Conquer, rule and manipulate the Roman Empire with the ultimate goal of being declared as the "Imperator" of Rome. Set in a time when the mighty Roman Empire emerged to conquer the known world against powerful enemies, when gladiators fought to a bloody death in the Coliseum; when Spartacus defied the might of the empire; when Hannibal led his invincible army and his war elephants across the Alps to strike fear into the very heart of Rome itself; and when Julius Caesar finally smashed the Barbarian Gauls. This was a time of brutal confrontation between civilisation and barbarism, and of civil war as the ancient world's only superpower turned on itself.

RSS Reviews  (0 - 10 of 272)
9

The game that made the TW saga a classic.

For someone that played a lot Shogun TW like me, playing RTW for the first time was absolutely stunning.
The vanilla game is superbly done. The battles, the strategy map, visual & sound effects, physics.... you name it.
What made this game even greater were it's excellent mods.

It's greatest flaw, however, was shared by it's successor, M2TW and it's expansion Kingdoms: The lack of naval battles on the battlemap. Which came only when Empires TW came out.

A literally EPIC classic.

Games of my childhood . The only one disadvantage is unplayable thracians :(

Enjoyable for a short duration at playing Napoleonic period battles; however lacks graphics, a campaign and naturally quickly runs thin of entertainment,,, but still a decent bad game
Simply divine as one if not the best strategy Total War game ever made. Tons of exciting things and events to do, graphics a little out dated and inaccurate; however still a good game to this day.

Graphics (8.1/10)
Game play (8.2/10)
Narrative Story Telling: (7.1/10)
Maps: (4.9/10)
Skins (7.0/10)
Entertainment (9.3/10)
Modder's Efforts N/A
Historical Accuracy: (7.1/10)
Technical (6.9/10)

Overall result: 9.0/10 = 90% on DaggerClassStudio's Game Mod Rating
= An Excellent Game

~Christopher Carlisle James

10

Amazing RTS game which allows control of grand armies. Good economy and a wide variety of units allowing the player to have a great gaming experience.

The best Total War. It is absolutely mindboggling how a game could succeed in every aspect as Rome Total War did. The 4X aspect, while not Civilization, it's not just for show. The flexibility it allows is amazing, and serves as a nice palette cleanser for the main dish: the battles.

Enough has been said of this game, and franchise, at this point in time. So, do yourself a favour and try Rome TW for yourself.

Shoutout to Jeff Van Dyck: you created the soundtrack that inspired me to compose. I cannot for the life of me emphasize the sheer perfection of Rome ost.

Good game!

For me still the best Total War with M2TW following closely by.

It is TW game with stotyline, with movie quality production, best totally immersive music.
Yuo get attached to your Generals and Family more than in any other TW.

10/10

10

Awesome

10

Aweosome

One of the best games I have ever played

Community Rating

Average

9.6

267 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.

Highest Rated (4 agree) 9/10

The game that made the TW saga a classic. For someone that played a lot Shogun TW like me, playing RTW for the first time was absolutely stunning. The vanilla game is superbly done. The battles, the strategy map, visual & sound effects, physics.... you name it. What made this game even greater were it's excellent mods. It's greatest flaw, however, was shared by it's successor, M2TW and it's expansion Kingdoms: The lack of naval battles on the battlemap. Which came only when Empires TW came out…

Dec 6 2010 by X4VI3R