Review RSS Feed Arsenal Overhaul - Clear Sky
9 Review

Mod Review by RickVic on Oct 31st, 2014

Stable and very diversified Experience for Stalker CS

HQ Models and good choice of Weapons.

Only little negative part is that it is more resource hungry then the original game.

Very excited for the next Versions

Titanfall
9 Review

Game Review by Sgt_Prof on Oct 31st, 2014 - 1 person agrees

fun, immersive combat :) These words fully describe game.

what I liked:
+Fast and fun irfanty combat
+Titans
+stunning sci-fi environment
+well balanced weapons
+Co-op mode

what I dissliked...
-weapons and titan classes and customisation asortiment is poor.

A New Dawn
9 Review

Mod Review by terciperix on Oct 31st, 2014

This is the mod you need if you have already beaten vanilla. It is harder but also richer than the vanilla. The amount of new items is insane as well as the new troop trees. All that come along with the great improvments of Floris. This is trully a major mod.

The only little flaw is with the troop balance which could be improved ; the gap between low tier units and high tier units is too important.

Rise of the Praetorii
9 Review

Mod Review by Master_Ike on Oct 30th, 2014

Generally a great mod, but the guns don't really fit in to the greater picture. Other than that tiny detail, it's a great mod. Keep it up.

A New Dawn
9 Review

Mod Review by lehouf on Oct 30th, 2014

Wooow that's a great mod . Beautiful scenes tons of new stuff .... But no lies when they say it's gonna be tough !!

Real good work , a complete mix a the best mods of the moment (Perisno, Floris, A Clash of Kings...) .

Give it a try ,it's worth your time .

Once again Thanks to all modders for sharing their work with the community and especially when it is so gooood !

Dungeon Nightmares
9 Review

Game Review by VectormanOverkill on Oct 30th, 2014

The game is very well-made, legitimately scary, and contains the most horrifying painting in the history of existence. Can run a bit long, but still very, very good.

META - full conversion mod
9 Review

Mod Review by Tékker. on Oct 30th, 2014

Fantastic custom story!

This was an amazing custom story. The atmosphere, the scares, the mapping and the scriptings were all very well made. I really enjoyed playing this custom story.

Good things:
- The scares
Very well made scares, best of all is they come when you dont expect them to.

- The atmosphere
The atmosphere made me feel scared throughout the whole story.

- The mapping
The mapping was unique. I would have liked some smaller maps with some puzzles but overall the mapping was a sure plus.

- Custom monsters
Scary ****..!

- Story
while the story wasn't that deep, the concept of the story was good and I don't think I've seen it before.

Lacking:
- The only thing I felt this custom story lacked was some puzzles. The puzzles in the story got a little too easy, the puzzles where either pull a lever or push a button or find an item. I would have given the story 10/10 if it wasn't for the lack of good amnesia puzzles.

Overall fantastic custom story that should be played by any amnesia lovers!

9/10

META - full conversion mod
9 Review

Mod Review by KiraImmortal on Oct 28th, 2014

very good! many new things, sick imagination (that we share :D), good usage of custom elements, damn creepy sometimes. i want to continue as soon as possible :)

Ildefonse
9 Review

Game Review by Kajuaru on Oct 28th, 2014
This review may contain spoilers

Admittingly, I'm not one for horror games. But this game caught my interest, and after a few months of other activities, I decided to play it.

And I loved every minute of it.

During the whole game, the atmosphere of the game oppresses you, threatens you for going further, simply letting the environment affect you. The way you made the sound work is one of my favorite parts (aka you could hear your own heartbeat, the lights buzzing, realistic acoustics).

And then the creatures came out.

I freaked, and panicked every time one came near, every time my light went out. I was afraid something would come around the corner.

The ending, though, was somewhat anti-climatic, and had a mild visual quality drop. Bleh.

And for a single person as the developer, the graphics were incredible.

This is one of the few horror games I have not regret playing. I'm hoping you continue creating games.

Hazard
9 Review

Game Review by numbersix on Oct 28th, 2014

Hazard: a maze exploring FPS with striking visuals.

If you want to experience a new take on maze FPS, do give this a try.

What it does right:

The music is exciting and keeps the flow in the action.
You want to keep running and shooting.

Graphics are striking and the background structures are a fresh take on the tron / tech theme. While still remaining original. I especially like the part that looks like a movie theater.

Weapon icons and models are bold and fit the net-tech theme very well.

Enemy / ammo balance - do not waste shots as you have just enough to get through - most enemies shoot and are not easy to take down with the laser sword.

Was not stoked about:

Not much indication what parts of a path are teleports. Maybe there was a texture I didnt notice?

There are blocked paths that will teleport you until you use the disk at the terminal. But then there are other little path chunks that do the same thing - this can be a game saver or just irritating.

There is one on data sorting before the enemy that fires the tracking missile.
That is a great place to have one if you dont know how to avoid those missiles. But I had to discover it by accident.

I'm not sure what would improve this.

What was cool:

When I realized the intermission screen WAS an overview of the actual map.
I didnt see it until I got to data sorting.

The city reminded me of a monochrome mainframe (from Reboot.)

The health bars above your enemies heads.

Reminds me of berzerk.

What would I like to see:

More puzzles than just find disk and open ports.
The data sorting train puzzle was a great way to add something new.
I hope this continues with other more complex elements.

The next two are really about design choice. They may not fit the style of the game.

Perhaps interact with the background structure a bit more.
Like you see a structure in the distance on one map, then later you get there and proceed into the structure. Basically I wanted to go in the part that looked like a movie theater.

Elements besides guns, ammo, enemies, disks, terminals, etc.
Yes, I'm talking about visual fluff that doesnt enhance essential game play.
This isnt part of the game critique, its just one of my preferences.

Maybe a digital version of a fern, mushroom or some growing plant - with a growth cycle. Or stainless steel rats! There are 2 games that have really impressed me in this respect - Half Life 2 and Unreal.

And there are two views on this: "Anything not essential takes away from game play" and "that extra little detail makes the game more exciting."

***

Note: this review was revised after some issues running under linux were fixed.
For linux do this:

drop the latest linux darkplaces into the Hazard folder (where you see the Clu sub-folder) and run with:

darkplaces-glx -game Clu

Mount&Blade Warband Ottoman Scenario
9 Review

Mod Review by kodak287 on Oct 28th, 2014

MOD ÇOK GÜZEL FAKAT WARBAND VE M.B HARİTASI OLMASI KÖTÜ OLMUŞ.

BAZI KODLAR VE YAZILIMLARLA ANADOLU VE BALKAN HARİTASI OLSA GÜZEL OLURDU.

Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
9 Review

Game Review by zervinter on Oct 28th, 2014

Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning delivers exactly what it promises: a pitch-perfect fantasy RPG, with visceral, intuitive gameplay that is easy to pick up, difficult to master, wildly flexible and just plain fun, in a way that has yet to be seen in the genre. The world is accessible and vast, offering genre fans plenty to sink their teeth into. One gets the sense that they are watching an entire world unfold before them, one rich with history and lore and life. Amalur opens itself up to the player in a way that is both familiar and refreshing, then empowers the player to do incredible things. 38 Studios and Big Huge Games have created a world worth saving, and they have given us some pretty damn cool tools with which to get

Brytenwalda
9 Review

Mod Review by Vipsanius on Oct 28th, 2014

Complex, elaborate mod. Cavalry is not too overpowered. Armor penalties are a challenge. Gives a feel for the shield wall. I've come back to this mod with each update over the years and gained new insights into the thoughtful design and implementation.

In 1.41 can't seem to get my troops to level up - 5000 point battle and I'll win one level for troops but more for NPC's.

Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Earth
9 Review

Game Review by VOIDZ101 on Oct 27th, 2014

An awesome game to say the least. Have spent many hours of my life playing it and cant wait to see the mods for it. The game play is also sexy and i don't regret spending a penny

Risk of Rain
9 Review

Game Review by Scadden on Oct 27th, 2014

I have spent many hours trying to complete this game, it has become addictive to the point that all I can hear is the awesome sound track. I have had to deal with bugs and one save corruption. But it is totally worth it, the action is intense and never ending. This game is best played with a controller using the Steam Big Picture. I bought an Xbox 360 controller because of this game and I'll never look back. If you like to collect indie games this is definitely one for your collection.

Cube 2: Sauerbraten
9 Review

Game Review by TECMEC on Oct 27th, 2014

Great engine. Great sharing power and variability. Perfect stability on every machine. Almost an excellent engine!Modding and modeling are both very satisfying.

Mass Effect: Unification
9 Review

Mod Review by Emperor_Chimpian on Oct 27th, 2014

It's pretty impressive so far, though it still needs work with some things like the Alliance soldier's hands being weird when shooting a two handed rifle (mainly the Assault rifle) and the issues people are having with that damn configuration tool other than that it's nine thumbs up from me.

Thrawn's Revenge
9 Review

Mod Review by CC2224 on Oct 26th, 2014

This is a fantastic mod. The space battles are - in a word - delightful; more hadpoints have been added to many ships (ie, the ISD) to make them more realistic, without having an unseemly number. There is nothing like watching two Super Star Destroyers go broadside-to-broadside, and I love playing as the Empire of the Hand in space. The land maps are also often beautifully done, with a big section of Coruscant, for example, being an infantry-only pedestrian area in the city (it looked like part of a battlefront map, it was awesome). Its very pretty, and I haven't encountered a real problem so far.

Also, if you like Republic At War's large, realistic maps but want to be using stormtroopers and AT-ATs or snowspeeders and vanguards, you should really check this mod out. It has the added perk that many worlds can give you free troops or structures, even in the blandest GC's, and in some, you get very cool special missions. The minor factions are a lot of fun as well, and wiping them out can give you some unique stuff. A huge improvement to GC play - as is hero permadeath, honestly.

If I could have given this game like a 9.3 or something (y'know, more than nine, not ten) I would have, however. In space, ships explode and disappear - no more hulks drifting down, it's kinda boring. Despite the often impressive mapmaking, ground battles feel overlooked. Many special abilities have been removed throughout the game; in space, this is nice, but on the ground, it adds to the 2-dimensionality of the original. New factions and units ease this, but still, many of my ground battles, against a full stack on a well fortified world, have lasted less than ten minutes. Additionally, many new units have unfinished/broken death clones and sketchy pathfinding, and some - like the Chiss infantry and some vehicles - have very ugly skins. If you want to just do space, ignore this, but I generally prefer land combat to space (though this mod's space battle may make me change my mind...), so this was a real disappointment to me. With how much loving care was clearly put into this otherwise VERY polished and enjoyable mod, I feel bad rating it a 9, but I am very land-combat focused. I guess they're still working on it though, so hopefully I'll download a future version and come back and change this review.

Rise of the Reds
9 Review

Mod Review by Manticor-501 on Oct 26th, 2014

A welll done job

Misery : The Armed zone
9 Review

Mod Review by Mr_Hamfi on Oct 26th, 2014

i just like it and i'm going to download it asap !
Weapons,graphics are awesome,i hope one thing,the mod is stable to run such huge library of weapons !
keep the good work guys !

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (engine)
Westwood 2D
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK
9.8 (engine)
FS2_Open Engine
9.8 (mod)
Finnwars
9.8 (engine)
Unreal Engine 4