Post news RSS The Dialogue System

A more in-depth of the dialogue system and how it works!

Posted by on

You can also read this article and more on our Dev Blog!

Last week, we delved a bit into the different categories of dialog choices. In conversation, there are five broad categories of response. The five categories are:

  1. Empathy
  2. Intimidate
  3. Dismissive
  4. Control
  5. Charm

Within each category, there are dozens of different response types that fall under the major category's general umbrella. For example, the Intimidate category will include threatening, angry, and criticizing responses.

As the player makes more of a certain type of response, they earn points in that category which will allow them to make more significant choices.

The dashes below the words represent the point requirements for making that particular choice. One dash represents 5 points, so if there are 2 dashes below "Joke," the player will need 10 Charm points in order to make that joke. Players will be able to identify what which of the five categories a response falls under via the picture that appears in the large central hexagon.

These screenshots are early in the game, so the requirements for making the choice are very low. If the player does not have enough points to make a choice, it will be grayed out and unselectable.

Next week, we will cover the final part of the dialogue system.

Until next time!

Luckless Seven Website

Post a comment
Sign in or join with:

Only registered members can share their thoughts. So come on! Join the community today (totally free - or sign in with your social account on the right) and join in the conversation.