Really Big Sky! A super fast, twin analogue shooter for the modern age! Way over in the big void of space live some aliens. They coveted [your planet] and would do anything to live there themselves. So what's [your planet] to do? Yeah, blast through them all! Face off against waves of enemies, bosses, big laser planets, blackholes, wormholes, giant lasers, planets and asteroids across 11 game modes! Everything is procedurally generated from the way YOU play the game, from attack patterns, strength of bosses and enemies, pacing between waves, generosity of bonuses... etc! Features a comprehensive statistics system to let you hone your mad laser skills!

Review RSS Feed Flash112 says
9 Flash112

Feb 24th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Like "Space Impact" on the old siemens phones but on drugs! (in a good way) The game is very fun and random and maybe sometime even a bit creepy (space dinosaurs!)
The voice acting is very good as well and funny at times.
A great game to play simply for fun.
The visuals are quite nice as well..

lazerlars says
8 lazerlars

Jun 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Cool game, action from start to begining, and u need to be awake not to die fast. I just miss the option to play with xbox controller as player one. Player 1 must play with keyboard and mouse. Hope there will come a update with a soulution on this :D. But cool arcade game 1!!!

Kefren says
9 Kefren

Apr 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Entertaining and colourful, more fun with two players (very old school C64/Amiga style then). A test game on my new monitor, it looked great!

ACWraith says
10 ACWraith

Apr 6th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

FRELL YEAH! I pre-purchased Indie Royale's Really Big Bundle before the games were announced because of the obvious title hint. I have not regretted it. This is my game of 2011.

Are you interested in the shmup genre but despise pattern memorization? The procedural generation in RBS removes that problem. Do you like to earn upgrades or do you prefer a level starting point to earn your score? RBS offers modes for both styles of play. Buy it!

Purgatoriant says
9 Purgatoriant

Feb 11th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Really Big Sky is a feast to the senses. As a shmup it may not be the greatest or the most difficult, but the procedurally generated levels, great visuals (note: sometimes the graphics do get on the way, which kinda ruins the games chances to be a pure skill kind of game, so if you're looking for a legitimate bullet hell-shooter, this is not for you) and the kick *** booming soundtrack keep drawing you back... especially if you're armed with a full HD monitor and a decent sound system.

Oh, and you can NOT complete this game... you just can't. Levels just keep coming in every mode (BTW, there's lots of them to unlock and enjoy) and the pace gets faster and faster and the action gets more hectic and cryptic until you die. But no worries, since 'they' gave you a ship and they were not expecting it back. By the way, you get to upgrade your ship too, so if you're wondering why everything is so difficult at the beginning, that's because you and your ship suck at the time being. Both, you and it, are expected to get better in time though.

Good stuff - that's what the 9/10 is for.

scardario says
6 scardario

Jan 26th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I was enjoying this game a lot, but had some problems with one of my controllers and began to take a lot of time to load, after that I wasn't able to play it with my gamepad.
I contacted the developers but only gave me some links, didn't actually help and looked like they didn't take the time to read all the mail concerning the problem.

it's a shame, because the game it's really good, and if nothing happens to you or you can stand to play it only with the keyboard and wait about 5 minutes for the game to begin, then you should play it.

AquaFoxStudio says
10 AquaFoxStudio

Jan 19th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Simply Awesome.

razear123 says
10 razear123

Jan 12th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Awsome Game Space!! i realy like it

badrain69 says
9 badrain69

Jan 12th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great shoot'em up title. A bit cocky, flashy and eccentric, but enjoyable enough. There's no real story or plot behind it and... why should it be? All you need is a xbox controller or any other controller with two analog sticks - that's the only proper way this game should be played. Levels are generated randomly so there is no specific route you need to take or to remember. You can't predict what boss will kick your *** and when he will appear.. or what obstacle you'll encounter. So as you see, replayability is really HUGE.
You die alot in this game. That's not a bad thing, after each death you become stronger and stronger.. So dont be discouraged if this Really Big Sky beats you every time. Just spend your xp points wisely and it will all be fine! :) If you're shmup fan, i recommend you buy it now!

MonZombo says
10 MonZombo

Jan 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

I don't usually like this type of game, but the visuals, soundtrack, and gameplay are so fresh, clean and smooth, that it just doesn't matter. Anyone who enjoys games can have a great time with this. The only con to this would be sometimes it gets a bit confusing, but that's part of the fun! Giving it a perfect score may not seem realistic, but i felt like giving it less than that was unfair. A true masterpiece.

Community Rating

Average

8.4

48 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.