Defender's Quest is a Tower-Defense/RPG Hybrid for Mac/Windows/Linux. "It's Brilliant" - Rock, Paper, Shotgun "Incredibly Fun" - Destructoid Think Final Fantasy Tactics meets Tower Defense. Defender's Quest tightly focuses on three things: tactical depth, customization, and story. That means no random encounters, no spikey-haired emo kids, no forced time sinks, and no tedious, repetitive battles. The battle system builds off of tower defense, with individual characters taking the place of towers. Each character levels-up, learns skills, and equips gear individually, allowing the player to customize their battle experience and strategy. The overall game structure is similar to "tactical" RPG's, but with a real-time battle system. Game speed is adjustable, and commands can even be issued while the game is paused. Also featuring an engaging character-driven story written by an actual English Major!

Review RSS Feed Cantello says
6 Cantello

Nov 7th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Very nicely done, good writing, humorous (sometimes silly), lots of options.

Only drawback (major one): too repetitive, too little strategy involved.

Mortalo says
10 Mortalo

Jan 15th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

I did not knew that DQ will become one of my favorite games of all time. I spotted a game on sale on Steam. Checked the screens, description, some players opinions. Mix of Tower Defense and RPG? That sounded interesting. It turned out that it was a game I was waiting for.

Graphics are really good. They're tidy, have charm. Well, ok cut-scenes could look better, but they're not bad. Still visuals are not important here.
What is important is gameplay. What can I say, it's brilliant. You're placing heroes, of few classes, on battle field, changing tactic with each new level. Characters varies, have nice skills, synergize well. With each battle they gain experience points which leads to new levels and skill points, making your heroes stronger. It adds a little grind to classic Tower Defense game. You can revisit once done levels, increasing it's difficulty to gain bonuses. And then, after the game is over, there is new game plus, making things even more complicated.
You will have Dragon in your team and you will kill sheeps!
Story starts suddenly, with our protagonist Azra, just like us, surprised with events that occurs. With time we will learn about plague and revenants, will find out who is the villain. It's nothing ground-breaking but is good excuse to continue the adventure. There is even a moral decision!
The key part is the dialogues. They're simply amazing. Heroes are crazy so we ends up with many fun jokes, that will leave you with minutes of laugh. There are few misses, still author's sense of humor turns out to be very good. Good stuff.

Defender's Quest is great game. Fantastic example of how well Tower Defense can work with RPG. This game gave me plenty of great time, it offers lots of content, making it one of my better purchases. I recommend it to everyone. You won't be dissapointed.

Eddward says
8 Eddward

Oct 10th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

It's a fun tower defense game. I will be looked for the sequel. I don't have any problems with the play that has me wishing something worked differently.

The story is pretty good. I think it would be ok for the kids except for a bit of language. My oldest would probably be ok, but my youngest probably isn't mature enough. I'd hate for her to parrot a (funny) conversation about the names of the Berserker's muscles in school. Otherwise, I think kids would like the story of the game.

I'm being a bit vague since I don't want to have any spoilers. It's fun. It's funny. I know there are complains about Adobe Air. It worked fine for me on Linux. I liked the mechanics of how you develop your characters.

Seranth says
10 Seranth

Aug 24th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Pretty unique take, fun, decent story. Should just use the original game as a warm up/introduction to the game at 300% XP/Scrap and then use New Game + as the real challenge.

agylardi says
10 agylardi

Jun 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I bought this game for $5 after I it got first launched as demo on Kongregate. One of my first online game purchase. After that I played the game and really enjoyed it.

After it got upgraded as gold version, I played it again and really enjoyed again. I like how the game has high replay value. This game really has good design, implemented well, and I am lucky to purchased the game when it was cheaper than current price.

I think if you like tower defense with RPG elements, you won't regret for purchasing this game.

Oshkell says
9 Oshkell

Nov 14th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Like Tower Defense? Like RPG's? Character visual customization? Proper spelling and grammar? This game has it all, and with no grind required. The creator is helpful and responsive, the gameplay is engaging and fun, and the characters are memorable and clever. Stages can be replayed at higher difficulties, with extra rewards, lending to replayability. This game is a must-have.

Rikkano says
3 Rikkano

Nov 5th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is a horrible game. Despite them claiming to focus on costumisation, tactical depth and story. I only find the story rewarding. The dialogue is witty and good, something I have fully enjoyed. But the game itself is merely a question of giving your guys the best equipment and then placing them around, and go have a snack while everything sorts itself out. Although I wouldn't call this game grind based, since grinding takes some participation on the players part, I would say it is rather bland and meaningless. Watching your guys obliterate one wave of enemies after another so you can get that +something sword, or that level up.

NormanPL says
9 NormanPL

Nov 4th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Good tower defence game.

MondSemmel says
10 MondSemmel

Nov 1st, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Spectacular TD game. Better than any other (non-maze) TD game. Seriously. I've been playing tower defense games since at least WarCraft III funmaps existed, and Defender's Quest just does everything right.

irogue says
10 irogue

Oct 31st, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Each time i see a 1 i add a 10

Community Rating

Average

8.7

40 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.