Post news RSS Reference Manual on the series Disciples

Reference Manual on the series Disciples. For those who are not familiar with the setting.

Posted by on

Disciples is a turned based strategy game originally developed by Strategy First. Game play greatly resembles Heroes of Might and Magic however, with new approaches in strategy:

  • Combat units are limited to the leadership of the hero
  • Heroes have 3 different classes. The starting hero will affect bonuses for the selected race throughout the game: Warrior, Thief or Mage
  • Unlike HoMM, where you can stack the same creature type in a single unit, Disciples only uses one creature as a whole unit
  • Creatures (not just heroes) gain experience and may be upgraded when it reaches the appropriate experience requirement. Creature upgrades also have a unique "technological tree" which may lead to different type of creature upgrades for the same creature
  • Each race has a capital city, inhabited by a powerful guardian.

The story revolves around the struggle between the gods and their chosen races, with each series further explaining this continued struggle:

  • The Highfather - The Human Empire
  • The Dwarven God Wotan - The Mountain Clans
  • The Undead God Mortis - The Undead Horde
  • The Demonic God Bethrezen - The Legion of the Damned
  • The Elven God Gallean - The Elven Alliance (race introduced in Disciples II: Rise of the Elves).

Games series:

Disciples: Sacred Lands (1999)

Disciples II: Dark Prophecy (2002)

Disciples II: Rise of the Elves (2003)

Disciples III: Renaissance (2009)

Disciples III: Resurrection (2010)

Disciples III: Reincarnation (2012)

Where you can find out more by series -

Post a comment
Sign in or join with:

Only registered members can share their thoughts. So come on! Join the community today (totally free - or sign in with your social account on the right) and join in the conversation.