CAN YOU GET TO THE EXIT? KRUNCH is a quick-reflex game about escaping, survival and the fear of being closed in. KRUNCH draws inspiration from NES era gaming and has an exclusive 2-player mode for the Winnitron 1000: the indie video game cabinet. KRUNCH demands concentration, delivers fast gameplay and will test fans of games such as Mega Man and VVVVVV. KRUNCH is now available for Mac, Windows and Linux! FEATURES: - 100+ levels over 4 zones. - Challenging boss chases. - One frantic race to freedom. - DRM-free: no copy protection, no ads, no IAP, no upsells, nada. - Cross-platform: compatible with Mac OS X, Windows and Linux. - made by two dudes, a musician and an artist... in coffee shops, kitchens and couches... with the support of family and friends. - Powered by flixel - Built with Ogmo Editor KRUNCH can be played with gamepads and other USB devices by using a keyboard conversion program such as: - Enjoy for Mac OS X - JoyToKey for Windows - Joy2Key for Linux

Review RSS Feed CabbageMetal says
7 CabbageMetal

Mar 9th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

As a fan of games like VVVVV and Super Meat Boy, this looked interresting. It's ok, but the character movement was just a little too floaty for me. I got to the last checkpoint in the 4th (final) world and finally gave up. I may come back to it long enough to just finish those last few levels at some point, but it won't be for the enjoyment. It would just be so that I won't have a started but not finished game haunting me. I did like the soundtrack alot though and still have it on my Ipod actually. Like I said though, ok game, just too floaty for my liking.

foadiron says
8 foadiron

Dec 8th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I do like this one a lot but, like several other 'retro' indie games it appears to have very bad graphics as an excuse not to have good ones. It reminds me most of Super Meat Boy I suppose or perhaps VVVVVV or A Walk in the Dark. In other words it's very difficult and not original but certainly still enjoyable.

TigerClawTV says
8 TigerClawTV

Jun 10th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Pretty fun game. Graphics and music are cool. Gameplay is fun but it gets old. This is the kind of game you play in short 10 minutes sessions.

kaisermitsu says
10 kaisermitsu

Jun 7th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I absolutely love this game. Got it in an indie bundle some months ago, it was the only game I ended up playing out of the bundle. It has that addicting "just one more time" simple gameplay that you will find yourself losing more time than you intended investing into it.

Everything from the pixelwork and chiptunes to the controls and overall asthetic, Kruch delivers. Do yourself a favor and buy this game now.

Esor says
10 Esor

Feb 28th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Great game

emmawatsonsboyfriend says
5 emmawatsonsboyfriend

Feb 16th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I wanted to like this game. The videos looked good and the buzz was positive.

But it has a number of flaws that keep it from being worth the money. The comparisons to VVVVVV and Super Meat Boy are unwarranted gameplay-wise. The game it is most similar to is Operation: if you touch the sides, you're screwed. And the controls are not good. Diagonal movement is worthless. The hitboxes are wonky.There are even performance issues.

And before you say I can't handle the difficulty, go look me up on the Super Meat Boy leaderboards. I enjoy tough but fair; I'm not interested in artificial difficulty, which is what Krunch is.

There is a glitch that prevents you from moving at the start of levels, frequently leading to instadeath. Yeah, the devs are homies and respond personally and quickly to issues such as this, but I'm not buying their friendship, I want a game, and the game comes up short. And I'd add that telling people joy2key exists and billing it as controller support is sketchy at best and unethical at worst.

It also has the same problem as QUBE in that it tries to apply some kind of context at the end, but given that zero time and zero text had been put into the story prior to that point, the effort is entirely meaningless to me.

Apokaladle says
9 Apokaladle

Feb 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I bought this off of IGS a couple days ago. I'd seen some gameplay footage that gave me decidedly lukewarm feelings, so I was quite pleasantly surprised when I actually got around to playing it. I haven't played that much of it thus far, but it's been thoroughly enjoyable and addictive. I do think it suffers a bit being compared to VVVVVV and Super Meat Boy, though; since I constantly heard those comparisons, my first impressions were slightly tainted with disappointment that KRUNCH didn't live up to them in the way I envisioned. On the whole, I'm definitely impressed. I anticipate spending a fair amount of time with this title in future, and I really look forward to future games from these guys. (On a sidenote, I was really impressed with the fast response I got when I emailed them about the freezing glitch I was having.)

AzagTh0th says
1 AzagTh0th

Feb 10th, 2013 0 people agree 2 people don't

Bad and easy game. This is not Meat Boy. -rep

NormanPL says
9 NormanPL

Jan 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good game which is not easy at different times. :)

lordluis99 says
10 lordluis99

Jan 14th, 2013 0 people agree 2 people don't

awesome gome

Community Rating

Average

7.9

40 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.