Unsung, a World War I adventure in Wolfenstein 3D, lets you slog through the trenches in true pixelated FPS fashion.

Review RSS Feed OrangeNero says
10 OrangeNero

Jan 9th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A free game of very good quality and fun. Also wolf3d with strafing! One of the few shooters in WW I. No install no dosbox no register, just download unzip and start playing even on Win7 and Dreamcast, amazing.

Very good looking and diverse, don't forget we talk about a wolf3d mod so this is especially nice. It got its charm.

I get lost all the time, just like in Wolf3d, I happen to curse it for not having a map but then remember thats how it always was and probably supposed to be.

I dunno if its a game limitation but a bit more than 4 weapons would have been nice. That said the ones we do have are really nice and I like that I can reload.

The sound fits, could be a bit more diverse, maybe some artillery sound in the background but overall I am pleased by the sound.

Maps are very well done with lots of love put into them while making. tents, artillery sites, trenches, woods, I shot a guard on the toilet. There's even more I haven't explored yet.

Some nice moments like the sani asking not to be shot. Needless to say I did shoot him.

The comic cutscenes, gotta love that.

Some kind of Multiplayer would be great but again I don't know if that is possible at all. Some LAN deathmatch over hamachi or something.

To not rate this game a 10/10 would be... I dunno just rate it a damn 10!

Edit* There is also a survival mode! Uber Awesome! This I miss in most todays FPS and this one got it! Superb!

Bugtrooper says
10 Bugtrooper

Apr 30th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Nostalgic, got some ideas, and works on my old notebook:)! Great game!

unknow5763 says
10 unknow5763

Apr 27th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

reallly cool think of the coolest thing ever and multiply it by chuck noris still not even close to recab really cool.

Astrid. says
10 Astrid.

Mar 16th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Best mod for Wolf3D!

korphser says
9 korphser

Feb 10th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Its one of the ww1 total modifications I ever played...and I gave you a 9 because of no play with my baby shottie m1897 and a mounted gun...The story merges you really cool :)

madwolf555 says
10 madwolf555

May 3rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Never before have I seen a WWI mod for Wolf3D, and I've been modding for 10 years now! Been playing Wolf3d since '92...

I believe Unsung's gameplay is successful with capturing the grittiness and somewhat horrific atmosphere of the war to end all wars. As with all mods and games there are a few things to nitpick on, things player will think could use improvement, but I believe this mod well deserves a 10/10 rating for it's uniqueness and enjoyable gameplay.

TheUnbeholden says
8 TheUnbeholden

Jan 28th, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Its weird having to face the same rifle toting troops, the regular kind of trooper should come in variants with a MP40 or the trench shotgun (one of the few shotguns actually modified for war use). I think that the flamethrower dudes really need faster movie flames because I have not been hit once as of yet.

That level with all those trees is really badly designed, the trees are way to far apart that it makes it difficult to tell whether you can get passed them or not. If you want players to know where they are going put the trees closer together so the path is more obvious so you don't get stuck on trees, like in real life.

I like the story telling aspects, the game is of decent length and features simple yet addictive gameplay. The addition of a reload key and medkits is very appreciated.

switchr says
2 switchr

Jan 28th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

while I can respect that you clearly worked very hard on this. its control scheme ruins it. Besides that, the game really just doesn't work.

htahth says
1 htahth

Jan 17th, 2012 0 people agree 2 people don't

Good mod, but it's a bit too short. I played it on Extreme difficulty and I finished it in an hour or so, really, I found it extremely easy lol. Hopefully you'll add more stuff to this mod in the future, 'cause WW1 is a nice setting.

gamefreak42 says
8 gamefreak42

Jul 11th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

ww1 in wolfenstien 3D:check

Community Rating

Average

8.6

32 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.