Following Trine, the artifact of souls calls the heroes once again.

Review RSS Feed Gaberman says
10 Gaberman

Dec 13th, 2011 5 people agree 0 people don't

The original was a gem, and the sequel is even better!

NormanPL says
10 NormanPL

Nov 4th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Beautiful graphics and good gameplay.

Corben says
10 Corben

Jul 31st, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

A great platforming game. Physical puzzles are solved best, when playing 3 person coop. Even though the movement is 2D, the game has nice 3D animated backgrounds. I had a great time playing this game with two friends!
Don't miss the Linux version!

almightybeeij says
10 almightybeeij

Jul 22nd, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best native Linux games out there!

Lemmywinks says
9 Lemmywinks

Apr 18th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

The original Trine was like an extremely pretty tech demo with some great, but under utilized ideas. It was fun to play around with, but combat was ridiculously easy, and almost every puzzle could be "broken" by flying accross the level using the Wizard's levitation spell.

Trine 2 is basically Trine 1 with better graphics, less fluff, and superior level design. The puzzles are much more rewarding than in its predecessor (levitation bug is fixed), but combat is still a total joke (still quite fun though, just no challenge). Frozenbyte has thankfully gotten rid of the trinket system, and replaced it with collectible poems and paintings. Aside from that, the game largely plays the same as the first.

I can't help but feel that Trine 2 is a bit of a missed opportunity, being slightly shorter than the first, and not really fixing the easy combat. Despite these criticisms, I still give it a 9/10 because there simply isn't any other game that can quite match the Trine experience, flaws and all. Put simply, if you think you will like Trine 2, you probably will, and the $15 is a low barrier for a great gameplay experience.

(Also there is an expansion coming soon, so there is a good incentive to start playing the original campaign now)

LordIheanacho says
10 LordIheanacho

Dec 10th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Sequels that are better than their originals come in VERY RARE packages, and this one in particular is one great example. The original was the best I have played, but this sequel have promised even better.

MajorBloodBath says
10 MajorBloodBath

Sep 7th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This game was really Awesome! The graphics were mesmerizing. Although I didn't get much sleep while playing, It really sucked me in. Nice to have such a cool game running on Debian Linux.

Kahas says
10 Kahas

Jul 19th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A good game, poetic and beautiful, with conscientious developers.

matthewtaraschke says
10 matthewtaraschke

Jul 12th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I'm playing this using Fedora 17 and the Gnome 3.4 desktop, I have to say I'm extremely impressed! The Desura client makes installation easy and the game works flawlessly. You can easily connect to Windows and Mac players using Steam with the Linux version. The game itself is beautiful and provides a wonderful mix of classic gaming elements. Multiplayer gameplay is really where this game shines. Solo the game very fun, but with 1 or 2 friends? It turns into a masterpiece. The 3 different classes work well together and the puzzles and challanges presented can be quite rewarding. The story is entertaining, the music high quality, and the sound effects are top notch. I can also vouch for Frozenbyte's e-mail support, when I had a problem they were extremely helpful. This is a fantastic game for Linux and one of the best indie games I've played on any platform, so it's hard not to give it 10 out of 10. Seriously, a true gem in any Linux gamer's library.

textpainter says
10 textpainter

Jul 6th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Graphics and puzzels are even better than the first.

Community Rating

Average

9.6

136 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.