The year is 2531. In the year 2531, during the infancy of the Human-Covenant war, human scientists stumbled upon a new world. Named "Lumoria", the planet was laden with both flora and fauna as alien as anyone had ever seen before. Nestled amongst the planet's varying terrain lie architecture left behind by a once seemingly all-powerful race known as the Forerunners. But what began as a scientist's greatest dream of study and discovery quickly turned into destruction and terror when the Covenant found the planet as well. When the Covenant attacked the human research vessel, the scientists had no chance. Their final hopes lay in a beacon dropped in desperation. A beacon found by you. Arriving at the planet aboard the small, stealthy UNSC Frigate Endless Horizon, your mission is to defeat the Covenant, discover the mysteries behind this new world, and give humanity their hope back. Welcome to Lumoria.

Review RSS Feed roosterMAP says
8 roosterMAP

Nov 26th, 2010 6 people agree 0 people don't

Just finished playing it twice. Lemme say right of the bat, this is the best sp mod for halo that has ever been made. The gameplay is near perfect, and the landscape always presents you with interesting opportunities to take out enemies. The additions are flora and fauna was very impressive and added much more to the halo color pallet (green and silver).

Even with the unpolished animations and unconvincing voice work, I would give this mod a 9/10.

However, I cant look past a few major design flaws. Even though I supported the decision of using the original tag set, I must say now that it was a mistake. Even if the mod came out more "true to its roots," it also looked like the developers were afraid to take any risks or were just plane lazy. There should have been one or two (no more than two) new and creative weapons we haven't seen before. Interesting weapons is one of the things the halo franchise is built on.
As for the current default weapons, why not use community made HQ remakes of them? The CMT AR and SMG is gorgeous, but pple refuse to use it because they're afraid of being called rippers. I personally feel that the CMT ma5k would have been a great addition to the lumorial arsenal. (http://hce.halomaps.org/index.cfm?fid=3972) The developers should only be concerned with making the best possible experienced, not how they think the public will see them before anything is released.

Liked:
[list]
[*] Forreruner architecture was impeccable[/*]
[*] Flora and fauna was a very smart and rewarding addition [/*]
[*] Enemy placement and battles were invigorating and flawlessly executed [/*]
[*] No lag or game breaking bugs for me[/*]
[*] Addition of bug enemy [/*]
[*] Amazing vista's[/*]
[/list]

Disliked:
[list]
[*] awkward ending cinematic (it should say, "end of part I" or something) [/*]
[*] lack of new weapons or polish on old weapons [/*]
[/list]

With all of the above considered, I give Project Lumoria a final score of 8/10. PLAY IT!!!

CustomMapTeam says
9 CustomMapTeam

Nov 29th, 2010 2 people agree 0 people don't

Nothing revolutionary, just one of the only well put together single player maps for the game. I really enjoyed playing the mod and definately recommend it to anyone who owns halo pc.

brolee says
9 brolee

Nov 8th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The first Halo was a great game, and this gritty fan based adult mod just made it even better.

lostguru says
9 lostguru

Dec 13th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I have to say that this was a VERY entertaining mod to play. The new environments were breathtaking, and the skybox blew me away. For the most part, the map flowed well from one skirmish to the next (adding a few of those light-orb things would instantly fix that problem), and the rocket warthog was a nice touch (and led to some hilarity while we were driving around scenery). And I loved how you guys hid some sleeping grunts and a fuel rod gun in one of the side passages past the light bridge; it really rewards the people who love to explore (like me =D ). It was also nice to see how well the fuel rod gun would have done against Covenant had we gotten to use it in Halo CE.

Like the others said, I was a bit put off by how there weren't too many new things to play around with. Though that isn't to say that there wasn't ANYTHING new; the ODST models were gorgeous and must have taken weeks to make. But while the final elite boss's shield was pretty, taking him out didn't seem to be as hard as I expected. Also, rather than flutter around like hornets, the drones (I think they were) seemed to just glide down towards me in that chasm with the hunters, making them rather easy to pick off. It was a good decision though to prevent players from staying in the rocket warthog and entering that new red vehicle near the entrance to the structure (I forgot its name), otherwise the rest of the mission would have been a cakewalk.

To sum it up, this mod exceeded my expectations for a first mission. If a second mission does come out, I'll be waiting for it! Perhaps you can add an option to select difficulty too?

Eliteslasher666 says
10 Eliteslasher666

Nov 26th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Has some small errors in cinematics, but so much effort was put into this map that I could never hold that against it. Such an amazing, fun map

MatthewDratt says
9 MatthewDratt

Nov 26th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Good gameplay, environment, ect. Buggy Cinematics

SJthegamer says
10 SJthegamer

Apr 26th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Up to this point, I played Halo on PC for a short time when I was over at a friend's house and never really looked back on it. I wanted to get it, but never had any intention on doing so. Then, I saw Project Lumoria and decided to buy a copy, download Halo: Custom Edition and play Lumoria; I was one to generally enjoy Halo single player campaigns (With exceptions for Halo 3 and ODST, those were not very good.) and when I installed this, I was truly blown away.

The levels in this mod were absolutely incredible, they were well made, well thought out and they all had their awesome and spectacular moments. The atmostphere they put into each level was something to really take note of since it really leaves some impact for the player and brings back the old Halo feeling of being in a mysterious place.

The gameplay was something that I was completely thrown off by. Not only does this mod create some awesome fire fights, but there are some interesting enemy additions from other games put in here. Not to mention they fixed the Hunters dying from one shot from the pistol or sniper, so now they present an actual challenge!

The music that plays in two certain battles are absolutely awesome and are pretty close to some of my favorite battles in FPS games now. Also, there are bosses which are absolutely awesome to duke it out with! The final one in particular is probably one of my favorite final bosses ever, it was absolutely unfriggin' believable!

The Music that the mod includes are tracks from Halo 1 and 2, and they play at very fitting areas. Its like a dream come true for this mod in my eyes. Also to bring up the story, it was actually good! At first I was expecting a basic story with mediocre cutscenes and voice acting, but it all went past my expectations very quickly as I played the mod.

Overall, if you own Halo: CE on PC and you want some more single player carnage, you came to the right place. Give Lumoria a chance, it was incredible from start to finish!

Thaiauxn says
10 Thaiauxn

Oct 17th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

The entire campaign was amazing. It's in my top 10 mods list.

HTRK74JR says
10 HTRK74JR

Oct 16th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod has everything, new characters, voice acting, vehicles, excellent ai, it has drones from halo 2, its mazing how well this was built. The final battles are massive, although it feels a bit rushed and couldve been as epic as the first few final battles in earlier parts of missions.

Statyk says
10 Statyk

Oct 11th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

When I first saw Project Lumoria on the homepage articles list, I thought "Wow, a Halo: CE mod? I wonder what makes this one so special" and checked it out. A whole campaign? New content? This sounds too good to be true.

But it wasn't. Playing through this, I felt Halo all over again. It feels good. Really good. 2.5 years in the making and it came out deserving more than it got. New content, custom animations, an original story, this is a Halo: Custom Edition mod like you've never seen before. I vouch for this because I did not have Custom Edition installed before this mod because I was getting tired of the mediocre multiplayer maps.

But this is unlike any of them. Had it not been for the graphics, I would believe it was another Halo game.

If you're thinking whether or not to play this. Play it. It's worth it, believe me.

Thank you again TM Mapping Team, you guys made me feel like I was playing Halo all over again. I wish you the best in the future, really. You all deserve it. I mean it when I say that the wait would have been SO worth it. But I was only here for a week. Haha!

Good luck to all of you, and thank you again. =]

Community Rating

Average

9.2

74 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.