To the Moon is an RPG/adventure game about two doctors traversing backwards through a dying man's memories, in order to fulfill his last wish of going to the moon. *** Dr. Rosalene and Dr. Watts have rather peculiar jobs: They give people another chance to live, all in their head. But due to the severity of the operation, the new life becomes the last thing the patients remember before drawing their last breath. This story follows their attempt to fulfill the dream of an elderly man, Johnny. With each step back in time, a new fragment of Johnny's past is revealed. As the two doctors piece together the puzzled events that spanned a life time, they seek to find out just why the frail old man chose his dying wish to be what it is. And Johnny's last wish is, of course... to go to the moon. [The game is an unconventional RPG/adventure game hybrid with no battles/grinding. Game-play consists of acquiring mementos to travel through memories via various means.]

Review RSS Feed Henley says
9 Henley

Nov 1st, 2011 9 people agree 0 people don't

Fantastic title, both the music and story are first class. Would recommend To the Moon to everyone with an ounce of humanity!

9mmtylenol says
10 9mmtylenol

Nov 2nd, 2011 6 people agree 0 people don't

A tale that can only be described as, "heart-warming" if you are a one word person, but others would have to use more than a thousand to elaborate on its divine play structure . This pixel art RPG is one of the few with a coherent story line and it's funny gestures as not to bore you with game progress. It's controls are the same as "The Mirror Lied", which was sampler of this game before it's release, and has the same game mechanics as well. The game play is straight forward but the curve this game is set on is to tell a story with interactivity. At several points I cried and was asked if I was okay. If you like well thought out story lines, emphasis on the "well", then this is worth the investment.

PoliceKING says
10 PoliceKING

Nov 1st, 2011 5 people agree 0 people don't

Incredibly deep and moving story. Kept me captivated and wanting more for the entire journey. Personally, I felt connected to the characters on more than one level. Very Creative.

Taffer says
10 Taffer

Nov 4th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

Countdown to tears: completed.

txsling says
10 txsling

Nov 5th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

From Freebirdgames.com

Finished To The Moon in one sitting just now. It's now 4 am, but I wanted to post this before getting much-needed sleep.

To The Moon was probably one of the best stories I've experienced, up there with others I'd consider classics such as Deus Ex and the Elder Scrolls. It played more like an interactive story than an actual game; but that's not a bad thing, just an observation, and I expected that from playing Quintessence anyway.

Some thoughts:
* The music is great, especially the main theme and 'For River' (are they the same?) Laura Shigihara's vocals gave me a few chills.
* The writing is good, and I did not notice any typos to correct (or if I did, I forgot about them). So well done.
* The humour worked for me and I found myself LOLing several times over the course of the game.

10/10 - Highly recommended.

Boriky says
10 Boriky

Nov 4th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best gaming experiences I've ever had.

svzurich says
10 svzurich

Nov 4th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Wonderful story, and a real tearjerker. Highly recommended by me.

judedeath says
10 judedeath

Nov 3rd, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Just finished this and wow... WOW I am amazed by this, I don't know if I want another game which this is totally open for or not, as it will be completely different characters. I think I'm going to play through it again soon just to catch all the little stuff you find out about.

And thoughts after finishing the game, it took me about 4 hours to finish and I feel it was totally worth the asking price others may not agree, with the 1 hour demo that leaves you with only 3 hours first playthrough for the not even 12.50 on desura, but I found the 3rd act to be great and one of the highlights of the game, and with the way it's set up you're going backwards through his memories so you'll see stuff that may not make sense then but will later on and that's always good for a second playthrough. They call it an Adventure game but it's not a traditional one with a ton of puzzles and inventory and the like, if you ever played Puzzle Agent it's kind of like that, with even less puzzles, it's more of what I would call an interactive story. It being so out of the box makes it hard for me to say if you like whatever game pick this up, but I can say there is a one hour demo that you can try, it looks like when you buy the game you just enter a code so you keep that progress. The music is fantastic, the story pulls you in, and it's just a great experience I really recommend you check this out even if it's only trying the demo to find out you don't like it if after the hour or so you don't feel into the story or the like then don't buy it as this is a very story driven game, but I do recommend trying it, and also checking out the soundtrack which is fantastic and gives parts of it's profits to charity.

Sorry for the rambling and all but I just finished the game and am not proofreading right now.

TL:DR Fantastic Experience, Not for Everyone, Try the Demo, Buy the Soundtrack

Eliza21 says
10 Eliza21

Aug 26th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This game is just... positively amazing. It captured me from the beginning and I couldn't stop playing. I even cried! I don't usually cry for video games. For a second I thought it would have a bad ending-but of course it didn't. It's just so moving and well thought-out, and you could tell how much detail they put into it. I dare you not to shed a tear while playing this wonderful game.

10/10

AyCorkscrew says
10 AyCorkscrew

Aug 26th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

One of the best storylines I've ever played. Amazing music as well. Great job ^_^

Community Rating

Average

9.4

253 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.