Ren'Py is a free, 2D, and cross-platform engine that helps you make story-based games including visual novels and simulation games. It uses a scripting language based on Python.

RSS feed Lorddon says
10 Lorddon

Aug 18th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

For visual novel games, it's tough to beat the free and easy to use Ren'Py engine.

Rpatterson(Zstudios) says
8 Rpatterson(Zstudios)

Aug 20th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

It very good engine for dating-sims :D

Hackenstein says
10 Hackenstein

Jun 19th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

During my use with Ren'py, Not only did i find that their tutorial explained all the features really well, but The overall engine it self is smooth and very Beginner Friendly. For this i give Ren'py a 10/10, i mean who doesnt love playing an old school choose your own adventure style game.

brandon4117 says
10 brandon4117

Apr 3rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This engine is actually very easy to use and as long as you have the skill to make the art, music, and story (Or at least have a team of people willing to help), you can make a Visual Novel VERY easily and very nicely with this engine.
It's free, and not too hard to understand. It even has it's own tutorial game that goes rather in-depth with it's controls and scripting.

Frankly, if you're into Visual Novels and you want to make one of your own, this is an Engine I highly recommend. All you need is your own art, music, and story, and with help from the tutorial (or prior coding knowledge) you're pretty much set.

Very few things I found a little annoying but other than those this engine is pretty much wonderful in most ways.
Give it a download and a try if you want to make a VN.
It's worth the few seconds it takes to download.

godsofdarkniss says
10 godsofdarkniss

Feb 26th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

best ever

Evropi says
9 Evropi

Jul 4th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

It doesn't support Python 3.x yet, but beyond that downside, it's absolute bliss to work with and produces outstanding results.

naiveLiLme says
10 naiveLiLme

Feb 8th, 2015

No review provided

VenusEclipse says
10 VenusEclipse

Jan 6th, 2015

No review provided

Arisae says
10 Arisae

Dec 20th, 2014

No review provided

Elaxomoe says
1 Elaxomoe

Jul 3rd, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating



37 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.