8-Bit Night predecessor now on Desura for FREE! Alter Ego is a clever retro styled single screen puzzle platformer with an interesting swapping mechanic. You control a blueish little guy and his phantom alter ego (that moves in a mirrored fashion) at the same time. Swap places with the invincible alter ego to reach normally unreachable corners and collect all the pixels to solve each stage. The game is freely available for PC, NES,MSX and ZX Spectrum.

Review RSS Feed gkbl says
9 gkbl

Oct 29th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

a very simple game,but fun to play!if you want a fun and a simple game,you found it!!!

ElWeromex says
8 ElWeromex

Oct 21st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

is a game clasic efects

Minemaneloriginal says
10 Minemaneloriginal

May 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Its so amazing !! Love the Music And the puzzle!!!!

I will make a review on my channel

PD: I am From ARGENTINA!!
Channel: Gamers Unidos 100

UlpoMedia says
10 UlpoMedia

Apr 27th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing game!! Very interesting the puzzle you can made with is!, totally recomended! and it's FREE!! :D

Batguerra says
9 Batguerra

Jan 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Alter Ego , as it says, is a platform game, but it's definetely not an ordinary platform game, is a majestic sub-genre of it. And I'm gonna tell you what makes it so special.

It's challenging way of performing each level, where you have to swap between both egos to complete it, collecting all coins in each map, but also avoiding the enemies, the skulls. If you think this game couldn't get any better you're wrong, because there are 40 playable levels to complete. In the beggining you'll think "this game is piece of cake", but as you progress through the levels, you notice you was wrong.

AlterEgo also has a perfect way to mix 8-bit graphics and sounds.The Soundtrack? Just incredible. As you make progress through the levels, the music just gets even better and hardcore, it fits with the entire game, and the sounds reminds you the good old times with the NES.

It would be a masterpiece but for some little details, for you restart the level, you have to press Esc and then "Restart Level", why not just putting a shortcut as most part of the games has like "R" button, also, the game is not so challenging , if you think every last level in platform games is hard, you better start thinking again because I ended the last level in the first try, and I'm dead serious.

AlterEgo is in less words, a perfect mix between 8-bit graphics and sounds in a retro platfrom game, making you remember those great old shcool games, that's why it is incredible.It is the example of game where you end it and you want to start it again, and it looks like every time you play it again it looks different, not because you know how to pass all levels, but because as you continue playing it, you notice it is just amazing.



lE0P0lD says
1 lE0P0lD

Nov 19th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

its don't start at all at me Linux Mint 13 KDE.

xXdraky says
8 xXdraky

Aug 31st, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very detailed, extremely innovative, and free. A good game for puzzle gamers. It's main con would be the difficulty, as it can be tedious at times (I ended up looking at walkthroughs to beat the later levels). Overall I'd say: 7.8/10

Timilon says
10 Timilon

Jul 2nd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Fun and enjoyable and it's free, you can't go wrong with that. If you enjoy platformers and/or puzzle games you'll like this. I just played this after finishing 8-Bit Night so I found it a bit easy but only because my mind was already oriented for mirror imaging.

If you enjoyed this you should check out 8-Bit Night as it uses the same game mirror mechanic but with some other fun additions as well as improved graphics and music.

ssokolow says
8 ssokolow

May 11th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I'm about half-way through and, so far, I like it.

It's a clever concept, the puzzles are well thought out, the art style is coherent and has character and, though the music doesn't grip me the way some chiptunes do, it's OK.

I only see two things that would make it better:

1. Even if only for grins and giggles, I'd like to play a mode where you get unlimited swaps, making it less puzzle and more platformer. (Imagine if Lode Runner only let you drill a limited number of holes for the mad monks to fall into)

2. A level editor. (Obviously, only for the platforms which support it. I can imagine a level editor which generates a new NES ROM, but I'd never expect to see it... except maybe as a dare or a personal challenge.)

gegoxaren says
10 gegoxaren

May 4th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is probobly one of the best Retro games that I have played in a long time.
It is like a mental exersise that is fun.

The only thing that I have to say is this game has the quality that you would pay for otherwise.

Get it and play it!

EDIT:
It Reminds me of the "shadow player" pussles in "AndYetItMoves"

Community Rating

Average

8.4

66 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.