Micron is a game with a unique blend of puzzle and rhythm gameplay. Place pieces on the board to deflect bullets of energy that fire to the beat. Guide the bullets to the exit through 51 challenging levels -- and 12 bonus levels -- featuring a variety of distinctive soundscapes. Your solutions create the music. Micron began as a game created for Kongregate's 'Project Eden: Experience the Music' game contest, in which it won 2nd place. The judges included Tetsuya Mizuguchi, creator of REZ and LUMINES, and representatives from Ubisoft, Gamespot, and Kongregate. "Classic visual like the Famicon but experiencing the process of sound effects evolving into the music felt really good. The harder the game, the more exciting the music gets--this was blended perfectly." - Tetsuya Mizuguchi

Review RSS Feed Tear_ says
10 Tear_

Jul 9th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is such a little charming game ^_^ Clever puzzles that can't be solved with trial and error and nice music that makes you delay putting down the final piece so it lasts a little longer... I wish there was an arranged soundtrack available, I'd buy it instantly.

hardpenguin says
9 hardpenguin

Dec 18th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Brilliant and fun music puzzle game. It gets my recommendation for sure. But damn you, 49 level!

megadriver says
9 megadriver

Dec 14th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A fun, relaxing musical puzzle game.

It's Unity-based (the game engine, not the Ubuntu desktop thingie, BTW), but all the needed libraries are included, so no additional dependencies to install on Linux. Great!

muntdefems says
9 muntdefems

Dec 13th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A lovely puzzle game where your gameplay changes the music as you go. It's worth replaying a level once you've beaten it in order to experience with other solutions and listen to the new melodies.

monkeystick says
10 monkeystick

Aug 6th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Innovative lil' puzzle / rhythm game.

honorless says
4 honorless

Oct 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is a competent puzzle game that unfortunately failed to move me. Visuals are nice and clean, though I suspect colorblind people might have a tough time.

I appreciated the fun, branching stage layout that allowed me to bounce around and skip ahead to tougher levels when I got bored. I wasn't so fond of how many solutions required you to break a loop—personal judgement, but it feels sloppy.

The generated music/sound is pleasant, but when you get down to brass tacks this is a game about guiding dots into goals. All you have to do is think about positioning reflectors, largely in advance. When you do need to place something at a particular time, it's not as if you have to be on-beat. So there's not actually much here for music/rhythm game enthusiasts. On the upside, that means anyone who is deaf/HoH can play Micron with ease.

shivag4rl4nd says
10 shivag4rl4nd

Sep 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Pro: And this is how with a few mechanics a game can make magic and be really interesting.
Con: I want more levels!

RubberPunch says
8 RubberPunch

Jul 17th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good puzzler. Maybe a bit too easy or slow to progress. and I would like to be able to listen more to the music when I've solved the puzzle.

I own it on Android too, and it fits better as a casual game on a touch screen device. The negative here is also positive as there is plenty of puzzles to solve, and the music is good.

Ronsn says
9 Ronsn

Jun 9th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Pretty Nice. Minimal optic, maximum Challenge.

pronkyou2 says
9 pronkyou2

May 31st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Easily controlled puzzle games that introduce new mechanics (or re-introduce forgotten ones) are usually quite fun. Even more so if one prefers the music.

Community Rating

Average

9.2

42 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.