EXPERIENCE THE REALTIME INTERACTION IN A MOVIE At its core Stay Dead is a 'round beat'em up' like Street Fighter with elements taken from rhythm games. The brand new idea behind Stay Dead is to have a real time interaction inside a cinematographic scene, using the main character as if he would be a videogame character. Stay Dead is the union of movies and videogames. Finally, the sound and graphic quality of a movie joins effectively the interaction of a next generation videogame, creating a unique and involving game experience. LIBERTY OF ACTION In Stay dead, even if the graphic is entirely shot in real life, you can move your character and you can perform more than 150 different techniques distributed in 5 stages. Use all the classic moves of the fighting games, just watch the result of your stunts with a never seen before spectacularity that just a real life shot with a cinematographic direction can provide.

Review RSS Feed FrankFatality says
7 FrankFatality

Jul 10th, 2012 7 people agree 2 people don't

At first I thought this game was going to have a odd play style and take a while to get use to playing, but it seems to all fit together quite well in this unique fighter.

Ysengrim says
8 Ysengrim

Jul 27th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

I can understand why this is poorly rated. It's short and simple, and people may not feel like the game is worth the cost. Yet I still found it enjoyable.

At its core, Stay Dead is a rhythm game. If you play it for awhile, you can really get into how fights flow. You'll notice how scenes change and be able to predict what button you'll need to press before it even comes up on screen.

I do admire what the developer is trying to go for - basically making a cinematic game that's as fun to watch as it is to play - but its hangups as a game diminish its effect. The plot is non-existent in the game appart from having to go from one fight to the next, and you have to look up their website or pay close attention to your opponent's names to get any idea of what's going on, and even then the plot is non-existant.

Really, the best I can say about this is that is tries something different. Yet those flaws still exist, regardless of intentions. I hope they continue to make games, and hope that with time and polish they'll be able to come out with something closer to what they're striving for.

The TL;DR of it is: if you like rhythm games, you might enjoy Stay Dead. Otherwise, you'll be turned off by the short game length (beat it in a single sitting), and non-existent plot.

eternalrainbow says
10 eternalrainbow

Aug 30th, 2012 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

The gameplay is really attractive, the idea of a live action game I've always liked. The fights are very well choreographed and finally you can see the moves you make, no stroboscopic effects and / or loud sounds. The sets of each battle are really well designed, each describes the adversary, reminding also a number of martial arts movies. The plot is simple, a fighter, in his journey he meets various opponents ready to challenge him and he will react to maintain this intact its honor. The ost in my opinion is well composed and sharpens the focus of each battle. The only negative notes are: excessive speed in the selection of shot (but this is a subjective observation) and the possibility of not being able to choose your opponents as protagonists, allowing them to change even if only on a visual level, the style of play.
In conclusion, I think it is a good hobby to do with friends or when you want to engage in speed and dexterity with the keyboard.

GrandBureaucrat says
9 GrandBureaucrat

Nov 2nd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I found the gameplay to be fun and enjoyable. A rhythm game that really tests your dexterity with the keyboard. That said, I was surprised by the complete lack of story, I mean it's an FMV game, a dead genre that I actually miss a lot, but there isn't a reason given as to why I'm beating up the Nazi, the hobo, etc. Even Samurai Showdown had 3 lines of engrish dialogue giving motivation before a fight.

The only other thing that I found disappointing was the bizarre censorship on the swastika and his hat emblem. It was pretty distracting, I'd either add a way to un-censor it in the options menu or, knowing it has to have an international audience (IE France, etc) have filmed it using the Bionic Commando symbol for the Nazi's the iron eagle.

In the end I give it a 9/10 because the game play is good, cinematography is well done and it feels good to support an often neglected genre of gaming.

MonkeyRoach says
9 MonkeyRoach

Sep 16th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Next generation FMV done right!
FMV games never truly took off because of there gimmicks instead of there actual gameplay but Stay Dead figured how the right formula.
The game is all FMV but its also timing based with different outcomes depending on your chosen attack patterns.The patterns and timing changes depending on your difficulty settings making it more challenging.
I only wish there was at least 2 more boss fights and a crazy story to go with it but overall I had a lot of fun with it.

ikaruga69 says
7 ikaruga69

Sep 11th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Nice game !

The fighting videos have an impressive quality, the gameplay is simple yet strategic. Can't wait for the 2nd one !

hitosu says
10 hitosu

Aug 31st, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This game is a brilliant piece of art. For everyone complaining it is not Mortal Kombat - stop it, it is not a classic fighting game genre, it's just sharing the same setting. This game is more like Guitar Hero meets Fight Club.
I love game's atmosphere: cinematics, music, characters (also I understand why they have to mask nazi symbols, but would love to have uncensored version).
Controls are simple yet challenging. And good tutorial gives you an easy start.
Cinematics looks great, I've also watched another person playing this game and it looks very smooth. I would say that this game is equally entertaining and for player and for watchers.
Each foe has unique visual style. Hope there will be more characters in the future, but existing ones are pretty replayable.
Definitely recommend to play it.

Keydric says
9 Keydric

Aug 7th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Interesting idea, mindless fun. Thanks for the game.

Fumble says
8 Fumble

Aug 6th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Surprisingly immersive, tense and difficult for a QTE/rythm gameplay. And fun overall.

dafne.betty says
10 dafne.betty

Jul 15th, 2012 4 people agree 3 people don't

I think this game mode is very interesting, if not unique. Certainly a very well-done evolution of its ancestors in the early '90s, in fact, the action flows well and has a cinematic feast for your imagination.

Community Rating

Average

6.8

89 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.