Xonotic is a free (GPL), fast-paced first-person shooter that works on Windows, OS X and Linux. Xonotic is a direct successor of the Nexuiz Project. The project is geared towards providing addictive arena shooter gameplay which is all spawned and driven by the community itself. Xonotic is a direct successor of the Nexuiz project with years of development between them, and it aims to become the best possible open-source FPS (first-person-shooter) of its kind. New trailer coming soon Please post all support issues in the forums for the game.

Review RSS Feed morfar says
10 morfar

Sep 11th, 2011 15 people agree 0 people don't

The best free game out there.
Looks awesome and gameplay is awesome.

We need more players on the servers!

Krod says
10 Krod

Nov 30th, 2011 7 people agree 0 people don't

Very beautiful fps, dynamic, fast and hard. Creatives single player game modes.

n3wu53r says
10 n3wu53r

Oct 21st, 2011 8 people agree 1 person doesn't

Amazing free game.
Better then Nexuiz (which this game is based on).
Not a lot of players on servers but fi you on their forums there is a thread about pickup matches that happen on IRC.

kllleE says
10 kllleE

Dec 5th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

You must at least try this game before you die if you're a quake-guy, its soooo sweet.

hero1900 says
10 hero1900

Oct 18th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

ITS A VERY GOOD GAME
I COULDNT STOP PLAYING IT

MrCal3x says
10 MrCal3x

Sep 12th, 2011 6 people agree 2 people don't

Best free FPS I have ever played!

foobar42 says
10 foobar42

Oct 18th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

I loved nexuiz for years, xonotic even has raised the level!

jantec says
9 jantec

Apr 1st, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

This game is absolutely brilliant! Quake remade for the 21st century. THANK YOU <3 I have been missing such games for such a long time. Anyways thanks for a really great experience. You guys are awesome and i appreciate the work you put into such a great game for free. Keep up the good work and perhaps tone down the rail gun. Cause dat' **** be dangerous around dem children'!

Now let me tell you a story:
It was a beautiful march morning in andromeda. We were just strolling along in the aurora. Suddenly my, assistant, rushes into the main bridge cabinet. I turn in shock as i was surprised by the sudden appearance of said person. He reports to me that the main engine had failed and we were on a dead straight course towards earth. I yell for my top 3 engineers and ask them to follow me to the engine compartment to examine the problem. As we enter the whole compartment is filled with thick black smoke. All four of us drop to our knees and hands as we work our way towards the main engine. The engineer are discussing what could cause this smoke. I hear one of them mention a cut fuel cable and i shiver in despair. As we near the engine i can see oil flooding to my knuckles. The engineers instantly tries to clear away the worst smoke with a fan as they open up the main engine hatch. They agree on a cut fuel cable and a damaged oil container. They reach for tools and spareparts and the problem is fixed within moments of discovery. I take a deep breath of relief and head back to the main bridge cabinet and we continue our journey.

That was my story. Now here's my perception of the gameplay:

Imagine you are being chased by 4 super mutated super squirrels that wants to eat your soul. You have to escape driving motorcycle on a segway on a rusty skateboard with a megaman shooting evil bad flyers on your shoulders. While you do this you have 4 mates sorrounding you in a all out drinking contest. Meanwhile you're also risking limbs in a 5 finger roulette. That's what it's like.

frostwyrm333 says
9 frostwyrm333

Sep 13th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

I believe that it is one of the most funny and original games out there. To most of people it will look as a cheap retextured quake 3 but the gameplay is IMO much more fun and diverse. Gameplay is FAST, you can use various tricks - bunnyhopping, jumping etc that give you incredible speed and freedom, you can practically fly around (if you know how). Speed gives you advantage and you are harder to hit, if you move slowly you lose or you are dead.

It is a great games that almost nobody never heard about which is sad, I really recommend you try it, its hard to understand how the movement "really" works but after that it is incredible fun.

Seonyln says
10 Seonyln

Oct 31st, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Too much fun in only one game ^^

Community Rating

Average

9.2

519 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.