Spinning a new take on World War 2, Soldiers: Heroes of World War II pulls you out of the field and into the commander's head. Your group isn't as large as an army in Age of Empires, but the inclusion of vehicles pushes it out of the realm of squad warfare. Some squad based elements remain however, as you can take direct control of an individual soldier or vehicle and aim and move him directly with your keyboard and mouse. This can be used to great effect in raising the efficency on the front line. The game's dozens of soldier and vehicle meshes are all well modeled, textured and animated. The game's locales are very well done too, taking you to war torn Europe.

Review RSS Feed Heer_Sturmf├╝hrer says
10 Heer_Sturmf├╝hrer

Sep 6th, 2014 4 people agree 0 people don't

An historic first entry into one of the best RTS game series released in the last decade.

For a game released in 2004, you don't get much better than this, in terms of game play mechanics and visuals. Although looking dated now, it still has a replay factor which most other games just simply do not have. It's still a game which can warrant a quick play through as it is compatible with the latest OS such as Win 7 / 8, so there is no excuse not to relive the old memories and jump back into some old-fashioned WW2 strategy gaming.

Sturm.

cortex471 says
10 cortex471

Jun 9th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

my favorite WWII strategic game.

stephensu123321 says
10 stephensu123321

Feb 17th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

good

SUPER_Tank says
10 SUPER_Tank

Feb 1st, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

Great game! Although it has less mods in MODDB, it has many mods in the internet. I don't think make a mod for SHWWII is diffcult. However, it's one of the best I have ever played!

warrior_1 says
10 warrior_1

Sep 17th, 2014 2 people agree 0 people don't

Best game of the century. Gameplay is both realistic and fun.Individual inventories,direct control,fuel on vehicles...Just INCREDIBLE.It cant even be compared to COH and similar games, it is a genre of its own.

Goats11 says
10 Goats11

Dec 5th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great game, in my opinion even better than the later men of war ! (which is also great game from same company :)




1111111111111111111111111111111
1111111111111111111111111111111
1111111111111111111111111111111
1111111111111111111111111111111

PreposterousAce says
10 PreposterousAce

Oct 8th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

The graphics are much better than several other RTS games of the same era, the gameplay is fun and unique, music is great, models are great, tons of vehicles, many characters, many weapons, great interaction with the environment such as destroying trees and houses, simple yet powerful editor, very replayable, many missions, hilarious multiplayer, brilliant physics, many fans after 10 years, lots of mod support, much action, exciting story, lots of possibilities for completing missions, character quotes worth remembering like "Let me show you who's boss around here!", realistic effects, proper vehicle damage and maintenance such as fueling and repairing, nice GUI, fun inventory management, lots of fun items like matchboxes and Bazookas to find, great controls, good community and lots of other great features. I've yet to find a better WWII RTS game than this one, but I don't think I'll even bother looking because this classic game still is my favorite WWII RTS game!

sincerkiller123 says
9 sincerkiller123

Feb 14th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is one of the best game that I played during my childhood

rObZoR says
10 rObZoR

Jan 11th, 2012 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

awesome ****

SS41595 says
10 SS41595

Nov 22nd, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.4

49 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.