Star Ruler is a 4X/RTS Hybrid on a grand scale. Mod everything, design anything; play what you want, how you want, when you want.

Review RSS Feed Subject134127 says
9 Subject134127

Jan 3rd, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

Sorry, this is not an actual 10/10, but a 9/10, deduct that from the following review :P

Excellent game, though the battles tend to be extremely long (but that is just how these games are, and that's why there is my friend the "speed up" button).

I adore customizing, so the ability to blueprint your own ships was what made me buy this game. What i found extremely disappointing though is that the placement of items didn't seem to matter that much. all ships are the same dull model with maybe an extra small engine or some other small additions, but basically everything looks the same. I understand that making a new model for everything would be WAY too time consuming, but i think you can let the game model the units itself, ased on the placement of items, so if you put two giant engines in the sides of the ship, the game just adds 2 3D models of engines enlarged greatly to certain points of the basic hull model. that would already significantly add more diversity in ship looks. and there is so much difference in hitpoint between the light and heavy hulls, why is there so little difference in the "space" slots? 14 minimum and 16 max while the hitpoints are roughly 10x as much. i think that making the gaps a bit bigger would make it again more diverse and better.

xsteinerx says
10 xsteinerx

Nov 21st, 2010 3 people agree 0 people don't

Best space rts out there!

explorer13 says
10 explorer13

Jan 8th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

So far after getting it on Steam, I have put 257 hours into this game and am still counting, all the friends I have referred to it also love it. The only issues I have with Star Ruler is that there are only two ship sets that come with the game, but theres plenty of modders out there to add more! Which is why I give it a 10/10, you deserve it Blind Mind Studios, job excellently done!

KyleXreX says
9 KyleXreX

Jan 17th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

You are probably asking why 9/10 instead of 10/10
Well it has nothing to do with the game. I love every aspect of it.
but I just suck at this game.
Which makes me sad cause I try very hard.

Vercinger says
10 Vercinger

Apr 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Quite possibly the best space strategy game I've ever played. I could go on for a while about its solid 9/10 gameplay, but I'm going to just skip to what earns it that perfect score: the freedom.

Everything in the galaxy is destructible. And not in some special super-weapons only way - everything has an HP bar, even the stars. You can move planets between systems. You can build deep space asteroid mining and metal refining facilities of your own design. You can build things with all their systems attached to the outside of the hull. You can design the tiniest of probes and the most massive of orbital stations. There's no limit to the size of ships, so you can build one the size of a planet. Or a star. Or a galaxy. The game won't stop you. It doesn't want to stop you. It wants you to do whatever you want on a literally astronomical scale.

Need I say more?

henri.schoots says
10 henri.schoots

Feb 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

The gameplay is really deep and the story told by the simple graphics most of the times truely epic. You research your technology, colonizing planets and design your ships and stations to defend your galactic empire. Wars with thousands of ships, you might even be able to destroy whole stars at some time and yet in these massive battles it is still possible to pick a tiny little scout hit by enemy fire and follow how it's crew struggles to repair vital systems before their life support fails. Design mining vessels that harvest resources from asteroid belts and manufacture goods, even ships in deep space, self replicating ships, artificial planets and build them. It takes a little getting used to and sure it is not easy but if you really give it a chance, especially with one of the mods installed you will be richly rewarded!

I could rave on (and on) about star ruler, I hope the next game these guys bring out is deeper, with more options and deeper simulation.

Star ruler also comes with multiplayer which with the right friends...

ran88dom99 says
4 ran88dom99

Dec 5th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Horribly stupid and pointless micro in planet management. AI can't do it either. Not nearly as many winning ship builds as you would think.

Spinner says
7 Spinner

Apr 17th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

A little rough around the edges but very well suported by its developer and shows excelent promise.

Gamemaster_Fox says
10 Gamemaster_Fox

Apr 6th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

So, you may ask why Star Ruler is excelent? Well I tell you why. Star Ruler is an RTS based on Newtonian physics. Things in motion stay in motion and all that. It's pretty hard on the science fiction hardness scale.

So, why I recommend it, fun but long. Its for the patient type, as it takes a long while to do anything. But the end result is always a ball of fun as your foes die in a blast of plasma.

For RTS fans, I full hardy recommend it.

Did I mention that it also has a fanbase?

mouzed says
10 mouzed

Mar 4th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best 4X out there.

Community Rating

Average

9.1

91 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.