Originally conceived for the 2008 TIGSource.com 'Bootleg Demake' competition, Gang Garrison 2 is a free multiplayer 'demake' of Valve's Team Fortress 2. With all 9 classes, many different TF2-inspired environments, and fast-paced, team-based, multiplayer gameplay represented, GG2 is the premier TF2 tribute/parody/alternative. Gang Garrison 2 presents the player with 9 unique classes to use in frenetic, cooperative multiplayer action in a stylish and unique 8-bit style. Battle with your friends or others you encounter online through a whole range of vibrant maps; TF2 maps reimagined in 2D as well as a multitude of maps with all sorts of different looks and settings, all of which have been dreamed up and constructed by members of our community.

Review RSS Feed Aptanor says
10 Aptanor

Nov 16th, 2010 4 people agree 0 people don't

An excellent well-made game, well worth the small download and a bit of your time. I've been playing for over a year now, and still do even though I'm now able to run TF2 itself. It's wonderful play is in it's simplicity, a retro styled game that is more then worth your precious free time.

Wareya says
10 Wareya

Nov 17th, 2010 2 people agree 0 people don't

Gang Garrison 2, a Team Fortress 2 demake fangame, is a fun, arcade-style multiplayer platforming shooter that even still has a competitive play style next to its silly self-mocking humor.

While there are some minor problems with the game, almost all of them are because of the people playing it not understanding what's really going on with it. For example, a lot of people host servers on low-end machines, which causes the matches on them to run in a stuttery slow-motion, or for everything to happen seconds after people do it. Another thing is people not understanding the point of the game, or not understanding any higher level tactics. While these people some times happen to ruin public matches, the competitive scene is still full of good players and servers running on workable machines.

The gameplay perfectly meshes with the art style and synthetic music to express something unique, that's something I find adorable. In fact, some things that were originally kinks in the engine ended up becoming part of the game itself, which made it more unique than the developers originally expected. The rough, electronic whining timbre of the game's music reinforces the demake, arcade feeling surrounding the whole of the game. The game is virtually perfect for what it is and what surrounds it.

baffle-boy says
10 baffle-boy

Nov 16th, 2010 2 people agree 0 people don't

best indie game ever, really addictive and fun, great multiplayer. especially with vinmod which adds chat.

TrashCan-Man23 says
10 TrashCan-Man23

Apr 18th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

It's sort of like your usual side scrolling game, but it's TF2!

Not only is it a demake of TF2, it does NOT have any of those overhyped hats.

Definitely worth the download.
10/10

Tha_14 says
10 Tha_14

Dec 26th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Good game...
Just like TF2!!
:)

BananaWielder says
10 BananaWielder

Dec 8th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Best demake ever. Scratch that, best indie game ever. The controls are tight. The community is constantly expanding the game in so many ways. They are adding new maps and new mods(thank you Vindicator) all the time. Since this is a demake of Team Fortress 2, the classes are awesome. They don't have a secret 10th class. You can QUOTE me on that. Overall, this is a 10/10. If I could give an 11 I would. The only problem I see you see a lot a spamming when there are too many of one class about the map. Certain servers are working on adding class limits, but it is still a work in progress. This is must play for anyone. Beware of MrFredman though. He shoots rainbows out of his eyes.

10/10
Banana Man

Shawnachu says
10 Shawnachu

Dec 1st, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great game. It's easy to quickly jump into a game, and the fast-paced multiplayer always presents new challenges.

Unfortunately, no hats. If you want them go play TF2 or something.

AJF says
10 AJF

Dec 1st, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

BESS GAEM EVAR

LemonadeSMW says
9 LemonadeSMW

Dec 1st, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

To me, this demake is an interesting take on Team Fortress 2.

The simple, nontheless appealing remade gameplay does fine, even thought the game still lacks some unbalance. Isn't every class-based game not perfectly balanced anyway ?

The clear, low-resolution graphics and the simple gameplay mechanics like only one weapon for most classes help the players focus more on the objective.

The variety of possible variations (custom maps, graphic mods..) is perfectly as good as Team Fortress 2 in most aspects (the game being open source, it helps for mods, notably sprite mods which are easy to do, as custom maps), but it mostly lacks custom mechanics; as Team Fortress 2's cp_steel would not work with the current version's 2-control-point-only attack/defense mode.

I personally find Gang Garrison 2 easier to play than Team Fortress 2 and more creative, without falling into the lack of respect for the original : the creators consider it a parody and a tribute to TF2 at the same time.

I'll finish this review with a quote from Tom Bui, at VALVe :
"It's pretty much better than TF2 in every possible way now. Except for the total lack of hats."

Full_Korbe says
10 Full_Korbe

Dec 1st, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Gang Garrison 2 is a demake of the famous Team Fortress 2, but all the mechanics are translated close to perfection.
We refind all the classes, modes of game (bar payload) and only the weapon's diversity is lacking. And there is a map editor too ! There are many possibilities with Gang Garrison 2, so try it !

Community Rating

Average

9.6

92 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.