Mod of the Year 2007

80,000 votes. 4,000 mods. Only 10 winners.

Mod DB and the 5th Annual Mod of the Year Awards is the definitive event that showcases the best mods in the world and recognizes the mod teams behind them. The “MOTY” is a tribute to the creativity, dedication & hard work independent developers put into creating unique gaming experiences that enable us to "Play Something Different".

Mod DB brings you the best mods in the industry. You decide which ones are worthy of recognition. At the top of this program sits the ultimate prize... the Mod of the Year Award! Thanks to our sponsors, this year we have greatly enhanced the program with video content, interactive features and top shelf prizes.

From Nov 15th to Jan 1st, industry professionals, developers, gamers and the general public cast their votes to decide which mods define the cutting edge of interactive entertainment & which mod teams attain gaming celebrity.

For those new to mods, a modification is a variation of an original game that can be freely downloaded. These variations can be minor or epic in scope. In brief:

  • Mods unlock and expand the incredible power of games
  • Mod making is an art form that empowers creative expression

US Navy AlienwareArt Institute Online KIPA GameNGame Gearbox Software
Awards Structure

The 2006 Mod of the Year Awards will once again recognize the finest game modifications in the world, while offering both interactive and static content to showcase the work of these dedicated and talented individuals. Your votes will decide the outcome. Click for full legal terms and conditions.

Phase 1 Nominations: November 15th - December 15th

  • Gamers nominate their favorite mods for awards
  • 15th December the field is narrowed from 4,000 mods to the Top 100

Phase 2 Finals: December 15th - January 1st

  • Voters will select their 3 favorites from the Top 100
  • 1st January voting closes
  • 25th January players choice winners announced
  • 26th January editors choice & genre winners announced

What's at stake?

To reward the developers that provided us with thousands of hours of entertainment, we're giving away the best gaming rigs in the world, cash & prizes.

Special thanks to Alienware, the ultimate in gaming power, technology & style for their contributions. Alienware’s focus on personalization, mega-tasking, developer tools and gamer experience enable mod teams to create better mods and gamers to experience the games at a breath taking new level.

Players Choice Awards

Mod of the Year Alienware Gaming Rig + $2,000
Runner Up $1,000
Best Upcoming Mod Alienware Gaming Rig + $1,000
Runner Up $500
Standalone Game of the Year Alienware Gaming Rig + $1,000
Runner Up $500
Remaining Winners &
Runners Up
Honorable Mention &
International Exposure

Editors Choice Awards

MOTY Single Player Mod $500
MOTY Multiplayer Mod $500
Upcoming $500
Standalone $500
Reinvention $500
Innovation $500
Old Skool Mod $500
Visuals $500
Ambience (sounds) $500

Genre Awards

Best Action Mod No prize
Best Adventure Mod No prize
Best Driving Mod No prize
Best Multi-genre Mod No prize
Best Puzzle Mod No prize
Best Simulation Mod No prize
Best Sports Mod No prize
Best Strategy Mod No prize
Best Roleplaying Mod No prize

Must apply to join
Send Message
Join group
Group watch
Embed Buttons
Link to 2006 Mod of the Year Awards by selecting a button and using the embed code provided more...
2006 Mod of the Year Awards
22 members