The focus of The Showdown Effect is in recreating the outrageous action found in classic action movies and taking them one step further. Players can pick weaponry from the silver screen's unparallelled arsenal, including shotguns, frying pans, lightsabers, assault rifles, grenades, katanas, gauss guns and anything in between. No explosion is too loud and no bullet dodge is implausible – The Showdown Effect is all about impaling your friend with nearby broomstick and dropping a “Stick around”-taunt as you jetpack heroically off to the next enemy.

Beneath all of this The Showdown Effect is heavily invested in the fundamentals of platforming, providing controls that are responsive and satisfying when it comes to simply running and jumping. Likewise, as a multiplayer game The Showdown Effect will offer all the progressive rewards and unlocks that players have come to love and to cherish.

  • View media
  • View media
  • View media
  • View media
  • View media
  • View media
Post article Articles

No articles were found matching the criteria specified. We suggest you try the article list with no filter applied, to browse all available. Post article and help us achieve our mission of showcasing the best content from all developers. Join now to share your own content, we welcome creators and consumers alike and look forward to your comments.

Post a comment
Sign in or join with:

Only registered members can share their thoughts. So come on! Join the community today (totally free - or sign in with your social account on the right) and join in the conversation.

You may also like
Magicka: Final Frontier

Magicka: Final Frontier

Hack 'n' Slash

Contains an all new map, the Vulcanus Arena, both for the Versus and Challenge game modes. Also included is an entirely new robe and gear. The Vulcanus...

Guardians Of The Past

Guardians Of The Past

Arcade

Join the fight against the evil robot overlords and defend your world from their wrath. The robots have overthrown their human enslavers in their world...

Magicka: Caverns

Magicka: Caverns

Hack 'n' Slash

A free DLC for Magicka. Features more trolls than the official Magicka forums.

The Incredible Hulk Video Game

The Incredible Hulk Video Game

Arcade

The Incredible Hulk video game is a third person action game based on the same named movie, released back in June 5, 2008 for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation...

Commandos 2: Men of Courage

Commandos 2: Men of Courage

Arcade

From the heart of the Third Reich to the most remote islands in the South Pacific, Sergeant Jack "Butcher" O'Hara and his elite group of gritty soldiers...

Commandos 3: Destination Berlin

Commandos 3: Destination Berlin

Arcade

Take your commandos on their deadliest mission yet venturing into enemy territory across 3 campaigns, from Stalingrad through to Central Europe and the...

Twitter

Latest tweets from @showdowneffect

Today is the last day of the Showdown Effect free to play weekend, and your last chance to grab the game for 75% off! Ow.ly

Sep 22 2013

Up for some over the top rocket launcher action? The Showdown Effect is free to play on steam this weekend! Ow.ly

Sep 20 2013

Come kick our asses in the Showdown Effect Live Stream! Join here: Ow.ly

Sep 19 2013

Get to da channel, the Showdown Effect stream is live! Ow.ly Join the raging rocket launcher/katana battle!

Sep 19 2013

Join our Showdown Effect live stream for some ass-kicking and bubblegum chewing! 8 pm CEST/7pm BST/6pm GMT/11 am PDT Ow.ly

Sep 19 2013

Come fight us in tonights live stream, at 8 pm CEST join "Paradox Showdown" in game or watch here: Ow.ly

Sep 19 2013

Craving some 80's action? Tonight at 8 PM CEST/11 am PDT we'll be live streaming The Showdown Effect! Join us at: Ow.ly

Sep 19 2013