game Maker comes with 3 programs: The Editor, a Menu Maker, and a Color Adjuster.
The color adjuster allows you change the Hue of textures and Menu screens you use for your game, so it's nothing special.
The Menu Maker allows you to edit your menu text and select a background image. You can also change the text font and color. Makes Menu Making really easy.

The important thing is the editor itself. Drawing the level is very easy to do. You can easily edit game setting with the toolbars at the top and change images for weapons, enemies, etc. The editor also supports MIDI music files. However, the MIDI player is kinda bugged and sometimes might glitch out during gameplay.
The actual game runs fine, but theres no option to change the resolution. Even if you run fullscreen or resize the window, the game runs at I think 640x480 resolution. Not a big deal, but it would be nice to have the games look a little nicer.
Gameplay is fun and feels like Wolfenstein or Blake Stone.

Overall, it's an easy editor to use. However, it has it's flaws. Certain images like the weapons have different background colors than the sprites for enemies. Weapon sprites need to have a black background while enemy and pickup item sprites need a white background. Really annoying and you have to edit your sprites if the image uses those colors.
Also, the enemies always face the player, and they dont walk straight, they move in a side-to-side manner. It hardly effects gameplay though.

Raycasting Game Maker is something people new to game creation can use. Those with experience have better options, but the editors easy interface and level design make this engine a winner in my book. There are also great games I've played with it. Highly recommended.

Pablo-- says
10 Pablo--

May 17th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A really easy and advanced game maker.

ligisd says
7 ligisd

May 7th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great engine for newbie's and experienced ones(if bored ;P)
It is easy to use and the outcome is great gameplay wise.
Simple old'school graphics.
But i still only give it a 7 because of the limitations of this engine(5 enemies and only a few weapons.)
Anyways, it's a great engine!

KeshaFilm says
10 KeshaFilm

Dec 12th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Well, it's not so powerful engine, but if you got a real great imagination and your hands grows from right place - it's really great tool for creating old-fashioned games!

dastick says
9 dastick

May 6th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Plain Awesome!

bubhotsauceg says
10 bubhotsauceg

May 1st, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I really like RGM. But there is one main flaw in my opinion. I can't exchange bitmaps like gun pictures and Intro Screens. I would apreaciate some help in this area. I really need to exchange bitmaps, because I have a deadline to finish my game by.

CostarGamerZ says
10 CostarGamerZ

Apr 15th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

It's a good editor

Isaiahere says
8 Isaiahere

Mar 8th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Extremely limited but it is good for beginners and lazy butt-holes.

Community Rating

Average

8.3

26 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.