In Super Panda Adventures, you play as the brave panda-knight Fu, who is about to finish his training to become the new guardian of the Princess. At the same day of the big celebration party, some uninvited Robots show up to conquer the planet and take the Princess away in their Space Ships! The game plays like a modern platformer combined with a new combo fighting style and lots of adventure elements. You can fight with a sword, throw shuriken or use magic abilities and combine these attacks to get combo points that increase your experience. Level up your character and unlock new abilities and upgrades! Explore two different worlds in a non-linear way to find lots of hidden items. Talk to many npcs, solve quests, find magic items and rescue the Princess!

Review RSS Feed Azrael360 says
9 Azrael360

May 25th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

This game is fantastic, it's exactly what I was expecting from it. It reminds me of the good old Super Mario 2-D games, but with modern gameplay.

LOL, today I was just testing it after the installation, but I kept playing it for the whole afternoon (:P)

Great game! ^_^

By the way, the game also supports gamepads! ^_^

ACWraith says
9 ACWraith

Sep 5th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Super Panda Adventures is one of my favorite games of 2013. The combat is varied without becoming overly complex (and the native support feels quite good on my Xbox 360 controller). There's plenty to collect and feel empowered. The story is light and goofy.

Modern metroidvania standards apply and then some. Those with an aversion to open worlds should be happy that the quests provide decent direction. Meanwhile, backtracking is handled well with the ability to choose alternative areas until new mobility upgrades are found. There's generally something new to find once upgraded even if it's only a stash of experience pickups. Much of the content is optional.

One cardinal sin involves how checkpoints are placed before the scripted dialogue of boss battles. The text can be sped up with button mashing, but it still increases frustration after the umpteenth death. Autosaving would not be desired due to the game's single save slot per session. However, the ability to immediately get back into the fight would have been nice.

Towards the end, I would have also appreciated knowing the maximum level was locked at 50 and having a list of upgrade orbs I'd collected. However, that's mostly the completionist in me talking as I mourn how video has replaced text walkthroughs.

OleDad says
10 OleDad

Sep 1st, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I got this game as an extra in a bundle and had no clue what it was. I had never heard of it before. I thought, What the hell, I'll give it a try. And I was blown away. I grew up in the 16 bit era and I am a sucker for retro graphic and gameplay. But I am also a huge Castlevania and Metroid fan. So when this company combined these things I love, and did a fine job in the process, I am very glad that I have this game in my library.

Windybeard says
10 Windybeard

Jan 8th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

What a fantastic game!!

From the start you get the feeling that this is gonna be awesome and it does not disappoint.
The gameplay is smooth as hell, the combat is a pleasure and gets better as you unlock an assortment of weapons and magic. Couple the amazing gameplay with the incredibly well coloured and stylised graphics and you have got a fantastic game.
The metroidvanianess is awesome, every turn has an area you just cant reach yet but god do you want to know whats over that ledge! Completing the fun quests leads you to new skills and abilities to help you progress so you always know where to go next.

The developer has clearly slaved lovingly over this title and it shows in every way, from the tiny details to the large fun filled world. Amazing work!

I recomend this game to anyone with a love for games, actually make that a love for great games!

Valerie_Valens says
9 Valerie_Valens

Dec 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Don't let the graphics deceive you, it is an intentional design decision that makes the game look like a children's crayon colouring book.

Beneath the surface is a surprisingly deep action platformer adventure game with lots to explore. It has a level-up system that lets you customize your hero as the game progresses. You can power up in any combination of defensive abilities, magical abilities and offensive abilities, encouraging multiple playthroughs and playstyles.

The only issue I have with this game that I have is that I wished that the second character that was cut out was actually unlockable, it would have added even more replay value. It's really not too late to release a patch to add her in IMO. Go buy this game!

Temenoil says
10 Temenoil

Nov 18th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good game

Orkun67 says
8 Orkun67

Sep 14th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

=PPPPPPPPPPPPP

jaguarterminator says
10 jaguarterminator

Sep 10th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

So I tend to only review games that are really, truly great, and this is one of them. I don't normally play platformers - I have never played Mario or Zelda and prefer RPGs and FPSs. And yet, this game was great! It was hard but not too hard, and I really enjoyed the RPG elements. I even enjoyed the story, and I liked the graphical style. Great game from a great indie developer! If this game looks remotely interesting to you, you should pick it up.

fishmarketVendor says
10 fishmarketVendor

Sep 1st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This may seem like a simple platformer with mediocre graphics, but this is one of the few games that I am compelled to continue playing to the end. It feels like a lot of effort was put into creating the stages. Wish it were longer so I could have even more fun exploring, leveling up, and backtracking to unlock new areas and secrets with new abilities. Looking forward to other games like this or a sequel. The soundtrack is really nice too. Good job.

Andrea_1988 says
9 Andrea_1988

Jul 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

The game is very cool, and it deserves a 9 out of 10. It is a mixture of RPG and platform, having a gameplay similar to the old Super Metroid's one. However, I think that 8€ is a bit too much.

Community Rating

Average

8.7

43 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.