The IW Engine is a game engine developed by Infinity Ward, based on id Tech 3, which was first used on the highly successful game Call of Duty 2. Since then, it has been continually upgraded and used on the games Call of Duty 4, Call of Duty: World at War, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, and Call of Duty: Black Ops.

Review RSS Feed KEVLAR60442 says
8 KEVLAR60442

Jul 7th, 2011 5 people agree 0 people don't

Shadowmapping, phong, dynamic lights and shadows, impressive animations, and physiscs all rolled into an engine that's about as technically demanding as Left 4 Dead. It's a nice little engine. I think all of the hate for this engine just is sprouted from the hate for Call of Duty.

Lt.Dann says
6 Lt.Dann

Aug 19th, 2011 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

This is a pretty nice engine, it has good lighting effects on objects, but it's very limited. I consider this to be an average game engine.

BossN00b says
5 BossN00b

Aug 18th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Could be even better.

Kill_Time says
7 Kill_Time

May 30th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

still hmm uhh why using this engine all time ????

DusteSilverwolf says
3 DusteSilverwolf

Jun 18th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The engine is decent if you want "flashy" graphics, yet the engine is one of the most buggy engines I've ever used in my opinion. The online multiplayer is unstable, the engine freezes constantly, the physics are jumpy, the AI is bad(In my opinion, worse than the ID tech engine they based it on.)and finally, the security features are lacking almost completely.

☭Evanp☭ says
4 ☭Evanp☭

Nov 24th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

AI is horrible! Player must do all the work!

Nwodatek says
7 Nwodatek

Jul 8th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Surprised by all the bad votes here... Maybe it just the hate for COD and everything related to it. Anyways, it's a good engine with nice features, but it's way too overused

ShouldBeNew says
4 ShouldBeNew

Jul 11th, 2014 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Call of Duty 2 to Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare 2 had the best of the engine. Now it totally sucks and yet the AI is outdated and there are a bunch of crappy bugs.

4.0 / 10 - Bad

Elitesse says
10 Elitesse

Jul 10th, 2014 0 people agree 2 people don't

A very, very good engine. Please, stop hating this engine so much. I bet that you people hate it only because it's used in Call of Duty games. You guys are so immature. Source is an old engine too, but everyone loves it, it has high ratings. Also, why do you need good graphics anyway? They are useless, they only eat lots of hard drive space. If I could be one of your parents, I'd take your computer and throw it away from the window. You don't deserve using a computer! If you want really good graphics, go outside and look at the real world. I think that the graphics there are realistic enough, yes? Oh you want to shoot people? Go to the army then.

*Pro*Noobkiller2 says
6 *Pro*Noobkiller2

Apr 14th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Old as my granny!
In Call of Duty: Ghosts its existend IW 4.0
Omg!
Can you either update this engine.
Aren't you ashamed by this old engine?

Community Rating

Average

6.3

59 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.