In hope of defending your settlements against threats, both human and alien, you have enlisted as a pilot with the Freerunners. Zigfrak is a space-based action RPG, featuring missions, exploration, and crafting. With an emphasis on loot and over-the-top items, it's not a traditional space sim. Enemy ships explode like loot piƱatas, spewing forth useful pickups. The free demo includes several hours of gameplay, including challenging encounters and lots of opportunity for freestyle play.

Review RSS Feed .JAS says
9 .JAS

Nov 14th, 2012 4 people agree 0 people don't

As a huge fan of RPG games like KOTOR and WoW, while also a huge fan of free-form space games like EVE, X3, and Evochron Mercenary, this game was made for me.

The combat is surprisingly exciting, with a soundtrack that fits the bill and even responds to things in the game. (Take a big hit, and the music filters to a lower volume for a second as if you went deaf from an explosion).

The RPG elements are wonderfully integrated and anyone experienced with loot based RPG's will be comfortable, after a few adjustments. You can loot dead enemies and there's also random materials to be found in space a la mining and herbalism from WoW. Enemies can have booby trapped loot, which you must disarm (Not sure what happens when you don't).

There is a main storyline as well as side quests you can partake in. These missions have astounding variety and all are quite entertaining. The developer even put in small details like making your screen go static when you activate a jamming beacon. Quests reward you with credits, items and gear, sometimes even allowing you to hop into a totally new ship.

The game also has quite a sense of humor, as you'll find when you read some of the item descriptions and even observing the various "trash" loots in space. I've come across animal crackers and silly hats, and there's some funny stuff in the item descriptions that I don't want to give away :P

All in all I give it a 9/10, and any fans of either space games or RPG's will find something to enjoy and its worth the 5 minute download to check out.

kujahn says
10 kujahn

Jan 23rd, 2012 4 people agree 0 people don't

Great new approach to space shooters. Open world (ilovit), crafting, docking spacecrafts and looting. Boobietrapped loot. This programmer makes you crave for more! Keep on the great work. Cudos!

MikeFrett says
10 MikeFrett

Jul 9th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

When I used Windows I use to play WoW a lot, after switching to Linux I couldn't anymore; no sweat. Zigfrak reminds me so much of WoW, except with a Space theme. It's the best Space Game that I have ever played and recommend it to everybody.

If you read this Mr. Developer, you would quite possibly make me the happiest person on Earth if you ever found the time to make a Zigfrak 2. Thank you so much!.

samjaza says
9 samjaza

Jan 17th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

A very good start, feels like a mix of a simplified eve online and freelancer.

dowsin says
9 dowsin

May 24th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Why are you reading this and not playing this?

This is an awesome game from a snuggly dev (no
hands-on experience with Ms. Snuggly Dev but
not worried a bit there).

The controls are easy-as-pie; so easy you wonder
how similar games did it before.

Looking forward to things to come!

Also, if you're not playing it yet, go upvote on
Steam Greenlight so this game gets even a tiny bit
of the exposure it deserves.

LostKingpin says
8 LostKingpin

Mar 21st, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

So much potential with this title. If you liked Freelancer, like I did/do, then this is right up your alley. Of course attention should be paid to the mechanics, they are looking/feeling good so far and i am looking forward to updates. But the thing that stuck out in my mind was the overall blandness of the UI. I would love to see some more time spent on overhauling how information is conveyed to the player. Sound effects for confirm clicks, banners/effects for special info like quest complete (etc.), and a nicer more user friendly way to show what loot is near and what loot was just picked up. Would love to see a full custom UI (somewhat like 'The Old Republic') if that is in the realm of possibility. Also the ship does not have the right feel when it is moving forward. Not sure what is missing. Bigger flares, oomphier sound effects, or a nice rumble sound. Just offering criticism because I want to see this title do well. I was a huge fan of Freelancer and have been looking for a game that captures that feel. I think this could be it. For just a one man dev team, this game is looking very kick *** and I will be telling everyone in my little corner of the world about it.

swordslasher21 says
9 swordslasher21

Jan 16th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

this game seems like a good one hope you have fun finnishing it lol!

shaulhadar says
8 shaulhadar

Dec 5th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

nice :)

Tokisha says
10 Tokisha

Dec 15th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

love the action and to say it's funny is an understatment, dancing space station rofl

eagleclaw6 says
10 eagleclaw6

Oct 15th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This game blew away my expectations, turning out to be very well polished space shooter/collector/rpg.

Community Rating

Average

8.9

59 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.