The year is 2531. In the year 2531, during the infancy of the Human-Covenant war, human scientists stumbled upon a new world. Named "Lumoria", the planet was laden with both flora and fauna as alien as anyone had ever seen before. Nestled amongst the planet's varying terrain lie architecture left behind by a once seemingly all-powerful race known as the Forerunners. But what began as a scientist's greatest dream of study and discovery quickly turned into destruction and terror when the Covenant found the planet as well. When the Covenant attacked the human research vessel, the scientists had no chance. Their final hopes lay in a beacon dropped in desperation. A beacon found by you. Arriving at the planet aboard the small, stealthy UNSC Frigate Endless Horizon, your mission is to defeat the Covenant, discover the mysteries behind this new world, and give humanity their hope back. Welcome to Lumoria.

RSS feed roosterMAP says
8 roosterMAP

Nov 26th, 2010 6 people agree 1 person doesn't

Just finished playing it twice. Lemme say right of the bat, this is the best sp mod for halo that has ever been made. The gameplay is near perfect, and the landscape always presents you with interesting opportunities to take out enemies. The additions are flora and fauna was very impressive and added much more to the halo color pallet (green and silver).

Even with the unpolished animations and unconvincing voice work, I would give this mod a 9/10.

However, I cant look past a few major design flaws. Even though I supported the decision of using the original tag set, I must say now that it was a mistake. Even if the mod came out more "true to its roots," it also looked like the developers were afraid to take any risks or were just plane lazy. There should have been one or two (no more than two) new and creative weapons we haven't seen before. Interesting weapons is one of the things the halo franchise is built on.
As for the current default weapons, why not use community made HQ remakes of them? The CMT AR and SMG is gorgeous, but pple refuse to use it because they're afraid of being called rippers. I personally feel that the CMT ma5k would have been a great addition to the lumorial arsenal. ( The developers should only be concerned with making the best possible experienced, not how they think the public will see them before anything is released.

[*] Forreruner architecture was impeccable[/*]
[*] Flora and fauna was a very smart and rewarding addition [/*]
[*] Enemy placement and battles were invigorating and flawlessly executed [/*]
[*] No lag or game breaking bugs for me[/*]
[*] Addition of bug enemy [/*]
[*] Amazing vista's[/*]

[*] awkward ending cinematic (it should say, "end of part I" or something) [/*]
[*] lack of new weapons or polish on old weapons [/*]

With all of the above considered, I give Project Lumoria a final score of 8/10. PLAY IT!!!

CustomMapTeam says
9 CustomMapTeam

Nov 29th, 2010 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Nothing revolutionary, just one of the only well put together single player maps for the game. I really enjoyed playing the mod and definately recommend it to anyone who owns halo pc.

Nautagrim says
10 Nautagrim

Aug 17th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Very well put together with creative level design and a constant flow of endless action.

SJthegamer says
10 SJthegamer

Apr 26th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

Up to this point, I played Halo on PC for a short time when I was over at a friend's house and never really looked back on it. I wanted to get it, but never had any intention on doing so. Then, I saw Project Lumoria and decided to buy a copy, download Halo: Custom Edition and play Lumoria; I was one to generally enjoy Halo single player campaigns (With exceptions for Halo 3 and ODST, those were not very good.) and when I installed this, I was truly blown away.

The levels in this mod were absolutely incredible, they were well made, well thought out and they all had their awesome and spectacular moments. The atmostphere they put into each level was something to really take note of since it really leaves some impact for the player and brings back the old Halo feeling of being in a mysterious place.

The gameplay was something that I was completely thrown off by. Not only does this mod create some awesome fire fights, but there are some interesting enemy additions from other games put in here. Not to mention they fixed the Hunters dying from one shot from the pistol or sniper, so now they present an actual challenge!

The music that plays in two certain battles are absolutely awesome and are pretty close to some of my favorite battles in FPS games now. Also, there are bosses which are absolutely awesome to duke it out with! The final one in particular is probably one of my favorite final bosses ever, it was absolutely unfriggin' believable!

The Music that the mod includes are tracks from Halo 1 and 2, and they play at very fitting areas. Its like a dream come true for this mod in my eyes. Also to bring up the story, it was actually good! At first I was expecting a basic story with mediocre cutscenes and voice acting, but it all went past my expectations very quickly as I played the mod.

Overall, if you own Halo: CE on PC and you want some more single player carnage, you came to the right place. Give Lumoria a chance, it was incredible from start to finish!

Opinionator says
9 Opinionator

Nov 8th, 2012 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

The first Halo was a great game, and this gritty fan based adult mod just made it even better.

Thaiauxn says
10 Thaiauxn

Oct 17th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

The entire campaign was amazing. It's in my top 10 mods list.

HTRK74JR says

Oct 16th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

This mod has everything, new characters, voice acting, vehicles, excellent ai, it has drones from halo 2, its mazing how well this was built. The final battles are massive, although it feels a bit rushed and couldve been as epic as the first few final battles in earlier parts of missions.

Statyk says
10 Statyk

Oct 11th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

When I first saw Project Lumoria on the homepage articles list, I thought "Wow, a Halo: CE mod? I wonder what makes this one so special" and checked it out. A whole campaign? New content? This sounds too good to be true.

But it wasn't. Playing through this, I felt Halo all over again. It feels good. Really good. 2.5 years in the making and it came out deserving more than it got. New content, custom animations, an original story, this is a Halo: Custom Edition mod like you've never seen before. I vouch for this because I did not have Custom Edition installed before this mod because I was getting tired of the mediocre multiplayer maps.

But this is unlike any of them. Had it not been for the graphics, I would believe it was another Halo game.

If you're thinking whether or not to play this. Play it. It's worth it, believe me.

Thank you again TM Mapping Team, you guys made me feel like I was playing Halo all over again. I wish you the best in the future, really. You all deserve it. I mean it when I say that the wait would have been SO worth it. But I was only here for a week. Haha!

Good luck to all of you, and thank you again. =]

LoneWarrior says
10 LoneWarrior

Oct 8th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Where to start...

I think it's difficult to summarise or talk about just how I feel and think about Lumoria. This project is easily 10/10 in my book. It shows what happens when talented developers come together to produce an amazing Single-Player experience, that quite frankly, blows anything else out of the water that anyone has already done in Custom Edition.

For me, personally, Lumoria has served as an insane amount of inspiration on my own project. It reminded me time and time again what can be achieved through hard work and dedication.

Now, onto the details:

Level Design:

Fantastic stuff. The way each level and encounter is designed always allows the Player to approach from multiple angles, allowing him to tackle the encounter the way he chooses. It's amazingly well put together. You can see how the developers wanted this area to play, and the hard work they put into each and every encounter.


I think the Forerunner architecture in EP1/2 is pretty much spot on what Forerunner should look like. It looks Forerunner, but more importantly it feels Forerunner. The exterior environments look awesome. It contains those awe-inspiring areas that the original Halo, and following Halo games encapsulated. The feeling that you're just a tiny speck in this planet is so very well captured.


I found the story in EP1 pretty interesting, but let down in some areas. This is where EP2 picks it up. The addition of more interesting characters and elaborated story really makes things interesting, it makes the story feel alive, like there's more going on. Although I do feel that a certain baddie could have been elaborated on, it was still a very interesting story. I was disappointed to see it end, not because I didn't enjoy it, but because I knew this was the end of the level.

Overall, I really enjoyed both EP1 and 2, and Lumoria as a whole serves as huge inspiration for myself, and no doubt, many many others.


julioanai says
10 julioanai

Oct 8th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

nice work

Community Rating



75 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.