Depths of Peril is a single player action RPG (role playing game) with strong strategy elements. You play as a faction leader protecting the barbarian city, Jorvik, by destroying threatening monsters and completing quests. At the same time, you compete with rival factions to see who will rule the city. Barbarians choose their leaders by fighting to the death!

Review RSS Feed Proph3te says
8 Proph3te

Apr 19th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Weird graphics but cool game with nice "clan-war" feature

Dasaki says
9 Dasaki

Apr 18th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

From my time with the demo, I have to loosen my review a bit, considering I haven't gotten the whole gist of the game. But from what I can gather, the game features a huge RTS styled remix to the classic Diablo style RPG.

This game features a randomly generated land, pitting you with randomly generated guilds or "Covenants". You trade, ally, and go to war with these guilds in one small area of the game, while the rest of it is one big dungeon crawl. While I'm not as big a fan as most for this genre of RPG, I do say it is quite a good time waster. Even with it just being the demo.

In the end, your final objective is to just be better than the rest of the covenants, either through trade via alliances, or literal obliteration through raids and wars. This section of the game is kind of odd, and small, as the scale of combat in this is just house versus house with basically 4 humanoids and 4 animal/beast guards. While I'll admit there are some tactics involved, I feel it's a bit shorthanded, considering the full scope of the game. It's like putting Master Chief in a Forerunner holocaust in the Halo universe. While it's cool we've got The Chief kicking ***, the huge scope of that scenario is with the forerunners massive destruction.

To conclude, the game handles itself very well, even considering some of the limitations it put on itself. It drives the player to go out and find adventures, baddies, and loot, while still keeping a close eye on their assets at home, forging alliances, and going to war with other Covenants.

Suffice to say, I do plan on purchasing this game soon.

Siveran says
9 Siveran

Jun 1st, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

While definitely not flawless, it's quite fun to play. Each round goes until you're wiped out or every faction is either your ally or dead (you're heavily encouraged toward making them dead). Rounds of the game are as long as you want them to be, making this a great game for playing for an hour at a time or for playing hours on end. The clan warfare itself is small-scale and a bit easy because you can make gates inside the enemies' house, but it's still a challenge if the enemy clan is powerful enough.

The randomized worlds aren't nearly as variable as they could be, with each area in a world being a square--it feels like each area is a reskinning of the last one, rather than something completely different. The randomized quests in each randomized world get somewhat repetitive, as "kill this", "get these", and "find this person" don't offer much interest, but it's possible that higher level games have more interesting quests. Combat is what you'd expect from a Diablo-like game, and it's not significantly bad or significantly good.

The game hasn't crashed on me yet after several hours, but there's still a number of obvious bugs. Some player gates drift every time you use them, buried treasure and soulstones have their tags show up in every area, many abilities are missing text of how they work, and more. They're all luckily minor and not game-breaking, though.

Atts says
7 Atts

May 16th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Affter playing the full game in the past and just recently I have to say it's really a good game. The idea of the game and implementation is great. The game feels alot like a small time RTS mixed with some RPG elements. Probably the only issue with the game is the lack of length, the game is really quite short and gets a little repetative quickly but it's good to open up occasionally and play a round.

Mr_Steam says
7 Mr_Steam

Apr 22nd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Unique. Worth playing. Wouldn't play it much though. Could have been better.

Nightcaper says
8 Nightcaper

Apr 22nd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great game, I remember playing it some years back. The only issue is that sometimes the mouse GUI selection does not register. It freezes for a few seconds, which becomes annoying. It happens quite often and still hasn't been fixed. Otherwise, a very good game. :)

t1gerdog says
8 t1gerdog

Apr 21st, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

So far, so good. I'm really liking it but I'm not very far in yet. It feels like an Indie Neverwinter Nights with some homebrew love that only the Indies can give.

RoaringDragon says
9 RoaringDragon

Apr 21st, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Depths of Peril is one of those games you never mind. Generally because it is said to be just another Diablo clone. Well, for some part this is true. So why bother with Depths of Peril?
Mostly because the game offers some advances and some differences to the Diablo Action-RPG-based gameplay, though it never manages to become better as its idol Diablo, in terms of Hack&Slash gameplay. If you just want that, stick with Diablo.
If you like to know how Hack&Slash can be combined with a Clan-centric war, where diffenrent objects from loot can be attached to your "house", in order to improve the overall abilities, and fight together with NPC's through random maps, then Depths of Peril could be for you. While it allows only up to 4 NPC's in your house, from you can choose only one to accompany you, one of the better features is, that you actually see what your AI enemies do at the same time. If they go on a raid, into a dungeon, etc. you'll meet them and have diplomatic choice, in terms of trading, alliances, adventuring together. All in all there are a lot of choices, that make gameplay somewhat more deeper. The diplomatic part reminds me of Civilization, the Hack&Slash is Diablo, the mix reminds me of the SNES Module Actraiser. The game is worth a try, it is focused towards a long gameplay (weeks), and the gfx arent too terrible. I rated it with a 9, just out of a 10 hurs game session.
But Depths of Peril has its flaws as well - the most annoying flaw for me is the misfit between the enduring gameplay and the little missing nuances, which leads to a repetetive gameplay after awhile. The emphasis on the strategy part, isnt what the gameplay is ableto offer yet. perhaps, as one example, the houses should have been implemented as different villages, offering many more possiblites!

who885 says
10 who885

Apr 20th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Im not going to lie This game is awesome! played it at a buddy's house and i wish i could've played more!

Ovidius says
10 Ovidius

Jan 4th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.3

36 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.