Post news RSS New lighting and shading

New lighting and shading for this Saturday's Free-for-All (FFA) PvP playtest.

Posted by on

Join us at www.ageofascent.com for a 30 min playtest this Saturday, 4th of Apr, 2015 at 3pm Central US, 4pm East US, 8pm UTC/GMT, 9pm UK (Desktop browser, mouse and keyboard)


Wanted to share a quick video of our new lighting system coming for the next playtest.

The video has a split screen with the current lighting on the right, and the new lighting on the left. Some of the new lighting was previewed in the last test, but only on the asteroids, and the rest of the set was lit with ambient occlusion only.

The new lighting includes:

  • Environmental ambient lighting
  • Directional lighting
  • Specular highlights
  • Bump mapping
  • Rim Lighting

The difference is quite noticable, though it does look better onscreen than in the video!

Hope to see you then!

Post a comment
Sign in or join with:

Only registered members can share their thoughts. So come on! Join the community today (totally free - or sign in with your social account on the right) and join in the conversation.

News
Tags
Free, Test
Browse
News
New
Post news
Share
Related Games
Age Of Ascent
Age Of Ascent Futuristic Sim
Related Hardware
Related Groups
HTML5
HTML5 Web & Community with 21 members
Illyriad Games
Illyriad Games Developer & Publisher with 4 members
Indie Devs
Indie Devs Hobbies & Interests with 1,675 members
Indie Gamers
Indie Gamers Hobbies & Interests with 1,513 members
Science Fiction Fans
Science Fiction Fans Arts & Literature with 795 members