Review RSS Feed Gary - Snowy Secrets (A Christmas Special)
8 Review

Mod Review by umbakarna on Jan 29th, 2015

I like the humor and originality in this mod. It could be better but still fun to play.

Silent Hill: Alchemilla
8 Review

Mod Review by STZoro on Jan 29th, 2015

As a mod - this is really wonderful flashback into the first games of Silent Hill series. It has everything, that reminds you of those old good times - walk in the town streets, surrounded by fog; letters and other stuff, that refers to the original game series. However, it feels kinda a little empty, but as a mod - It still very good... Well done!

Silent Hill: Alchemilla
8 Review

Mod Review by archydemon on Jan 29th, 2015

Ужасненько атмосферненько

Half-Life: Decay
8 Review

Mod Review by valentino0429 on Jan 28th, 2015

In my opinion this is a very good mod.

The Great War 1918
8 Review

Mod Review by AlexG01 on Jan 28th, 2015

I would give 10/10 if cannons,tanks and everything that isn't infantry squad would have a lower price.

WW1 was a very big war. I expected a slow advance to cost huge amount of losses,but also with HUGE armies.

This is very personal,whenever. I still cant understand how the cheatmode works.

Age of Chivalry: Hegemony
8 Review

Mod Review by zetNad on Jan 28th, 2015

New civilisations,technologies,units and buildings AND graphics.This mod is perfect even if you are not good at the game.The only flaw is its AI.But you need to get used to it.Great mod.

Brutal Changes [released]
8 Review

Mod Review by ShiningBlader on Jan 27th, 2015
This review may contain spoilers

I enjoyed the level design. The maps were a little dark but thankfully you gave enough oil. The atmosphere was also pretty good. Almost overwhelming in the machine room.

The 2 times I had to stack boxes were a little frustrating because of how little space you had to move on to the upper floor. I'm talking about the beginning of the CS as you go into the foyer and as you reach the chest with the lock pick. Next time, try to make the areas wider so that the player can be free to jump into the upper level instead of stacking one more box in order to crouch. Even so, that chest still gave me some trouble.

Liked the event to dodge the brute and then "bind" him in the room with the box. Really creative.

The jumpscare with the grunt was stupid. I didn't like it. As for the second time he appeared, I jumped but it wasn't THAT bad now that I look back.

8/10 --> It was a good CS despite the cheapscare and the initial bugs. Had a good level design and pressuring atmosphere.

Silent Hill: Alchemilla
8 Review

Mod Review by thedeadcamper on Jan 27th, 2015

This is a strong mod to start the year, especially to have one based off of the Source engine currently.

Set in Silent Hill, this game sets itself up as an homage to the original series, and it manages to deliver on the environment and ambiance that the original set out to do. The level design, puzzle design, model work, and sounds do an excellent job at establishing the general otherworldly and overall downtrodden feeling of the original city of Silent Hill. This matched with the hellish environments of the other world makes for a strong environment and tells an interesting story.

Before playing this, however, you need to understand one of the biggest limitations here, in that there are no monsters in the mod. This is an extremely limiting factor in the overall play, and it feels like at times the game's scare factor is removed once this realization rears its ugly head. This is not a spoiler. You need to know this or else you're going to be confused and angry. There are no monsters.

Instead, the obstacles facing the player instead come in the form of a wide variety of puzzles that the player must solve to progress. Credit where it's due, the puzzle design feels spot on with the original games, though you will have a few head-scratchers here and there. There were times where I had to turn to a FAQ walkthrough to get through the more tedious puzzles, and there were times I felt like I broke the game (though I never actually reached an unwinnable state.)

The story here feels like one that could be canon with Silent Hill, though simpler and filled with name dropping to try to emphasize how much this was trying to be part of the first Silent Hill. The voice actor playing the main role does a good job and presents the character in a way that feels believable (definitely better than the original Silent Hill voice actors :P)

I feel the major negative in this game is the more redundant puzzles (namely ones that require you to backtrack regularly because of an inability to carry notes, the code number based off of room numbers in the hospital standing out as incredibly obnoxious), but the game is also hindered by the fact neither enemy nor environment seems to endanger the player during a majority of the game. I felt unease throughout play, but was never properly scared.

As I understand it, the lack of monsters is due to the mod maker being unable to create their own monsters. Whether this is the lack of AI programming or lack of animators, I can understand this frustration, and I'm still happy with the environment design in this mod to complain. I hope that someone helps and that we see an addition of monsters to this mod in the future, but that is a wild speculation.

Bring a notepad with you on this adventure. This game marries Silent Hill and Myst more than it marries Source.

Brutal Changes [released]
8 Review

Mod Review by goji-hime95 on Jan 26th, 2015
This review may contain spoilers

I really enjoyed this mod despite the initial bugs. The level designs were excellent--very detailed and very striking (I especially liked the outdoor area--very well made). The maps were quite dark and eerie, but I liked this--it added to the uneasy atmosphere. I thought the challenges/puzzles were pretty good, and I liked the one used to open the door for the old archives. That was clever. The game had some good jump scare moments that were thankfully not brought on by flying naked dead guys. I thought the story was interesting--kept me guessing until the end--and it played out like a surreal dream or something.

There were some things, though, that I did not like. I thought the ending came up very abruptly. I expected there to be more to the story but it all kind of just rushed together at the end. The main character's relationship to Cedric was never fully explained, so I guess their shared experiences was brought on simply because they had insomnia? I almost thought that the main character WAS Cedric, and he was going through some hellish nightmare over and over for killing himself....There was so much potential in the story and in the detailing of the maps for a longer, more developed plot, I think.

Also, I found a lot of oil in the game but never found a lantern.I either missed it or there is no lantern in this mod. If so, why have all that oil?

Still, nice work and hope to see more mods from you!

Escaping the dark horror 2
8 Review

Game Review by matador1987 on Jan 26th, 2015

I think this game is very good and if I had it with the other fps, which I tried, so this game belongs to me the best.

DayHard
8 Review

Mod Review by Enam1960 on Jan 26th, 2015
This review may contain spoilers

You play as Gordon's brother.

The History Of The Ages Sp LeoSaid
8 Review

Mod Review by ntouroutlis on Jan 25th, 2015

very good balance to the game, rohan needs nerf 100%, radaghast needs nerf 100%, isengard needs improvement.
THE GAME NEEDS ONLINE MULTIPLAYER SYNC IMPROVEMENTS
NEEDS LOWER LATENCY!!

No Escape
8 Review

Mod Review by roseniusm on Jan 25th, 2015

Loved it, quite beautiful and left me wanting more :)

Red Rising Modification
8 Review

Mod Review by cj91198 on Jan 25th, 2015 - 2 people don't

it looks good. the mod also seems fun to play and i wish i could too. but from what i have been through commenting on this, the modder is a ****. so i wouldn't suggest it

Brutal Changes [released]
8 Review

Mod Review by BadcatDoesAmnesia on Jan 25th, 2015

SPOILERS!!!

All I can say is very well done, I actually enjoyed it.
Was short in my taste but very well done.
Let me talk about the positive stuff first.

-The music was nice and custom
-Custom puzzles that are very nice
-level designing was not bad but could use of more details
-Very nice events that has never been used in amnesia

Negative stuff:

-Too dark maps, you should put spotlights on every window.
- You should detail more man, I only detailed one map, you should have gave me every map.

-Tinderboxes don't give enough light, as I said, use pointlights.
-Got stuck a couple of times
- If you get the riddle wrong then you have to load the map all over? You should use vars.
- Wish it was longer, I really enjoyed that :(
-What up with the random jumpscares, a grunt appears out of nowhere, runs infront of you and disappears, they should have a meaning.

But overall the mod is good and enjoyable!

8/10 ^^

Blitzkrieg-Mod
8 Review

Mod Review by FPSTerminator on Jan 25th, 2015

One of the best mod I've downloaded for CoH: ToV. This mods not only bring in a tons of new units, but never seen before structures, commander's abilities, unit's abilities and much more which were not present on the vanilla version of the game. One thing it bugs me is that I experienced huge frame drop after 10 minutes the round started which were also experienced by other players. Even though it has it's drawback, still it is one of the best mod I've downloaded for now

March of War
8 Review

Game Review by GLAGeneral on Jan 25th, 2015

Good game really

Vertigo mod
8 Review

Mod Review by conard on Jan 25th, 2015 - 2 people agree

good remake of the vertigo chapter, but did you even make it? the reason why i'm asking is because at the end of it,it said *correct me if im wrong* "fixes and mapping done by hgrunt" also said something about the hl2-beta.ru website but still a good mod nonetheless

Love
8 Review

Game Review by Sludgecrawler on Jan 24th, 2015

Fantastic proof of concept! A working MMO built by one person.
All the tools for building it was created by him, and his innovative thoughts about the making of games in general deserve a lot more attention than what he has received.
Using undemanding filters to create a "fussy" gameworld and unique aesthetic instead of hardware-needy hi-res textures, avoiding the "uncanny valley" and all the extra work completely, is such a simple and brilliant idea.

Sadly the gameplay itself, beyond running and shooting, may be a bit to advanced and difficult to get into for anyone but the most interested.
But it is incredibly rewarding and fun if you do get into it.

Silent Hill: Alchemilla
8 Review

Mod Review by RichardGreenlambda on Jan 24th, 2015 - 2 people don't

Silent Hill sucks. But this game is awesome.

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (engine)
Westwood 2D
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK
9.8 (engine)
FS2_Open Engine
9.8 (mod)
Finnwars
9.8 (mod)
Bleach: Lemmings